We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but sack the chef!!”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Vila Gale in Lagos. Hotel was in a really peaceful setting. Pool area was amazing, 3 huge pools and always a sun bed! Facilities for children were good with an enclosed area with a smaller pool and climbing equipment - didn't use the kids club but the team who ran it always came and made a fuss of the children in and around the hotel.The rooms were spacious and clean.The staff were friendly and helpful - don't know many establishments that could deliver a housekeeping team at 2am when your child has been sick to clean and change beds!! Bed linen changed every 3 days and towels daily. No extra charges for room fridge or safe. The only downside for us was the food. We were on a half board basis and we asked if we could swap a dinner for a packed lunch one day and were told we would have to pay extra. The choice was limited and most of it was a poor standard and lukewarm. Meat was mostly drowned in sauce of some description and what wasn't the poor animal shouldn't have lost its life for!! Which other hotels offer liver twice in a week?! The food was very cheap cafeteria based convenience quality with little variation but on the up side a great holiday for not piling on the extra pounds!! Would gladly stay again but only a on a bed and breakfast basis.

Room Tip: Family rooms are larger and on the ground floor overlooking pool and gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments that will allow us to improve our services.

We can ensure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed and every issues about the food that you mention will be sorted out.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best regards

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
There are newer reviews for Vila Gale Lagos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

First off the hotel is very smart and clean. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Stayed for a week all inclusive mid May.
But the food is awful. Always cold, and I mean everything was cold, even when it was just brought out! Very liitle choice, we had a teenager with us who is picky, as most are, and there was nothing really for him. If you want burgers, pizza, chicken even, forget it. I like to try all international food but the standard was really poor, it was the same thing every night with the exception of a few dishes.
Entertainment was pretty much none existant. Very dull boring atmosphere, the average age group was around 70+ plus so don't expect any music from the last 40 years. There were a few family's at the hotel and they could not believe there was nothing to do at nights. Really how hard is it to put some music in the background in the bar on a night? The all inclusive is very limited. You only have the choice of certain local drinks, same for the snack bar, just a few sandwiches to choose from. One day I wanted a hot dog but had to pay for it!.
Overall would not recomend. Poor value and have been in better 4* hotels.

Room Tip: Standard rooms very small, you need a family or suite room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments that will allow us to improve our services.

We are sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay and we can assure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed and every issues that you mention will be sorted out.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best Regrads
Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Vila Gale Hotel is situated in a quiet area of Lagos, close to one of the best beaches in the Algarve. First impressions of the hotel are good, immaculate foyer, pleasant helpful staff, large well equipped rooms, try for a ground floor garden/pool room, which allows direct access to the gardens and pool area. Rooms are cleaned daily to a very high standard and the general state of repair of the whole hotel is very good.

Now for the not so good. I stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and tried the dinner buffet only once. Breakfast is a bit of a scrum with little room to manoeuvre due to the tight lay out of the seating and serving areas. If you like a traditional sausage, egg. toast and bacon breakfast, then you are going to be disappointed. The ingredients are there, but hot they are not. Luke warm at best and I defy you to get a decent cup of tea. The buffet dinner is expensive for what is available and again pot luck if you manage to find something hot.

The lounge bar is a triumph of style over substance with uncomfortable seating and no character whatsoever. Before ordering a round of drinks, alcoholic or soft, consider phoning your bank to arrange a bigger overdraft as you are going to need it. The drink prices are eye wateringly expensive, think at least 3 or 4 times more than Lagos Town.

Taking all in to account, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel with its lovely pool and gardens and would still recommend it as long as you remember the above mentioned food and drink shortcomings.

Room Tip: Garden view ground floor rooms are best and if you are lucky you will be upgraded to a larger better...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rufuschuckabutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us and also for sharing your feedback about your holiday experience at our hotel.

We take this opportunity to inform you that the prices of the beverage at the bars we consider that it lies in the current market standard with another 4 stars hotels.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Algarve and we suggest to stay at Vila Galé Atlantico which was recently renewed.

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked a two-night stay but ended up staying for another day. We didn't want to leave....
Every single member of the staff was afable and helpful.
Breakfast had great variety, including champagne (mostly appreaciated amongst the German guests).
We didn't have lunch there but we had buffet dinners in two evenings. Absolutely marvellous. There was a table for everybody. Variety and quantity were again the atributes to notice. The staff were friendly without being vulgar or nosy.
There was no need for us to leave the premises. We had everything there, including a shop that sold newspapers, paperback books, cigarrettes and such.
We were given a room (as big as a flat!!) on the groundfloor, facing the pool. We slept wonderfully. One of the evenings there was great animation going on in the bar that was 50 metres away. Once we shut the door and the window, we heard nothing. Isolation worked wonders.
The room was hyper-clean as well as the bathroom. We noticed even the hangers inside the huge wardrobe were span!
There was a minifridge in the wardrobe, which was very handy.
Every room had a balcony with some garden furniture.
The hotel premises spread out through many acres. There is a large pool (not very deep though...), surrounded by an olive trees garden, where there were always chairs available. Restaurants, bars, pool bars, spa, gym, ....
Heaven on earth, if you ask me :)
As it is outside the city of Lagos, it's quiet and next to the Meia Praia beach.
The hotel was a bit difficult to find. We had to resort to the directions in the hotel website. On the road, there's none....
The only downside we point out is the wifi connection. Unless you have a laptop, the connection is poor.
All in all, we will most definitely return.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room in the same block of the spa, in any floor. It's obviously closer to t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicMestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared with so many other holiday makers of tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holidays experience at the Vila Gale Lagos hotel.
I will proudly share your thoughts with our Staff. They will be most pleased to receive it.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again and we suggest a visit to more recent 5 stars Hotel in Lisbon Vila Gale Collection Palacios dos Arcos.

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A very nice hotel, with good inside and outside areas. Very nice for families and for Beach/swimming-pool fans.
Meia Prais is a huge quiet beach with a great view over Lagos.
hotel Swimming pool outside is very large, with lots of beds and a nice bar.
At Lunch time is sometimes difficult to get a table. Its a pitty because by 9 eur you have a nice menu (soup, drink, a pork steak sandwich "bifana", and desert) and also nice salads etc at fair prices.
Spa/massages and interior swimming pool are nice.
Nice breakfast with a good professional service.
Overall very nice with an effective friendly team!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdvReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about our services on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Algarve and we suggest to stay at Vila Galé Antlantico which was recently renewed

Best Regards
Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed at the Vila Gale in April 2013, and again this April, ostensibly for Line Dancing Holidays with Maggie 'G' and others.
Hotel is great, with the reception area facing North, and is shaped like an upside down "U", located to the north east of Lagos, (about 25 minutes walk). Staff are always polite, very helpful, and the choice of food in the large restaurant, both for breakfast and dinner, is impressive.
A nice touch is that you can order a bottle of wine one night, and if you don't finish it, the restaurant will store it with a tag on for the next day.
Some wines are local, from the Vila Gale group's own vineyard "Santa Vitória"
Pool is nice, large and well maintained, with a pool bar and more polite staff.
Opening the rear gate, crossing the road, and walking for about five minutes take you to the impressive beach; clean and patrolled, and about 1 1/2 miles long.
Last year, my room was on the first floor, but this time was on the ground floor, opening directly to a small patio, and lawn between the room and the pool.
The on-site Diving School was open this year, and I was able to participate in 8 dives during the week I was there. The staff at the Dive School are very well qualified, and very pleasant company. Despite not having dived since October 2011, they examined my training record, and the number of dives I had already done, and ensured that at least two shallow dives be done, to allow them to assess my knowledge base. These done, I was able to do another 6 dives, two of which were on newly sunk wrecks. It's really interesting to note how quick marine life has taken hold.
For those who don't, or cannot, walk far, a "road train" runs into the town at approximate 1 or 2 hour intervals; taxis are also available via reception.

Room Tip: Rooms all have air-con, but note that if the patio (ground floor) or balcony doors are open, it auto...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared with so many other holiday makers of tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience at the Vila Gale Lagos.

I will proudly share your thoughts with our Staff. They will be most pleased to receive it.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again, we take this opportunity to suggest you a visit to our Hotel Vila Gale Clube de Campo in Beja which was renewed.

Best regards,

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed last week for five days. It was my husband, my 10 year old daughter and myself.

The hotel entrance is out of the way and difficult to find. It faces a crumbling old farm building on rolling pastures, and there are sometimes animals out and about. I thought it was odd at first, but found it to be charming after a few days.

This hotel makes a stunning visual first impression. It is all shiny, sleek black marble. The front lobby is HUGE and spotless. The staff is very professional but not the least bit warm. There is no chit-chatting with them. No information is offered, but questions are answered. Everybody I encountered spoke perfect English and seemed to handle several different languages with ease.

You will be nickeled and dimed to death at this hotel. They charged us 11 Euros per night for our daughter. They charge for parking in their garage. They have very spotty wi-fi that you can use for free in their lobby, but it is so terrible that you are forced to give in to their ridiculous $5 per day Wi-Fi fee. That's PER DEVICE, by the way. No sharing. And the service is about as slow as an old 14.4 modem. It was extremely frustrating.

The hotel is gigantic. Plan on walking quite a bit to get to and from the rooms to the lobby/restaurants, and then from the lobby to the parking lot. They put no thought into this at all. There are two teeny tiny elevators. Five people can fit in there if they squeeze together...and they will. We found other guests to have little respect for personal boundaries.

The hallways are DARK. When I say dark, I mean it. The only light you see comes from little lit-up signs near the door indicating the room numbers. If you are walking down the hall and someone else is walking toward you, you cannot see their face. The walls are all black and deep red, and the doors are all black and are flush with the wall AND the floor, so there is NO light in the hallway. I found it spooky.

The room itself looked very trendy. Everything is sleek black stone and glass. And it looks REALLY beautiful for about ten minutes. Then you move, try to unpack, and realize how impractical it all is.

You get a desk with a few tiny drawers, and that space has to be used for just about everything. There is a small closet with sliding doors and a few drawers and hangers. It's all very beautiful, and may be perfect if you are a single man traveling alone, but even for our small family of three it was just not enough space.

The bathroom was also sleek black stone and glass. There is not enough counter space in there. There were only two hooks on the wall. The tub is very deep and the shower worked fine at times, but if our neighbor took a shower or flushed the toilet, it turned cold and the pressure dropped. The door separating the bathroom from the main room is a very thin slider that does not lock. When it is opened, it makes a knocking sound that echoes through the room. In fact, EVERYTHING echoes in the bathroom...and the walls are paper thin. You will hear absolutely everything that happens in that bathroom, as well as everything that happens in the room next to yours. I could hear the guy next door snoring, and I felt like I was in on all of their family conversations.

Our air conditioning unit shut down one day, and it was quite a fiasco. We had maintenance personnel in our room around 9, then again around midnight. We called and called, and never got a resolution. We ended up sleeping with the doors wide open, and the problem resolved itself in the wee hours of the morning. When I complained about it the next morning, I was met by the manager, Sofia, and she was gracious and professional and sincere. She invited us to have a dinner in their exclusive a-la-carte restaurant the next night, free of charge. We ended up canceling because it was just not our kind of place. It is a very expensive, gourmet food in a small and upscale atmosphere, but we are not upscale gourmet people. The gesture was very much appreciated, and I left feeling that my concerns had been taken seriously and that I was valued as a guest.

This hotel is CLEAN. They do not mess around. There is constant cleaning going on. The facility is sparkling in every way.

The beds were not very comfortable, and this was made worse by the use of plastic/rubber covers beneath the sheets. It makes a crinkling noise whenever you move.

The outdoor pool is gorgeous and immaculate. There is also an indoor pool, and it is part of the spa, so it would be great if it was made off limits to kids. It was full of them, and they were rowdy.

The buffet is above average, but poorly planned. Everything is in a central location, and very nicely presented and maintained, but there are no clear paths from the food to the tables. People were dropping things all over the place. Timing was also a factor. If you got in there early, you would be overrun by German bus tourists. Literally...they will run over you to get at the food. They will push you and jump in front of you. We had to find out what times they were dining so we could avoid them.

The beach is a five minute walk from the outside of the hotel. There is an access gate in a convenient place near the pool. You need to cross the street and go down an alley (which was a little bit scary because there appeared to be homeless people living in the wooded area between the street and the beach). You then cross a set of train tracks, and after a while you come to an absolutely beautiful, manicured beach with the softest sand you will ever feel. It is truly gorgeous and worth the walk.

The Marina is where everything is happening. It would be about a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the marina. We drove in, and it took about five to ten minutes because of all the detours and traffic circles, but once we were there we never had trouble finding parking. There are plenty of things to see and restaurants to eat in right there at the Marina (Days of Adventure gives great boat tours and the Lighthouse and Portofino's are two awesome restaurants).

If you walk across the bridge at the marina, you can find your way to the heart of Lagos, which has many shops and restaurants.

In closing, this hotel is beautiful. It is sleek and fancy and clean and trendy and gigantic. If that's what you're looking for, this hotel is a great value. If you have trouble walking or difficulty seeing, or if you are a light sleeper, this might not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, ask for a room close to the lobby. I don't think there are any ver...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank daynasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Lagos or in any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal or in Brazil

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.7 mi away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £57 - £1,765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing