We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Lagos
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Has everything a family need for a nice stay near the beach.
Good location, Great architecture and decoration providing a pleasant comfort for everyone.
I will be back and I will make sure I'll recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paulo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you again and we can suggest a visit to our more recent 5 stars Hotel in Lisbon Vila Gale Collection Palacios dos Arcos.

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our second time at the Vila Gale Lagos hotel. Absolutely perfect for us, a couple in our 60s. Wasn't sure if our second stay would be as good as our first but no need to have worried. The hotel as as clean and the staff as polite and helpful as last year. Was especially impressed with the hotel manager Pedro who remembered us from last year and welcomed us "home". Always so pleasant and always smiling. Our waiter in the resataurant Louis couldn't have been more helpful. To be fair ALL the staff were very polite and welcoming. Thought the food was great and plenty of choice and the fact you cannot "reserve" a sunbed round the pool was great. Wish all hotels were as particular as there were plenty for all. Would certainly return again. Thank you Vila Galle again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank marycolin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared with so many other holiday makers of tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holidays experience at the Vila Gale Lagos hotel.
I will proudly share your thoughts with our Staff. They will be most pleased to receive it.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again for the 3rd visit.

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Although it was full, there were no problems regarding stretchers or big queues for dinner. Food was good, but could have some more variety. Internet should be free in all areas. Staff very nice. Rooms with little noise insulation. Nice pool.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank JoaoPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared with so many other holiday makers of tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holidays experience at the Vila Gale Lagos hotel.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again and we suggest a visit to more recent 5 stars Hotel in Lisbon Vila Gale Collection Palacios dos Arcos.

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from 10 nights at the VIla Gale on an all inclusive basis. The hotel was beautiful, lovely grounds and spotlessly clean. We stayed in a junior suite 2 adults and 2 children, the room was very spacious (2 bedrooms adjoining), bathroom great, the best thing was the room got cleaned every day with fresh towels. Beach/pool towels are also provided and these can be changed as often as you wish at the spa. The spa was amazing and really good that the children can go in during the day up until about 5pm, a nice break out of the sun! The outside pool could have done with being warmer as mentioned on other reviews. There was never a problem getting a sun lounger at any point during the day, which I think is great during peak season. The food was good, at breakfast there was a great selection to suit everyone, the fresh pancakes were my children's favourites, the food is always being replenished. We had lunch sometimes at the pool bar, you can get sandwiches as part of all inclusive and these were very good. The main restaurant at lunch and dinner was nice, lots of choice and a separate area for children's meals. The only criticism on the food was the children's meals were not warm enough and I would have like to have seen more chicken dishes on the adults, never once was there a peri-peri chicken dish during our stay which I was a little disappointed at. The other main criticism and major disappointment of our stay was the kids club, the facilities were excellent - a lovely little room for the children to play in out of the sun, a little childrens pool and play area, however there was hardly any activities put on for the children and those that were, didn't last very long, the staff were generally late and you weren't always sure they would turn up. I found the kids club staff lacking any enthusiasm at all, 1 in particular didn't seem like she wanted to even be there. The disco at night could also have lasted longer, just as the children got into it, it was over. Finishing on a positive note, the other staff were fantastic, in particular in the restaurant and pool bar. They were very attentive and friendly to our children - a special mention to Carlos c in the restaurant who was amazing. We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bangleterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Guest,

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience at Vila Galé Lagos hotel and a big thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit at Algarve.

Warm regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Vila Gale for 10 days in July, booked through Jet2.com. Firstly if you want a great start to your holiday do not book with Jet2, no rep, coach with no toilet and a 2hr transfer, no one to meet us at the airport...Anyway the hotel, well its big, very big! The reception staff are rude, they didn't tell us about the towels( you need a tag to change towels every day), that you need a password for the internet ( it didn't work)
The hotel is clean, in fact its the cleanest hotel I've ever seen, the maids were still cleaning at night when we came back after a night out! The rooms are large and the bathroom has both shower and a bath. The bathroom door is really annoying as it slides shut, as do the wardrobe doors and can be quite stiff to use. The balconies are nice although there is only a part divider from the next room, so no real privacy. The pool was so cold we didn't really use it, but the gardens are lovely..look out for the little black hotel cat!
We stayed on a half board basis, and wished we hadnt. The breakfast were ok, the usual stuff and my partner said the bacon was nice. The evening meal OMG...I'm not joking when I say they served liver and brussel sprouts, pigs cheeks, and veal!!! I am a veggie, and the food I could eat was nearly non existent, no veggie options apart from pasta and chips! It is clearly aimed at the Russian/Eastern European guests ( and there are a lot) who seemed to love it. Most of it was cold, the chips were vile and the puddings watery and tasteless. I dont know if it was coincidence but we both had a terrible stomach bug the last few days of the holiday.
There is a garage across the road that sells water, the hotel shop doesnt...in fact it didn't sell much apart from papers and toys. We ate lunches at the Bahia Beach bar across the road which is worth visiting, gorgeous food and good service right on the beach. It is a 20 minute walk into Lagos, and there is a supermarket another 10 minutes further on.
The hotel did give us a cake and cava for my partners birthday which was nice, but I wouldnt stay here again purely because of the food. Look out for the scary models in glass cases round the reception, very creepy!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katgManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments that will allow us to improve our services.

We can ensure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed and every issues about the food that you mention will be sorted out.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best regards

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at Vila Gale Lagos for 3 days in July. It is definitely not a place for adult couples. I expected a lot more for the price. There are tons of children running around every part of the hotel, so maybe it caters itself to kids. We booked this hotel based on the decent reviews and the pool. The pool is freezing cold, so we went in for about 20 seconds during our stay.

Pros:
Front desk staff are extremely nice and friendly. The hotel and rooms are very clean and the grounds are nice. The breakfast was fine and tasty.

Cons:
The pool is useless because it's ice cold. The hallway is pitch black dark and very hard to see. The showers go from boiling hot to freezing cold. The bed has this plastic thing under it, which was strange. It's about a twenty minute walk to the marina and it seemed dark and unsafe at night. The night entertainment at the bar was pretty weak and funny with some guy singing bad karaoke music with a guitar. The photocopied map they provide you is not very good. There is only free wifi in the lobby, so it's always amusing seeing people pack the lobby using the Internet, including myself. Also, strange mannequins.


Overall, overpriced hotel that is not good at all for adult couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dysan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your comments that will allow us to improve our services.

We can ensure that all your comments are going to be deeply analysed and every issues about the food that you mention will be sorted out.

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Best regards

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a week here in July.
Mixed bag, breakfast average with not much for kids, evening buffet at €22 for adults and €11 for kids very overpriced.
€3.30 for a can of juice from pool bar is also overpriced.
Rooms are excellent , entertainment good for kids in evening but again be prepared to pay €10'for a photo with snakes ,Iguana and Parrots,swimming pools good with plenty of game tables to keep kids amused.
The kids club is virtually non existent one area where a big improvement is needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

So good to know that you had such a positive holiday experience at Vila Galé Lagos hotel and a big thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you on a future visit at Algarve.

Warm regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
646 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lagos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £60 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing