We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice contemporary hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a great, very modern hotel. It has a large pool area with lots of sun beds - we never had trouble getting a lounger even in high season. The breakfast was excellent. A very varied buffet of cheese, cold meat, lovely fresh bread and some hot food too such as freshly cooked eggs and pancakes. There was a good selection of juices, decent coffee from espresso machines & even Prosecco! :-) We were staying on a bed & breakfast basis but ate at the pool bar several days at lunchtime and were impressed. Good selection of baguettes & filled ciabatta sandwiches. The sparking sangria was very nice too! The only downside to the hotel is that it is about a half hour walk to the centre of town. For around the first 15 minutes (until you get to the marina) there are very few signs of life, no restaurants or shops, just lots and lots of seemingly empty apartment blocks. Despite that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funofthefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stay at this Hotel in last June. It's a very nive Hotel, with a nice swiming pool. The rooms are according with the level we expect.

It's very near to a nice beach and we can choose if we prefer the swiming pool or the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband, 5 year old son, 3 year old daughter and I stayed at the Vila Gale from 12-22 August 2013. From start to finish I could not fault the hotel, it was wonderful. The staff were fantastic, from checking in through to each of the restaurants (we went all inclusive) they made us feel very welcome and the kids club staff made so much effort with the kids that our son has already asked to return next year. We had a suite and two balconies so plenty of room! The pool can get busy as it is peak season but we always found 4 sun-beds and the bar staff were also great. The only reason I gave a 4 star for kids activities is that there could probably be a bit more during the evening but otherwise during the daytime they were great. We would definitely return to the Vila Gale. Thanks to all of the team at the Hotel for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireMax78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Firstly, this hotel is really lovely. Very modern and spotlessly clean. The staff are extremely obliging and very friendly.

We stayed all-inclusive as a family of 3 (2 adults and 1 child). We had a twin room with an extra, very comfortable, fold up bed provided for our 11 year old son. There was plenty of room, with a nice bathroom. A safe and a fridge were also provided.

The pool area was fabulous - huge pool divided into various sections, which even in mid-August didn't seem over busy due to its size. Lots of space to splash around without disturbing others enjoying their swim. Lots of sunbed choices with plenty of shade and a system that works well regarding the no reserving of sunbeds rule. (Beach towels also provided if you don't want to take your own).The children's entertainers seemed to really enjoy occupying the youngsters although there was never any pressure for them to join in - ours didn't!

Restaurant and pool bars provided lots of variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The usual type of food for all-inclusive but plenty of it and cooked well.

The beach just 5 mins across the road is amazing. Loads of space and lovely soft sand.

Evening entertainment was ok but could be a bit more interesting.

Just a couple of things to be aware of if you're all inclusive as we weren't made aware when we arrived.
If you use the water already provided in the fridge in your room you have to pay for it, along with any replacements. Water elsewhere in the hotel is free, so make sure you get water from the bar and take it to your room (we didn't know until we checked out and got a bill for 20 Euros). You will also be charged to use the pool table in the bar area (something else we weren't aware of until after we returned the equipment).

Some of the meals and ice creams at the pool bar are not included in the all inclusive, as were most cocktails, which is fine but is not clear. These are not major things but it would have helped if we were given a few pointers when we checked in. After a couple of days of so, we soon got the idea about what was what.

All in all, it was a lovely relaxing holiday. The marina is only 15 minutes walk away and has a few restaurants and cafes if you want a change. We went sea kayaking which was good but hard work in choppy seas! We also went sea fishing for an afternoon which was great for both experienced and non-experienced fishermen/women/boys alike! You can book these at the hotel or there are more choices at the marina.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jude71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I can only echo what most people have said: that this is a lovely hotel, staffed by very friendly people. We stayed HB and our teenage sons (16/17) All-Inc. They loved it but the food is nothing to write home about, although it is OK for a week or so. I'd recommend B&B and going out for dinner (you won't need lunch after breakfast!).

It's a great bonus having the beach so close; a tip is to get beer and drinks from the petrol station across the road - cold and cheap! The worst aspect was the evening entertainment, which consisted mainly of loud Portuguese pop music for little kids to dance to. If the evening's warm enough it's lovely sitting outside, though there was a breeze most evenings so you might want a light sweater. Other than that the entertainment team were very good, and the aquarobics sessions great fun (even our 'cool' boys joined in). They could have done a little more for the teenagers, but they seemed to make friends easily enough so didn't seem too concerned.

Our room was 3rd floor, above the lobby facing away from the sea, but 2 bonuses were that we got the evening sun, and could pick up the free wifi from the lobby (when sat on the balcony).

It's worth signing up for their loyalty scheme - it's free and gives you a 10% discount on all expenses in the hotel (apart from the room). Ask at reception.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor looking inland, so very quiet and got the evening sunshine. Also you can pick u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IainFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, short 5 minute walk to the beach!
Super selection at breakfast! Hard to get a seat by the pool however we were happy on the beach, or by the bar pool!
Overall excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harri2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed in Vila Gale in the end of july - 2 adults a one 3yr old boy.
The HOTEL and surroundings:
very modern building. The entrance looks almost like entrance to a hairdresser (models photos behind the reception desk). The corridors are long and dark, but we did not mind that at all. They had a nice soft carpet, my son loved running through them. :-)
The surroundings are very well kept. During our 4 night stay we constantly saw some gardeners taking care of the plants, grass etc. There is a fairly big kids playground, with outdoor/indoor space and also a kids swimming pool. It was always empty - I suppose because it is too far away from the main pool.
Parking is available on spot and is free (Booking says is 7,50/day which is not true. The garage is 3€/day).
To town it is a fairly long walk (plus is not the nicest one), so always opt for a taxi.
ROOMS:
spacious, comfortable, modern, with large beds, flat screen TV and big bathroom. Also the balconies are well-sized. We had the room in the end of the corridor (just few rooms are there - it´s on the edges of an U). You can hear a bit the cars driving under your balcony (nothing major though), but there is the best view of the sea.
FOOD:
we had just B&B (50€/person is AI) and then chose to have lunchs there as well (all you´can eat for 16€/person, kids under 3yrs free). Both breakfast and lunch were very good. Big selection of any type of dishes (meat, sides, salads, fruits, bread, cheeses etc). Goat cheese with honey and pine nuts was a delicious bonus...as well as the champagne for breakfast - something I´ve usually seen only in better 5* hotels.
POOL:
one huge pool separated by little peninsulas that give the feeling of "many" pools next to each other. Great idea! The water in the pool was actually pleasant (unlike in most PT hotels, where usually it´s freezing).
We did not try the Spa, but I think is charged.
BEACH:
To get to the beach you cross the street, walk for about 5-10 mins through a parking and cross the railway. The beach is nice, long and wide with pleasantly warm little streams and "pools" when the tide is low. The sea water is coldish, but acceptable. There is a bar, but it looks more like a"club", with outdoor pool, so we never went there. Otherwise, there is nothing, so bring bottled water and parasol (if needed) with you.
SERVICE:
very good. Everything is kept spotless, the receptionist are friendly and helpfull. The organization in the restaurant is very well managed - they seat at the table each customer, plus they collect plates very quickly. The waiters are well-mannered, attentive, always try to smile and be helpfull. Everything works perfectly and is well organized.
My only (and major) complaint goes to the chambermaids. It usually took them the whole day to clean the rooms (to our one they came around 2-3pm) and they were making an absolutely dreadfull noise with dragging the beds up and down the tiled floors while making them. The hotel is full of kids and just as our one, they usually sleep every afternoon. This terrible noise of dragging beds that spreads over the whole hotel woke him up every day. It would have waken up a death - honestly!
Otherwise - everything was great.
LAGOS:
Beautiful town, but unfortunately totally spoiled by tourists. Thanks to them it became another "colony" (just as in Greece, Turkey, or Spain) with noisy pubs and lost a bit its charm. In the night it is packed with sunburned, drunk and barefeet (what´s that?) tourists (many young "students").
However, it is definitely worth a visit, as it is still beautiful. Definitely don´t miss Praia da Dona Ana and Praia Do Camilo.
One more tip:
if you prefere a calm place with not many kids, go elsewhere. This hotel is literally packed with kids. However - you can see that most of these kids come from a well-mannered families - therefore they don´t scream over the halls and restaurants and don´t jump onto your head in the pool. :-)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the pool didn´t have any privacy, others looked ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £61 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing