We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“has nothing to do with Luxury” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Lagos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“has nothing to do with Luxury”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We´ve stayed three nights for our Honeymoon in Quinta Bonita. We booked this B&B in expectation to have an accommodation with some luxus. But it wasn´t there at all! On arrival the reception guy wanted to show us around very quickly. All he did, he needed to do "very quickly"! We´d booked a room without seaview, what meant to have a room in the middle of the parking area besides the entrance. There are two rooms situated, all other rooms are at the other side of the house in the nice garden. There was no comment that we´d booked a second class room. We´d expected something different for this range of price we had to pay.
Most disappointing aspect of the room: It was dirty! Everywhere have been hairs from the guys before us, dust, it was just not clean at all! We mentioned it, but the only thing the reception guy answered: I will tell my boss. Nothing happend.
The breakfast is served on the terrace, which is very nice situated in the garden. But it is like in a big hotel, where the plates are empty and you have to wait in a row. Exactly what we didn´t wanted and why we decided to stay in a small B&B.
The only nice thing is the location, it´s calm and very close to Lagos, where you can find nice resaturants and cute beaches.
All in al we can not recommend this B&B, it´s just not what they promise you will find there, especially in this price range.

Room Tip: ask where the room is situated, otherwise you maybe sit also in the parking zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerstin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
192
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have just returned from QB and we are already planning a return trip! Our room (and the other 2 we saw) was individually designed and very stylish with a great view of the sea. The hotel was spotless and staff very welcoming and friendly with great tips on places to visit/fantastic restaurant recommendations. Our highlights were breakfast overlooking the beautiful garden and afternoon tea with the cat. A great balance of traditional Portuegese charm (beautiful handmade tiles and locally crafted marble furniture) and modern luxury. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just recently got back from 15 days in Portugal, Algarve, staying 7 nights at Quinta Bonita. Having spent a week before at another Bed & Breakfast in Boliquieme which we were thrilled about, arriving Quinta Bonita was unfortunately slightly disappointing.

First; Quinta Bonita was not our first choice, but due to booking late, there were only a few options to choose from. Looking at the pictures, I wasn´t quite convinced, but due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided to try it out, convinced it would be better than it looked on the pictures. Well, it wasn´t. I would say the pictures are quite accurate (which is a good thing really.)

No doubt quinta bonita has been a wonderful family home, before transferred into a bed & breakfast. (I wouldn't say this is a boutiqe hotel). However, I would claim Quinta Bonita does not quite live up to all the wonderful reviews.

Here´s why.

PROS:
- Beautiful garden
- Good location (don´t bother the reviews about noise, the traffic is unnoticeable)
- Good breakfast (though the buffet was quite sparingly presented,they had a good selection of freshly cut fruit, wonderfully fresh bread, fresh orange juice)
- The 20 years old lovely cat
- The staff

CONS:
- The atmosphere (or rather the lack of it)
- The lack of style
- Quality of rooms, and common areas
- The lack of cleanliness

If you wish to travel to the areas between Lagos & Sagres, Quinta Bonita is located perfectly near the highway, making it easy getting around. But traffic noise should be of no concern. Its peacefully quiet at Quinta Bonita, you wont think about the cars driving by (which you don´t see either). The huge garden is beautiful. My biggest question is why they do not make more out of it? (E.g. Move the breakfasts in the garden?) The garden is most definitely this house best asset, and would be of great help creating the highly desirable atmosphere this bed & breakfast is missing.
The common areas, around the swimming pool are rather charmless and looks a bit dated. The garden furniture looks slightly cheap, and this just does'nt not create the style this house deserves.

The worst part of this accommodation are the rooms (perhaps not all of them). I have to point out that I only saw two rooms, but it was rather disappointing. We had one room with view (Marthinhal room) and one room on the back (Salema), but tried initally to get two rooms with view. Having read a poor review about the backside rooms, I was a bit skeptical, but I had no idea it would be as bad as it actually turned out to be. The Salema room, smelled of mold & cigarettes. The small outside terrace was dirty, and also seemed to be covered in mold, as well as the inside wall. The curtain covering it also had stains of mold. The smell in the room was just awful. In addition, the room was very poorly cleaned. When we arrived there were hair on the floor everywhere, the bathroom were not properly cleaned and had stains. We also discovered during our stay that the cleaning was to a minimal. I did not relax one single day during this stay. As we had booked another room for my parents, there was no option to leave and book another accommodation. If, we had stayed here only by ourselves, I think we might have left early, since it really destroyed our last week in Algarve.

The last day we were moved to the Martinhal room, which was better. Had a high ceiling which makes it easier to breathe. The room was also slightly bigger, with a small terrace overlooking the pool. This room would actually be quite OK, but having a very dated bathroom, this makes the room worse than it could have been with a more updated bathroom. The closets had an old smell inside, but overall this room was a lot better than the backside room.

The staff was very polite and friendly. However, one of the last days of our stay my boyfriend got sick, and I was trying to figure out what to do, since we were uncertain he was able to travel back home. They were helpful with calling the medical centre and providing us with information so that we could take him to the doctor. I asked if there was an option to delay our 11 o clock checkout, but was immediately told that it was not possible since they were having new guests arriving at 13. I was quite disappointed as it was a frustrating situation at the moment. To have been given one or two extra hours would have helped, and given me the chance to eat breakfast before making calls and figuring out what to do. I had to rush to the room and start packing and making calls. After a while, one of the staff members called and told me we could stay in the room until 12. But to be honest, it was a bit too late. I was perfectly aware of that the rooms were probably fully booked, but being in a emergency situation, I would have expected the staff to a bit more flexible at first, in stead of telling me they could not move the checkout at all. Anyway, everything turned out well after seeing the doctor and we were luckily able to catch our flight and get back home.

So to summarize; overall Quinta Bonita is an average bed & breakfast, with limited access to staff (only being present from 9 am - 20 pm). Friendly staff, though a bit less flexible than expected in case of emergency, lacking an atmosphere (which usually is the biggest asset a small hotel / Bed & breakfast would have), Poor / average style & decoration, lack of cleaning. Personally, I believe the biggest mistake the owners have done with Quinta Bonita is forcing it into a hotel. To me, this just makes Quinta Bonita combining the worst of a hotel combined with the worst if a B&B. But certainly this is a house & property with great potential. And if you like what you see on the pictures, you wont probably be as disappointed as I was.

But steer clear of the backside room Salema, it´s just awful!

Room Tip: Steer clear of backside rooms, especially Salema. Other rooms might be good. Martinhal room is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hkh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a lovely 5 night stay at Quinta Bonita, and felt completely relaxed by the end. The staff are friendly, the food excellent and our room was beautiful. You will definitely need to rent a car to get about, but Chantelle organised this for us. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Bordeira. Very large and spacious, bathroom is huge. Balcony over gardens and has sea view. There are frogs in the pond which chirrup at night! The room was furnished to a high standard. Robes were included and hotel has pool towels and gave us beach towels to use. Breakfast was good. We had a fixed meal in hotel one night- they only offer it once per week- food was excellent. All rooms had a fly screen so u could have patio door open but bug free. Though there weren't many bugs about. It is a drive to anywhere other than the local cash only restaurant - well worth the walk- you have to book. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Pool was nice, clean and warmer than the sea. Lagos is short drive and a number of local Beaches were also just a short drive. An excellent base.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau9925768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived in Lagos to start our holiday and the 3 nughts at Quinta Bonita set te standard! we stayed in a cottage which was perfect6ly suited to our needs. Staff were consistently friendly and helpful, while Chantelle and Fraser went out of their way to maek our stay memorable.
Speciual note to try some of Fraser's kitchen specialities like the chilli muesli; really wakes up the taste buds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Every aspect of this hotel is amazing. Personal welcome, followed by a welcome fruit drink and cool towels. Wonderful room with sea views overlooking the lovely pool. Wonderful gardens, pools and ponds, fruit trees and an Italian garden. Breakfast is excellent and not served too early. On Tuesday night we opted for the dinner cooked by Fraser and His staff which was served on one of the terraces by candlelight. All the staff were wonderful. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: I think four rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
2.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.7 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,852 reviews
2.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
18.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
Address: Matos Morenos | Quatro Estradas, Lagos 8600-115, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Bonita is perched high on the hillside with beautiful views of Lagos and Luz bays. Lovingly and recently restored Quinta Bonita seamlessly combines traditional charm with modern luxury and five star service. You have a choice of 8 spacious suites plus one 2 bedroom cottage, each with private balcony or terrace, and fully equipped with 100% Egyptian cotton linen, air-conditioning, mini-bar, satellite TV, safe, fluffy bathrobes and organic toiletries. Find your own quiet spot in the spectacular and mature gardens or enjoy a relaxing lunch by the heated pool. Perfectly located, the Algarve's beautiful beaches, historic towns and wonderful golf courses are just minutes away. All rates are per room per night and include full buffet breakfast and afternoon tea daily. Check our website for prices and special offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing