We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Lagos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I have just returned from 7 days at Quinta Bonita We were looking forward to a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings and Quinta Bonita delivered! Even though our room did not have seaviews, when we were not exploring the local beaches we enjoyed our afternoon tea overlooking the gorgeous gardens and swimming in the warm pool. Chantelle and Fraser were very attentive and professional, catering for our every need! The afternoon tea and delicious cakes were a particular highlight, along with breakfast on the terrace. We'd love to return for further exploration of The Algarve!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeyanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
192
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Beautiful, quiet, tastefully decorated and truly friendly....what more can you ask of a b&b??
The free afternoon tea was a great bonus!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Quinta Bonita is an oasis! The owners are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The gardens are beautiful and it is hard to tear yourself away from the hotel to explore the nearby beaches.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burtonNeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at Quinta Bonita at the tail end of our honeymoon through Europe. It was our favorite part of the trip! Chantelle and Fraser do their best to provide both a homey atmosphere as well as the luxury amenities that discerning travelers come to enjoy when they are away.

The house itself enjoys a perfect location, atop a little hill away from the craziness that is Lagos and the other cities/towns of the Algarve. It was really nice to come back to an oasis of beauty and calm after days at the beach surrounded by loud groups of tourists. The green gardens and stunning views were absolutely out of a postcard.

Chantelle and Fraser are always there to help you plan your days, offering tips and maps to get you where you need to go. Given that they know the area so well, you can trust their recommendations and that they have your best interest at heart. The morning breakfasts and afternoon teas were delicious! Lounging by the pool was a wonderful way to wind down from visiting the other little fishing towns dotted along the coastline.

I can't imagine recommending any other place on the Algarve. You are close to the hustle and bustle of Lagos, but I can't imagine why anyone would want to be in the thick of it. At Quinta Bonita you're treated to incredibly spacious rooms (ours was Castelejo) stocked with thoughtful goodies and fabulous bathrooms. The views are out of this world and the atmosphere of the whole property is so relaxed that you will be hard-pressed to leave. Other perks such as free wi-fi and parking are also a nice touch!

If you are lucky enough to snag one of the 8 suites at Quinta Bonita, not only will you not regret it, you will be planning your next trip before you head back home!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paige_davis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is a wonderful little hotel with lovely views over to the sea. Very relaxing atmosphere and pretty gardens to wonder through. The hosts were extremely helpful and thoughtful. Our only issue was that we only stayed one night. We look forward to going back - if only for the breakfast - we had Smoked Salmon Omlette which was the best I've ever tasted!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We visted Quina Bonita in June after reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately for us it was not quite as expected.

In short the positives:
House
Rooms
Gardens
Heated Pool
WiFi
Sky TV
Service - great when available
Clean

In short the negatives:
Breakfast
Service - not always available
'Comparatively' expensive

On reflection after our trip to Quinta Bonita we felt a bit confused, was it a boutique hotel or a bed and breakfast? For example why the extra 5 euro charge for a hot breakfast? What purpose does this serve? It only adds confusion and cannot be a 'money spinner'. The buffet breakfast was very simple and limited in comparison to other similar resorts we have stayed at. Another minor irritation was although you could always reach somebody at the hotel on the phone it would have been better if a staff member was always available. If you compare Quinta Bonita to other BnB's we have stayed at most recently in America either the Blue Butterfly Yosemite, EuroSpa and Inn Calistoga or Weather Station Key West unfortunately it does not represent good value. Having said all that I am sure it is suitable for travellers looking for something other than an impersonal hotel on the Algarve.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertolucci77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

If you want looking after by delightful people (Chantelle & Fraser) in a superb, intimate hotel with the most beautiful, extensive gardens, the Quinta Bonita is the place for you.
The perfect "chill-out" place, yet close enough to good restaurants and beaches once you've recharged your batteries.
If we come back to this area, this would easily be our first choice.
Gill & Mike

Room Tip: overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgsdeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
2.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.7 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
18.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Matos Morenos | Quatro Estradas, Lagos 8600-115, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Bonita is perched high on the hillside with beautiful views of Lagos and Luz bays. Lovingly and recently restored Quinta Bonita seamlessly combines traditional charm with modern luxury and five star service. You have a choice of 8 spacious suites plus one 2 bedroom cottage, each with private balcony or terrace, and fully equipped with 100% Egyptian cotton linen, air-conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, safe, fluffy bathrobes and organic toiletries. Find your own quiet spot in the spectacular and mature gardens or enjoy a relaxing lunch by the heated pool. Perfectly located, the Algarve's beautiful beaches, historic towns and wonderful golf courses are just minutes away. All rates are per room per night and include full buffet breakfast and afternoon tea daily. Check our website for prices and special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing