We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just come back from an absolutely brilliant 10 day holiday at the Yellow Lagos Thomson Couples hotel. The bedrooms were amazing, as were the pool facilities and lounge areas. All the staff were very friendly and efficient, and the entertainment very enjoyable (the two boys were especially versatile and talented). The choice of food in the buffet restaurant was excellent, and the service at the Italian and Browns restaurant is highly recommended. The 'cocktail of the day' during happy hour also went down a treat! The evening lighting added to a relaxing ambience. All in all an amazing experience - not to be missed.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    559
    192
    50
    24
See reviews for
62
1,235
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OLDHAM
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Have returned today after 2 weeks at the hotel. We have enjoyed a wonderful, relaxed holiday and I would be happy to return. I would rate the hotel as a good 4 star rather than a 5. The very poor WiFi is not what I would expect in a new hotel like this. The flags on the paved areas were loose and uneven, this could be an accident risk. Some of the decking was also uneven and mosaic tiles in the shallow pools were coming loose. As we have experienced quite often in hotels in Europe, the breakfast coffee was dreadful and there was no chilled milk available for cereal. These niggles, along with the queues for drinks were pretty minor but need to be addressed before the hotel can really claim it's 5 stars.

Niggles aside, the hotel was stunning! The bedrooms were beautiful with huge, comfy beds and excellent showers. Our room overlooked the pool and also had a partial sea view. We had a large balcony with comfy chairs where we could relax with a drink in the evening. The standard of cleanliness was very good throughout the hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and I have to mention the guy who cooked the eggs in the morning, his omelettes were delicious and so precise, he even trimmed the edges off!

We attended the cookery demonstration, wine tasting and cocktail making activities at the hotel and enjoyed all of them. The pool areas were wonderful and as has been said previously, the sunbeds are the most comfortable ever and we were always able to find them without having to put towels down at an early hour.

The nearby beach is beautiful and we walked along it to Lagos several times, returning on the train which was very reliable. Lagos was quite nice with bars and restaurants and we enjoyed a wonderful evening meal at D. Henrique's. We went on a boat trip with Days of Adventure which we booked with them directly at the marina. This was cheaper than booking through Thomsons. The trip was very enjoyable, we saw lots of dolphins and the return journey along the coast gave us the opportunity to see the grottos. Nelson and the rest of the staff on this trip were great, really entertaining and we loved the Portuguese water dog who was their extra crew member.

This is a lovely hotel, just lacking the finishing touches. The mood lighting on balconies and in the coridors is spectacular at night. A few tea lights on the tables on the bar balcony at night would add some extra atmosphere which is missing. A bar waiter service both in the bar and around the top pool would also be good.

Just a few additions and improvements Hotel Yellow and you will deserve your 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank march4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

From the very second we arrived we were looked after. The staff were polite and helpfull the rooms were clean and luxurious, the food was excellent and the holiday was relaxing, all we could ask for, so thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danstangant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Hotel spotlessly clean.Very spacious,very contemporary and total relaxation. Our transfer time was spot on 1 hour 15 minutes.queue to book in but staff very quickly sort you out and a complimentary drink.Room exceeds all expectations.Disappointed that hotel had not put the champagne and fruit in our room as i ordered in advance as a surprise for my husband. Decided moment was gone so spoke with abilio on reception and advised him so as not to be charged and cancelled the request.Next day room service called with a lovely gift of wine and fruit in way of an apology which was gratefully accepted.Lovely that they did this for us Plenty food options.Happy hour used before we went to dinner,yes queues but not a problem remember you are on holiday.Hotel lets you take drinks from the bar downstairs to dinner with you.Really enjoyed resident duo Hattie and Oz.Very talented young lads who we got to speak to a couple of times.They go out of their way to be friendly to everyone.Watch this space as they will go far!!!Pool area spotlessly clean and sunbeds so relaxing. Each day half hour yoga,tai chi or stretch classes with Kerry.All there only if only if you want to participate.Our leisurely stroll along absolutely gorgeous beach to Lagos took us 45 minutes then a water taxi ride to other side which took literally a minute and very cheap.All in
all very very relaxing and quiet holiday.

Room Tip: Although we Chose sea view room.Nearly all rooms would see the sea from some angle so in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Prior to booking this hotel I checked the reviews on trip advisor and was fully sighted on some of the negative comments about the food. As I was going on holiday in July, top of my priorities for this holiday was to stay in a hotel that doesn't have loads of children running around and kid clubs with it being so near school holidays - I am not anti kids, but I wanted a quiet and relaxing holiday. My husband and I went for a 10 day half board package.
The transfer time from the airport was around 1hr and 50 minutes which was fine. On arrival I was very impressed with the look of the hotel and how clean it was. We could see the sea from our room but it wasn't a sea view in the classic sense, although it had a lovely balcony overlooking the main pool. The room interior was amazing, very comfortable and spacious. The bath was free standing in the main room, which was different, but the shower was separate and had plenty of room and hot water.
As a number of reviews have commented the bar drinks were on the dear side but the happy hour from 7 to 8.30pm was very reasonable, although the system of queuing made it feel more like standing in line at the Post Office. The food was of a good standard but the evening meals really did lack imagination. I've stayed in hotels of a similar standard where there have been a variety of local dishes with one or two safer 'meat, veg, potato' options for the less adventurous palate. Safe seemed to be the byword for the meals here. No complaints about breakfast though - everything you'd expect. The hotel gym was pretty well equipped but it was clear that maintenance was not a priority - both treadmills were out of order throughout our stay.
The hotel is located a little out of Lagos itself but it was a pleasant enough walk into the town - 20 minutes along the road and a little longer for the scenic route along the beach. A taxi either way was around 7 - 8 euros. There was also a train stop close by the hotel and the hotel reception provided a timetable. We took a couple of train journeys with the highlight being a trip to Silves, a beautiful little town away from the coast.
For provisions there was a small mini-mart close to the hotel and a couple of larger supermarkets in Lagos.
One final note on the hotel - the staff were polite, friendly and helpful -

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from an 11nights stay at the Yellow lagos hotel and wanted to say what a fantastic hotel it was. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was brilliant lots to choose from. Our room overlooked the pool and was super very clean and modern. Thank you

Room Tip: Room 438 4th floor over looking pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Firstly, I cannot believe some of the bad reviews on here!?! We are so glad we ignored the moaners and booked this amazing hotel with Thomson! Adult only and sooooo peaceful and relaxing right on the beach. We stayed from 25th July - 1st August. We are a young couple - aged 23 & 24. The hotel is suitable for couples of all ages.

First impressions when you walk in - WOW - so clean and modern! The rooms are gorgeous and our side sea view was lovely. Perfectly clean with fresh towels, bed sheets and beach towels every day.

I can't understand why people have complained in previous reviews about the food at all! It was delicious - loads of choice - I had about 5 different things every night - every kind of meat/fish you can think of - lovely sauces too. One night we ate in the Italian - 3 great courses and didn't have to pay any extra for this. Also, on our last night we ate in the Browns A La Carte restaurant to round our holiday off in style! 30 euros towards the meal if you are a Thomson customer. The Portuguese steak is amazing - perfectly cooked. The chocolate fondue with fruit was delicious too! Breakfast is served until 10.30am and again, I could not fault it - everything for a cooked breakfast, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices etc.

The top pool area is excellent - so stylish. The sunbeds are very comfy with pillows and there are always plenty to go around. The outdoor pools are cold but you soon get used to it once you're in! The bottom pool bar is great for lunch and the BBQ for 15 euros was so tasty and considering we got about 5 glasses of Sangria each too - well worth the price!

We visited two beaches in Lagos - the Meia Praia, right across from the hotel is 10 euros for 2 sunbeds for the day - a lovely long soft sandy beach. We also went to Praia Dona Ana Beach - it is much smaller and so seems busy but we easily got sunbeds for 12 euros and it is absolutely stunning - the Grotto Tour in and out the caves on the wee boats was amazing! Loved it! Both beaches have beach bars for food and drink.

We enjoyed Hatty and Oz who were excellent guitar players and singers - great to listen to out on the hotel veranda overlooking the sea. The comedian Danny Maverick was also funny - we sat at the front and as you can imagine, we were the butt of most of the jokes ha! The drinks in the hotel are about the same price as in the UK - but they are double the size and the cocktails are excellent! Drinks are great value at happy hour - half price so the bar is busier then - obviously! It's only 5 - 7 euros, 10 mins max in a taxi to the Marina & Lagos Old Town where we had a great couple of nights in the bars/restaurants there too. I liked the location - out from town a bit so it was peaceful through the day, but easy access to the town in a taxi or half hour walk at night. (If you go to town, try the Mojitos in Fools and Horses Bar - amazing! The Tavern is good for cocktails too).

On our last day we took advantage of the Spa for a full body massage, Turkish bath, sauna, Jacuzzi and heated indoor pool - so relaxing and a great way to spend our last afternoon.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and I would certainly recommend it to friends and family. We really did have such a relaxing, fantastic time - pure luxury! Go for it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 51 in Lagos
1,345 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,083 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
20.6 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Property: Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing