We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First of all, arriving at the hotel was in the middle of no where, the nearest town was a 25 minute walk away with any decent bars or food. When checking into the hotel itself, there was only 2 people working on the reception, this meant waiting around in the hotel lobby for an hour just to get our room key! (waiting at the airport was enough)
However once finally getting into the room, it was amazing! Cant fault the room at all. To be honest this was probably the best part of the hotel itself.
And the WORST of all was dinner time! Me and my girlfriend dreaded this part every night as there was ALWAYS the same BORING foods with no variety at all.
Try it, 1) a dish of pasta, 2) a dish of rice, 3) a meat dish, 4) a fish dish 5) a veg dish, 6) a potato dish, 7) & 8) will be two selected from rice,pasta,veg,potato. at the chefs discretion.

IF YOU DIDNT LIKE THE FOOD THEN YOU WENT HUNGRY which my girlfriend did twice in 6 meals! We even had to wait 30 minutes from once been shown to our table for a waiter to ask if we wanted a drink. The night before we wasn't even asked if we wanted any drink at all. Waiting staff needed in the hotel and trained to a higher level of service. For a 5* hotel is was rubbish!

Last but not at all least, the hotels entertainment was minimal.
There was no activities' during the day apart from yoga and wine tasting. (THANK GOD FOR EXCURSIONS) would be nice if there was activities around the pool so everyone can join in rather than nothing at all.

Overall,
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday where you just want to sit by the pool in silence all day everyday with no dinner, than this is the hotel for you.
Would not recommend at all!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Can only repeat the positive comments made by the majority of guests who have stayed @ this hotel.
We visited this hotel as part of a Thomson's 10 day Package @ the end of June beginning of July 2013. The experience was fantastic. The food was first class with a large choice of dish selection's which was not repeated throughout our stay. Rooms were clean with excellent fixtures and fittings especially the bed, shower & bath, far and above the normal provisions even in other 5 star rated hotels. Again the only negative point was the bar service, not a fault of the staff; who like the rest of those in the hotel were friendly and helpful, but a result of an over complicated computerised till system, which took forever to input and process data!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and i stayed at the hotel from 18th July and the only real negative was that 7 days wasn't long enough; we could easily have stayed much longer.
Rooms - luxurious and very modern with the biggest bed i've ever slept in (and most comfortable) the rain shower was amazing and the stand alone bath really relaxing after a hard days lying about in the sun. We were on the 2nd floor on the west side of the hotel overlooking the road leading up to the front; this wasn't a problem as the road wasn't busy and from the balcony there was a view of the beach and Lagos town. From our room we had about a 30 second walk to the pool from a side door so no need for lifts etc. Tip for the room - you're only given 1 key card when checking in which powers the lights and air con; either ask for another card or use something like a Nectar or Boots advantage card; when you leave the room the air con then stays on. There's also a decent hairdryer in the bathroom vanity unit so need to bring a travel one.
Restaurant - the buffet restaurant is excellent, plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner and never any queues when we were there. The Italian restaurant can be booked for dinner and doesn't cost any extra, book it at Reception (from memory you can't book on a Sat). Browns is also nice for a change, 15 euros per person is taken off the final bill with a decent bottle of wine around 13 euros. For lunch there's a snack bar down at the 2nd pool or there are 2 beach bars about a 4 min walk from the hotel (Berlim Bar and Palmeras).
Entertainment - wasn't great but i've heard worse, the singers could be a bit repetitive, but i suppose if you don't like it go somewhere else or to bed!
Out & about - the Marina is about a 30 min wall along the beach (walk along the shoreline - much easier underfoot) and is well worth a visit. Lagos old town is a 10-15 min taxi ride away, about 8 euros, we ate in a restaurant called Casa do Pintor which is up one of the side streets - amazing food and service.
The only small niggle i had was when we returned to our room at 6pm one night to find housekeeping only just cleaning up; the next day they hadn't turned up by 4pm but a call to reception had the room cleaned within 30 mins and we had no problems after this.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing luxurious holiday, we both felt completely de-stressed after 1 day and will definitely be back for another visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Littleun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed at the Yellow Lagos hotel end of June, beginning of July. The food was lovely great choice. The rooms were clean and cleaned daily. The staff were very courteous and at hand. I can't fault the hotel at all. We visited the town on a few occasions and walked along the beach.

Arlene was the perfect rep...always there to help and organise events. The bar staff were very friendly and always willing to entertain with their cocktail making skills. There was enough pool areas to relax in with the indoor and 2nd pool on the lower level.

We will be going back..

Room Tip: The top rooms have a sea view and get sunshine all day. We stayed in the east facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cate_rimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is as great looking as their hotel pictures. Couples only makes it peaceful and a relaxing place to be. Mid morning exercises were very good, I never thought I would do something like Tai Chi. The afternoon activities were also great especially the cocktail making!!!

The food at breakfast was a real treat as there was a great selection of juices, fruit, cereals, bread, cold meats, pastries as well as some cooked breakfast options. The buffet at dinner was good you definitely didn't go without. There was a large variety of salads, cold meats etc. There was also always two meat options, a fish dish, a pasta dish, rice, vegetables and pasta. In our 11 night stay we didn't really have anything repeated. We were also able to swap our evening buffet meal for the Italian at the pool bar which made a nice change.

Yes there is sometimes a queue at Happy hour. At least there is a happy hour and it is organised and the staff were always cheerful and pleasant.

Yes there is a walk to Lagos but you know that when you book it. The walk is pleasant and you can go on different routes. However other transport options are readily available such as bus, train and taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from the Yellow hotel and had a very enjoyable week. Hotel is very modern and set up perfectly for couples after a relaxing holiday. We had some concerns about food having read reviews on tripadvisor, but I'd have to give breakfast 10/10, the choice is fantastic and delicious. Evening meals had an excellent and plentiful choice too. Activities are really well put together - we did yoga, tai-chi, cocktail making and wine tasting all free or a very minimal charge. Entertainment was excellent and great to listen to the resident duo (Harry and Oz) playing acoustic guitar whilst chilling by the pool in the day, Friday night party by the pool was brilliant. Hotel location is around a 25 min walk from Lagos along the beach or 6 euro taxi fare. Rooms are very modern and external lighting looks great and very art-deco. Only improvement could be if the outside pools were heated, but apart from that a great hotel and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank waltondre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I went to the yellow in late June this year and I really ant understand everyone's complaints.
First off it's a stunning hotel, clean and spacious.
Some people I've noticed are saying it's 5 star and you expect a better buffet with 5 star. Let me tell you that it's one of the finest buffets you will find, plenty to choose from etc and that chap who say you had to wait for an omelette clearly prefers microwave ones to those made fresh by a chef?!? Another fine point is that it's a buffet so don't be thinking it's going to be The Ritz. Perhaps have a lie down on one of those loungers by the pool or take the 5 minute walk to the beach which had lots of space and is utterly perfect. I.e. sandy and shallow.
Some of us want to relax when away and if something's not quite right like the wifi then deal with it, it's not cosmopolitan England. Now to respond to those who complain about the staff, rep and entertainment.

Friendly, totally so. every bar member speaks good English and lets be honest far better so than out Portuguese right? They are hard working and funny too. Ok so perhaps a little waiter service at night would improve the bar immensely but you can't complain at their work ethic.
Arlene- what a treasure she is. She is very professional and always on call staying in the hotel and even at night (she off duty then everyone) she comes around to have a chat. She did call me a loser once though...but she's probably right. (She has a personality and a sense of humour, it's allowed).
Entertainment - I personally love the boys tunes they are so very talented. John and Chris play most things and try so hard to mix up the evenings so everyone is happy. Lovers night, request night, Brits night. Totally competent an very funny too. They're lovely lads and made my holiday together with Kerry. Kerry stands there waiting for us to get up off our loungers to get some exercise but there's no pressure, none. That's very good. Not everyone wants a stretch at 11, or yoga or to play shuffle board, but shes there if you do and some do!
The hotel has 2 main outdoor pools and several levels to it. It also had a spa and indoor pool. Someone said on here the looks aren't heated as a negative, trust me that's normal and also so refreshing after 4 hours in 28 degree heat.

Overall Thomson have this place right it's a good hotel. If you go just take a look at some of the hotels other guests get dropped off at. It's actually a stunner. The staff became my friends in a week. Honestly we even went out for a few nights into Lagos together. So Kerry, Arlene, Chris, John thank you for making my week a fab one.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
457 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
20.6 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £184 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing