We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. Can strongly recommend”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We have just returned home from a really lovely week at the Vila Gale Lagos. The hotel is modern, clean and maintained far better than most 5 star hotels we have stayed in. From the moment we arrived we were given a very warm welcome and every member of staff from then on was extremely friendly and helpful.

Our room was a ground floor, pool view family room with sofa beds for the children and we found it to be more than adequate in size for our needs. The room was very clean and the decor and furnishings in the room and bathroom were great.

We opted for bed and breakfast only as we enjoy the experience of eating out in the local area. However, I can say that the breakfast choice was plentiful and the food was excellent. We didn't find it a canteen experience like some buffet restaurants can be, even though the hotel was very busy due to the Portugeuse Bank Holiday.

My children thoroughly enjoyed the Kids Club which is situated in the hotel grounds with it's own small pool. It was great for us to be able to sit round this little pool also to see the children playing. The fun team were excellent with the children- the best we have ever come across.

At lunch time we ate at the pool bar, the menu was slightly limited and the staff there struggled with the volume of diners but as I said earlier, the hotel was really busy for the Portugeuse National Holiday and all the staff worked as hard as they possibly could. This includes the Hotel Manager, who I was very impressed with, I have not been to a large hotel where the manager was so visible. He could be seen regularly walking around the facilities of the hotel to check everything was in order and at lunch times he was even helping out at the pool bar!

The walk to Lagos centre took us about 20 minutes each evening and we got a taxi back which cost 3.50 euros. The restaurants in Lagos are excellent.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I would love to return there again. Thank you to all the staff at Vila Gale Lagos for making our holiday so wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floss37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

one of the best vilagale hotels.
near the beach (nice beach)
large swiming pool
standart 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joao_nferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We came back Sat 21st May and we had the best week ever!!! this hotel is stunning, everything was so clean our rooms were so lovely and I would recommend having a room with a pool/sea view as it's amazing especially at night time. The staff are so friendly and very welcoming especially Ricardo on Reception, he was so sweet and would do anything for you. The food was amazing, me and my husband were looking for a relaxing holiday and this is what we got, we wasn't to far from the town either, you can get a taxi for about 5 euros but we walked in as the weather was so lush and it only took us about 15 mins. I would def recommend going to the Marina as it's beautiful and we also went on a Grotto boat ride which was fab. We are def going to be going back next year. If anybody has any questions about this hotel please don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ameliac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Having just returned from a few days staying in the Vila Gale which was recommended by friends, who have stayed more than once, we were not disapointed, just slightly out of the town centre, but only a 5 euro taxi ride, this ensures a quiet location only 100m from the beaches and sand dunes, all the staff [but one] were excellent in their manners, and assistance, our only comment about the hotel would be the rather small car park, not lined out so guests took more space up the only alternative was to leave the car on the street [suggested by the one poor member of staff, at reception] or to pay 7euros extra per day to park in the garage, the bottles of wine were excellent value at 2.80euros, we chose a more expensive bottle at 3.15euros! and quite drinkable

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Stopped here for a 4 night break at the beginning of April.There were only 50 rooms being used so it was really a ghost town !! Asked for a free upgrade from a basic car park view room and they said that it had been done........we got a lovely sea view room free of charge.. The rooms are very nice but 2 things let them down. Fistly there is no room insulation at all.....so they are very noisy when you've got people either side and top and bottom but worst of all ....there is no privacy on the balconies whatsoever.....only a smalll glass partition.......yes......GLASS !!! The pools and sun bathing areas are massive and well kept. The pool bar was not open yet and no entertainment in the hotel being early in the season ....I think.!!! Breakfast was typical 4 star but I have had much better !!! The walk to the marina took 15 minutes and took you past some horrible blocks of apartments. The centre of town of Lagos took another 20 .Over the road from the hotel was a nice beach bar and restaraunt otherwise its the Marina which was very nice .
Booked up with Travel Republic and got 4 nights B&B for £186.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

VG Lagos is a new hotel (2y in April) located near beautiful "Meia-Praia" beach and not far away of city center.
Pros - nice swimming pool area plenty of chairs. Connecting rooms if you stay in family. few minutes to beach (3-5) and bus stop to city center near entrance. Nice restaurant and good (and plenty of variety) breakfast. Seaview rooms looks nice from exterior.
Cons- rooms are not soundproof at all and so if you get noisy neighbours you may risk difficulties to sleep. Balconys have no privacy (like "corridors" with thin separation and rooms without sea /swimming pool views a little disapointing.
To bear in mind -
1. without car maybe half board is a good option. Otherwise some walk (nice with sunny days maybe not so nice at nigth) or taxi or bus (which is in fact near entrance even I do not know its timetable). With car or no problem with getting taxi or wait for bus...there is a lot of restaurants at Lagos center and it is a very nice village.
2. beach is great but special careful if you have kids as the path is short but... there is a mainroad and a rail to pass... not dangerous as just 3 / 5 minutes walk.
3. indoor pool is free until June and after September. It is nice for those cold days outside but careful ... despite it is written 29ºC water temperature is far away of that... it is not cold at all but not 29ªC. Limited to 22 people if I am not wrong.
4. there is a mini-fridge in room but empty... if you want something you have to order at room service previously.
In summary it is a good place to relax and for Summer days... Lagos it is not the warmest place in Algarve but it is a very nice village and Meia-Praia beach is beautiful. A golf course is nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LOUREJIC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Vila Gale Lagos is definitely not lacking in style. I loved staying at the hotel. I felt as if I was living in a vogue magazine with the Portuguese fashion images. But my favourite part about this hotel was my room.

The bed was so comfy, the bathroom had a lovely shower and toiletries, the balcony overlooked the pool and the sea and I enjoyed relaxing in front of the tv with some cheeky chocolate cake from room service on my first night.

My second favourite place was the spa enjoying the swimming pool and sauna after travelling from cold Glasgow was the perfect start to my holiday the only thing is to remember to either take a swimming cap or 3 Euros cause the fancier hotels like you to have your hair covered.

This hotel definitely has a wow factor when you enter with a very nice lobby which had a wine tasting when I arrived from their own vineyards in their other hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for couples, families and golfers due to it being so close to golf courses and I over heard them talking about special rates that they give their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank secretsquirreltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
646 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £60 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing