We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagos, Portugal”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Between 6 to 13 September, I traveled to Lagos and I was staying in Hotel Vila Gale - a great hotel in terms of location (oceanfront 5 min from Meia Praia), layout and services with professional staff. The hotel offers the option of a great pool of generous dimensions. My trip was organised through a local tour-operator Domitur. Also very professional. Our guide, Rita a very pleasant young lady gave us valuable information and help in booking of day trips. We followed her recommendations and never regretted. We took a one-day trip of the historical Algarve, a pleasant foray into the region's history. Another one-day trip to Lisbon very interesting, but too little time to enjoy all that the capital has to offer. Would require a week. The peak was reached by the one-day jeep safari through the wild surroundings of Algarve. The trip was provided by Portitours. It was an unforgettable day with a little adventure, a rustic lunch delicious, tasting a local liquor called medronio and honey obtained by traditional methods. In the tour we were accompanied by Indiana Jones and the Flying Dutch, the nicknames of our guides - two great guys, very professional, very willing to share their knowledge and with exceptional driving skills. It was quite an adventure that I repeat it anytime.
Rita also recommended us three great restaurants with portuguese cuisine, that are a must for each tourist which want to taste a bit of Portugal: A Floresta (a small family restaurant with warm atmosphere and preparations "like at home"), Dom Seabastiao (with a touch of elegance and sophistication) and Sao Goncalo a true gem (we came back twice, live Fado every friday, needs reservation).
In conclusion, I will definitely return there left so much to see and do. People we meet were polite, hospitable, warm and dignified.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prisma9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I personally didn't like the Red/Black decoration, a little bit too much for me, but I understand some people loves it.
The rooms are very nice and clean, the food is 5 star.
Spa area is amazing, I loved the black swimming pool where you cannot see where is the water ending, amazing!
Had massage there, hot stone, it was relaxing and nice.

ALl in all the hotel is really good, worth to stay there.


Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rindlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We are very happy to have found a good all inclusive in the algarve after many years of searching.

The service was great with friendly staff. The food was also great no complaints at all.

The pool area was always very clean and we never had a problem finding beds even at 10am when previously in other hotels you have no chance!

There is a local small train that stops outside the hotel that takes you to Lagos and beaches for 2.50 euros each and you can use this ticket all day and it runs until after 11pm.

The beach was also closer to get to than we thought and is well worth the visit.

We loved this hotel and will definitely return soon.

My suggestions are to anyone who wants a quiet honeymoon type of holiday us to avoid an all inclusive hotel in school holidays!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWebb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We travelled here as a couple on our honeymoon. We have previously enjoyed the Lagos area and also other Vila Gale hotels, so we had high hopes. However, this was a real disappointment.

Firstly, we booked through an agent and were not able to choose our rooms. I emailed ahead to say it was our honeymoon and we would like a sea/pool view and were prepared to pay more for this. On arrival we were given a room without either. I complained to reception, and was told there were no sea/pool view rooms (however by searching on the Internet I could see there were sea view rooms available, for our dates).

We arrived at 2.25pm, I noted that the buffet closed at 2.30pm so asked reception to call and tell them we were on the way, we just needed to drop our bags off. The lady at reception called the restaurant but we were told it was too late (it was 2.27pm).

It is probably a good thing we missed lunch on our first day as the buffet is horrid. Hugely overcrowded and so noisy you can't even have a conversation.

The juices at breakfast tasted watered down, the "hot" food was often cold, and the selection monotonous. Despite being on the all inclusive package, we ate out for all our meals except breakfast as we couldn't bare to be in the dining room, due to the noise of screaming children and the poor selection of food. I suggest the manager of the hotel tries to eat here...

At the pool bar you are given plastic glasses (I am an adult!) and the ice cream selection is often sold out by midday.

The "fun team" insist on playing loud euro pop around the pool, all day and it is so busy with unruly children it is impossible to relax. I am sorry to say it is like a tacky crise ship holiday.

I have much more to say, but I don't want to dwell on the experience any further.

My final piece of advice is "be warned". I have never written a bad review on here, but our honeymoon was totally ruined by our experience at this hotel and I want to warn others. If you are expecting a relaxing holiday - this is not for you. Stay here at your peril!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest

Firstly of all thank you for taking time to make your review about Vila Gale Lagos, which deserve our best attention.

All comments and suggestions from our customers are extremely important and it helps us to correct any deficiencies and improve the level of our services.

It will be a pleaser for us to welcome you back at Vila Gale Lagos or any other Vila Galé in Portugal or Brazil.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards.

Porfirio Perdigão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a great, very modern hotel. It has a large pool area with lots of sun beds - we never had trouble getting a lounger even in high season. The breakfast was excellent. A very varied buffet of cheese, cold meat, lovely fresh bread and some hot food too such as freshly cooked eggs and pancakes. There was a good selection of juices, decent coffee from espresso machines & even Prosecco! :-) We were staying on a bed & breakfast basis but ate at the pool bar several days at lunchtime and were impressed. Good selection of baguettes & filled ciabatta sandwiches. The sparking sangria was very nice too! The only downside to the hotel is that it is about a half hour walk to the centre of town. For around the first 15 minutes (until you get to the marina) there are very few signs of life, no restaurants or shops, just lots and lots of seemingly empty apartment blocks. Despite that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funofthefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stay at this Hotel in last June. It's a very nive Hotel, with a nice swiming pool. The rooms are according with the level we expect.

It's very near to a nice beach and we can choose if we prefer the swiming pool or the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Joao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband, 5 year old son, 3 year old daughter and I stayed at the Vila Gale from 12-22 August 2013. From start to finish I could not fault the hotel, it was wonderful. The staff were fantastic, from checking in through to each of the restaurants (we went all inclusive) they made us feel very welcome and the kids club staff made so much effort with the kids that our son has already asked to return next year. We had a suite and two balconies so plenty of room! The pool can get busy as it is peak season but we always found 4 sun-beds and the bar staff were also great. The only reason I gave a 4 star for kids activities is that there could probably be a bit more during the evening but otherwise during the daytime they were great. We would definitely return to the Vila Gale. Thanks to all of the team at the Hotel for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireMax78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
646 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £60 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing