We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really wonderful find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Lagos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Just returned from a week at Quinta Bonita which turned out to be the best break we've had for some time. It's a really beautiful small hotel with fabulous attention to detail and the hosts Chantelle and Fraser were charming, friendly and truly helpful with ideas on where to go and places to eat etc.

Our room was large and delightful with a spacious balcony over the frog pond and garden with a view to the sea. There was everything in the room and bathroom that you could wish for, and the pool was super too, never a crowd and with plenty of sun and shade and crucially, sunbeds and towels.

The only minor drawbacks were some traffic noise, but not enough to spoil anything, and it was essential to drive to restaurants etc, but only a 5 min drive ! We would definitely go again and are recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindag1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
192
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed two nights recently at the Quinta Bonita, located just outside Lagos. Although not on the beach, the hotel has much to recommend it. Lovingly restored by Chantelle and Fraser in 2010, it exudes charm and calm. Gorgeous garden, wonderful views of the ocean in two directions from 6 of the 8 rooms, a superb pool and charming hosts. They have traveled and lived abroad and were determined to include amenities they'd found or wished for in other boutique hotels. They have thought of everything from motorized awnings to 6 types of pillows on request, to a fully stocked honesty bar, huge pool and bath towels, etc. The rooms are individual and very attractively decorated. A generous breakfast buffet is included and for a small extra charge, there is a daily changing hot breakfast as well. Fo those who wish to laze by the pool, 3 daily delicious lunch choices are also offered. There is a bit of road noise but everything else was so perfect we didn't mind!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room-terrace was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Located 10 minutes out of Lagos near the Boa Vista golf course so easy to find. Up a steep hill and the gates to Quinta Bonita open to a lovely welcome from Chantelle.

As soon as we arrived we felt at home with a welcome drink and a quick tour of the property with Chantelle whilst our luggage was taken to our ground floor room with a sea view, sitting out area with table, chairs and sunloungers. We were soon relaxing by the pool after a lovely lunch (good value I thought at around 7 euros each). Lunch is available if needed but we only ate in on the first day. Breakfasts are very good. Continental (breads, ham, cheese fruit, yoghurt etc.) is included but for an extra 5 euros you can add a hot breakfast. I particularly enjoyed the French toast with bacon, banana and maple syrup. Delicious!

We had a hire car but used taxis a couple of times. Taxi into Lagos and back costs around 15/16 euros but are more expensive to Luz at around 25 euros return. Chantelle or Fraser will happily book a taxi and advise where to go.

Plenty to see and do in this corner of the Algarve and I have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Quinta Bonita Hotel. You can be confident that all the previous reviewers were accurate. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigfellaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

We spent a week at the end of April at the lovely boutique hotel just outside Lagos. The hotel has been tastefully converted into fabulous accommodation. Chantelle and Fraser are a charming couple and nothing is too much trouble, helping with where to eat and where to visit in the area, for us advice on walking routes some countryside and some coastal which we thoughly enjoyed.

The whole atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and it is worth getting back a 4.30 p.m. for tea and cakes. There was plenty of chose for breakfast, and the cooked breakfast for 5 euros was excellent value.

You definately need a car to stay at this hotel, but everyting you need is within a 5 to 10 minute drive. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to have a relaxing holiday away from it all.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Small hotel 8 rooms in a beautiful setting with a nice garden and swimming pool at 10 to 30 mins from several beautiful beaches. The rooms were clean, the service very friendly, the beds very comfortable, easy parking. The only negative point was the noise from the closeby road in the garden and breakfast room (but no problem in our room because we had one in the back of the building).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbernaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We highly recommend staying at Quinta Bonita. My husband and I and our son stayed for 3 days in two of their large exquisite suites.
Our host Chantelle and Frazer were friendly but not intrusive. They were available if we needed anything and made us feel at home. They helped plan our day trips, giving all sorts of good advice. They recommended the best beaches, most popular pottery store and excellent restaurants and booked our reservations.

In addition, they helped us to book a wonderful boat trip. Also, they mapped out a scenic road trip which we enjoyed.

Our suites were amazing. They were spacious and beautiful. Also, we enjoyed the finishing touches. Fresh flowers from the garden were put in our room.

Breakfast was wonderful. We had fresh fruit, homemade bread and assortment of cheeses and meats. In addition, a hot special was offered everyday with a small charge. Breakfast tables had fresh flowers and linen napkins and overlooked the beautiful, manicured gardens and mountains.

Their place is really special and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prteey18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

Set in beautiful gardens not far from the town of Lagos on the Algarve, Quinta Bonita is a really great choice for holiday. The hotel has 8 exceptionally comfortable rooms all with private terraces and 6 of them have views of the ocean. The hotel is owned and run by Chantelle and Fraser a young couple who do everything to make your stay an enjoyable one. Breakfast is included each day and light lunches are served if you choose not to move too far away from the pool. Each room has a mini bar but the hotel offers a great selection of boutique Portuguese wines at affordable prices all available from the Honesty Bar. Chantelle and Fraser will help you to select some of the lovely beaches in the area and also advise on day trips and restaurants. There are masses of restaurants to choose from and the fish is particularly good. Massages and facials can be arranged at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
2.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.7 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
18.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Matos Morenos | Quatro Estradas, Lagos 8600-115, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Bonita is perched high on the hillside with beautiful views of Lagos and Luz bays. Lovingly and recently restored Quinta Bonita seamlessly combines traditional charm with modern luxury and five star service. You have a choice of 8 spacious suites plus one 2 bedroom cottage, each with private balcony or terrace, and fully equipped with 100% Egyptian cotton linen, air-conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, safe, fluffy bathrobes and organic toiletries. Find your own quiet spot in the spectacular and mature gardens or enjoy a relaxing lunch by the heated pool. Perfectly located, the Algarve's beautiful beaches, historic towns and wonderful golf courses are just minutes away. All rates are per room per night and include full buffet breakfast and afternoon tea daily. Check our website for prices and special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing