We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent in every aspect”
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excelent in every aspect”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Good location, great food, great attention to special orders, clean and educated staff, a must return!
For family purpose is the best because you can relax by the pool and let the children roam around

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shearman_Macedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience at Vila Galé Santa Lagos hotel and a big thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit at Algarve.

Warm regards.

Sofia Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    530
    139
    30
    17
See reviews for
521
552
27
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is wonderful, great rooms with balconies to the pool. The restaurant is very good both at breakfast and at dinner. Sympathetic and professional staff. Loved the large pool.
Recomend to everyone!

Room Tip: the rooms with balcony to the poll are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdeteSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Excelent” review posted on tripadvisor.

We are also pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience at Vila Gale Lahos Hotel. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with my team.

Hope to welcome you again at our Hotel.

Best regards.

Sofia Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The Vila Gale Lagos Hotel was lovely, one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in, the maids do a fantastic job.
It is decorated beautifully. All guests have access to the spa which has a lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.
We stayed on the all inclusive basis and although our food and drinks were includeded there were a lot of drinks and foods at the snack bar that you had to pay extra for. Cocktails were only the cocktail of the day unless you wanted to pay more your choice. We felt that for all inclusive we felt that we had to constantly question if we were going to be charged any extra for this and that.
I would say that the majority of the guests in the hotel were German and the age range was mostly people aged 50+.
The breakfast had a lot of choice, fruits, scrambled/fried eggs European sausages and bacon, yogurts, cheeses, breads and pastries.
Lunch and dinner were pretty similar, salads, chips, cheeses, meats, rice and pasta. It wasn't very hot but it's buffet style so I wouldn't have expected any more. There was a huge amount of choice but the choices available were very repetitive over our weeks stay. Also for my taste quite salty. Edible never the less.
The rooms are lovely and spacious with all the bits you would expect. TV with English / America channels. Hair dryer, towels, shower cap, shampoo and body wash.
The swimming pool is one of the most beautiful I have seen but very cold! The snack bar by the pool serves drinks, ice lollies, baguettes, chips and toasties.
It is only a twenty minute walk to the marina and the town where you will find plenty of tasty restaurants and shops. You do not get pestered in the shops which is nice.
Overall we had enjoyable relaxing week, the only thing that let it down was the food.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly_bean87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience at Vila Galé Santa Lagos hotel and a big thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit at Algarve.

Warm regards.

Sofia Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in June, very clean and modern, great friendly staff especially in the restaurant, went for the bed and breakfast option... excellent selection of food, more geared towards continental breakfast lots of lovely fresh fruit, pastries meats and bread...not really a bacon and egg place if thats your bag, there is a version of that if you cant leave it for a week... but seriously.. when in Rome.
Had a junior suite which really nice and clean, it had a couple of balcony's the bed was huge and comfortable bathroom was well fitted... best ive had in Lagos, the only downside was the shower which had a mind of its own changing from a nice temperature to boiling hot or freezing cold in the space of a couple of minutes without you having to touch the controls, but thats just a minor gripe which didnt really detract from a lovely stay.... Oh one other thing lots of the sunbeds around the pool are a bit stretched... quite a few plus size sunbathers so the mesh has sagged down to the framework so not that comfortable. For those who dont know Lagos the hotel is a way out of town, about 20 minute walk to the marina, 5 walk to the beach. well worth a stay thinking of going back later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about our services on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Algarve and we suggest to stay at Vila Galé Antlantico which was recently renewed.

Best Regards

Sofia Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Back home after a week at Vila Gale, this year in June as opposed to May last year. Once again we had a fab time, spacious room, friendly staff and the weather was so much better it being a month later. There were a few other noticeable differences, mainly how busy the hotel was, I honestly don't mind being in the minority as a British guest but what I do mind is the early morning towels on the sun beds by guests who then don't use them until they return from their organised trip or shopping in Lagos. However............that is where this hotel is different.

It has a policy that if there are towels on sun beds that are not being used the pool attendant removes the towels and any belongings, places them in a plastic bag, stores them away, and places a note on the sun bed informing the guest of the action that has been taken. Guests are given written information of the policy at check-in and there are notices posted around the pool area warning guests not to 'reserve' the sun beds. Why, oh why then did some of the sun bed baggers turning up mid-morning give the poor pool attendant such abuse when they found other guests using 'their' sun beds? Credit goes to the pool attendant and the Hotel for standing by their policy. It is certainly a refreshing change. The offenders didn't try to 'reserve' their sun beds again.

Another difference we noticed is that there is some form of entertainment every evening in the hotel bar, not that we participated in this, we chose a B&B rate so that we could visit the restaurants in Lagos. Typical Hotel entertainment includes Portuguese Dancing, and Karaoke. During breakfast 'Neptune' the kids club mascot waits outside the restaurant to take the children up to the kids club.

Outdoor Pool towels are now available from the Spa, collect a token from reception which is registered to your room, then exchange the token for a towel at the Spa. You can exchange the used towel for a fresh towel every day back at the Spa, at the end of your stay exchange towel for a token, return token to Hotel Reception and you won't be charged for the use of the towels.

The evening buffet seemed popular with the 'All Inclusive' guests. Breakfast can be busy but the staff are efficient in replenishing the trays of food and clearing tables quickly. There is a Continental and Hot Cooked breakfast selection available - obviously Portuguese style, why would you expect anything different, after all you are in Portugal? If you really can't holiday without a Burger or a Pizza, I would suggest staying at Vila Gale on B&B and eating at the Marina Sports Bar or McDonalds, both are in easy walking distance of the hotel.

The Spa had special price offers on some of the Treatments, had a facial and a massage, would highly recommend.

My only gripe is the hotel bar prices, way too high compared to other bars and restaurants.

And lastly, Gaivota Branca Beach Bar has been rebuilt, it's a trendy addition to Meia Praia Beach, it's virtually opposite Atlantico Restaurant, a 5 mins walk east along the beach road, both serve good quality food incl fresh fish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heyesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review shared on tripadvisor about your holiday experience in Lagos and our hotel in particular.

We would be most pleased to welcome you soon,

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Out first time at the Vila Gale Lagos and the hotel is everything is states on the website; modern, clean, huge pool, great rooms and for all inclusive, everything you could need. We stayed for 12 nights, and as a family with a 10 and 8 year old, this hotel didn't have vast numbers of children running round, and as English, we were definitely in the minority. Both of these facts may be an issue for some people; for us it was fine, and our children loved having the kids club team to themselves some days, and were really sad to say goodbye when we left.

Everyone at the hotel were friendly, helpful, polite and spent time chatting to us and making our children feel totally at home. The hotel Assistant Manager Pedro, was a true professional and took time to make our stay a memorable one.

The food is great - both in terms of choice and quality. I really can't understand the gripes on here about the food. If you want an al a carte choice every night, don't stay and eat at a hotel like this - go B&B and eat in Lagos. The bar was great for all inclusive, and the choice was superb (and great bar staff too).

This is not the type of hotel where you'll get full-on entertainment every night - if you want that, go to a less sophisticated hotel - the peace and quiet was lovely. The entertainment is what you'd expect (only the Magician was not worth watching).

You can walk into Lagos from the hotel (15 mins) and we used the indoor pool on a couple of more cloudy days, which is all FOC.

Overall, a fantastic time and we will go back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Pool/sea facing rooms on the top floor on the east side of the building have amazing sun in the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared with so many other holiday makers of tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holidays experience at the Vila Gale Lagos hotel.
I will proudly share your thoughts with our Staff. They will be most pleased to receive it.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again and we suggest a visit to more recent 5 stars Hotel in Lisbon Vila Gale Collection Palacios dos Arcos.

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Vila Gale in Lagos. Hotel was in a really peaceful setting. Pool area was amazing, 3 huge pools and always a sun bed! Facilities for children were good with an enclosed area with a smaller pool and climbing equipment - didn't use the kids club but the team who ran it always came and made a fuss of the children in and around the hotel.The rooms were spacious and clean.The staff were friendly and helpful - don't know many establishments that could deliver a housekeeping team at 2am when your child has been sick to clean and change beds!! Bed linen changed every 3 days and towels daily. No extra charges for room fridge or safe. The only downside for us was the food. We were on a half board basis and we asked if we could swap a dinner for a packed lunch one day and were told we would have to pay extra. The choice was limited and most of it was a poor standard and lukewarm. Meat was mostly drowned in sauce of some description and what wasn't the poor animal shouldn't have lost its life for!! Which other hotels offer liver twice in a week?! The food was very cheap cafeteria based convenience quality with little variation but on the up side a great holiday for not piling on the extra pounds!! Would gladly stay again but only a on a bed and breakfast basis.

Room Tip: Family rooms are larger and on the ground floor overlooking pool and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments that will allow us to improve our services.

We can ensure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed and every issues about the food that you mention will be sorted out.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best regards

Sofia Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,014 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
382 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Property: Vila Gale Lagos
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing