We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Gale Lagos
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vilabranca Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$531
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveller rating
693
628
176
47
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
628
176
47
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bardark corridorskids cluball inclusive packagemodern hotelminute walka la carte restaurantmeia praia beachturkish bathsea viewjunior suiteaqua aerobicsbreakfast buffet islarge swimming poolmeal timesrailway linebeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2010

In short we are a family of four from london. This was great clean and perfect throughout. Was half board and worth every penny. Why do you need a super deep pool that freezes your gonads off when you have the sea across the road ? Look at the good reviews its a holiday and its paradise. By the way I have been to top resorts including forte village in sardegna and the vila gale is worth the money. Do not change anything just a little more evening entertainment for the children and a poolside barstaff would be jobdone

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arsenalporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We were a party of 9 staying here. Nice hotel, spacious, quiet, nice rooms. But customer service was terrible. We had better customer service in bars and restaurants in Lagos Old Town.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llewellyn1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.

I apology for the service, we always try to give the best service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Lagos on your next trip to Algarve.

Best Regards

Porfirio Perdigão

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Arrived at Villa Gale 27/08/10 for 10 nights.Having read the info regarding the hotel we knew that we were going to a modern style hotel and were pleased with the surroundings, although the reception area is a tad stark and the hotel does not have a lounge area to relax with a coffee after dinner.
The room we had overlooked the front of the hotel and surrounding countryside, a peaceful desposition. We were on half board basis, breakfast was good with a good selection of fruits and cooked items, although the bakery section is fairly limited and repetitive.We ate breakfast around 8.30am most days so tended to miss the crowds that always appeared around 9.30/10.00am. We usually ate lunch at the pool bar were we found the waitresses helpful and very hard working, although I would agree with other reviews that the menu is very limited and middle of the road fare.The dinner menu was geared to mass catering and became a bit monotonus towards the end,however we always found the waiters and the Maitre ' D courteous and professional .We know Lagos well so went into town a few evenings to other restaurants to sample some true Algarvian cooking! Overall we had a great holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would we stay again? Possibly, if the menus had more seafood and traditional style food available as the wines were fine and fairly priced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatiehSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel ticks all the boxes for cleanliness and design. It is large and modern and everyone keeps themselves to themselves which suits those wanting a relaxing family holiday. The majority of guests are portugese and spanish which adds to the stylish setting. There is no neon lights, drunk grown men wearing football shirts, and its not chips with everything, if blackpool in the med is your thing this is not the hotel for you.

Yes breakfast is chaotic, but in my experience of luxury hotels this is usually the case when a buffet style service is offered. The breakfast is good quality and has a good range of food available and the staff are busy but friendly and helpful.

The rooms are clean and stylish and the tv has a great range of movies on offer to entertain the kids during the hottest part of the day. The pool is amazing and huge, and there are plenty of sunbeds on offer which dont generally get taken until after 10 am, which is a miracle compared to similar hotels like Sani beach in greece where you have to set your alarm for 6.30am to get your towels down.

I think the reports of unfriendly staff are totally unfounded and the staff were effiicent, helpful and very friendly. The fun team at the hotel are great with the kids and there is usually some sort of friendly activity organised for the kids to take part in in they want to, they are left alone if they don't want to participate.

My only consideration would be not to take the half board option. We ate in the buffet style restaurant one of the nights and the food was not that great. It would become a little stale to eat there everynight as there is not much to do during the evenings at the hotel. Its a much better option to eat in Lagos which has some fantastic traditional restaurants which are pretty good value and the food is excellent. A great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clpfamilyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.

I was happy to know that you found our staff friendly, as at Vila Galé, we want to be “always close to you”.

We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Lagos on your next trip to Algarve / Portugal

Best Regards

Porfirio Perdigão

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

A bit too Club Med for my liking, but without the fun. Set on a pretty enough beach in a very pretty part of the world is this hospital-like block of a hotel with manicured lawns trimmed with hand scissors and colour-coordinated stones. A big pool with no deep end, shaped to maximise pool-side sunbed locations and with water which was a little too warm. Checking in on a Sunday in August is like a visit to Disneyland but without the smiling faces or organisation skills. I did not quite understand the fashion theme - complete with ghoulish mannequins. A bit unnerving, actually, having skinny unhappy people looking down on you as you gorge yourself on pancakes with chocolate cream. Breakfast was a feeding frenzy - if you can't get up by 9.30am then you are done for. Food was plentiful but only mildly interesting on Day One and repetitive thereafter. The "live" cooking stations were populated by people who clearly wanted to be somewhere else. Facing a million screaming children and their frazzled parents, I could sympathise.

We spent our days on the beaches on the Western coast of the Algarve so can't really comment on what goes on during the day at Vila Gale. Based on a few late afternoons' observations, it seems very few people venture out the little gate, across the road, down the dirt track to Meia Praia beach. Did enjoy watching the people who apparently set their alarm clocks, get up and claim a sunbed with their towel and then go back to bed for a few hours. Piped music in the afternoons was unnecessary. They have a "Fun Team." Little kids did seem to be enjoying themselves. That might explain the pool temperature.

My interactions with reception staff ranged from unimpressive to highly aggravating. To get wifi access requires a trip to the front desk, as does cancellation thereof when it doesn't work. They didn't build a big enough car park so someone spends all day putting "Don't park here" notes on car windows. I was accosted by such a person one evening, who rather rudely told me to move my car having mistaken me for the driver of another vehicle. Asking for information from the staff was not worth the effort in my experience.

We had a suite and the room was quite adequate although I am not a fan of the glass walled bathrooms. There are somethings that are better left unseen.

All in all, I think one's view of this place will depend on what you are after. If you want quiet sophistication and good food, go somewhere else. If you want to play pool volleyball and eat cafeteria food, then this is for you.

We will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Lagos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.

As you surely know Portuguese people are known to be welcoming and so we are truly disappointed for not being able to do that with you and not exceeded your expectations during your stay

We hope that you can visit us again to check the differences

Best Regards

Porfirio Perdigão

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews