We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Overall, a very good holiday (it is after all what you yourselves make it).
Rooms were out of this world, I found most of the staff very helpful and friendly. The food was good - I think the size and style of the restaurant was the problem. Not big enough to cater for as many guests and therefore led to queueing. Get rid of Browns and open up the restaurant, there should be no need to pay for a la carte whilst staying in a 5 star hotel.

I was quite disappointed that there was no dress code and some nights felt quite overdressed by the sight of people in t shirts, shorts and flipflops!! - Not 5 star I am afraid.

Let me get on to the entertainment : daytime entertainment consisted of some pilates and tai chi, I only ever saw half a dozen mats on the lawn so I think this needs some rethinking. What about aqua-aerobics, or archery, boules etc to get people mixing together?

Evening entertainment : this consisted of a male singer. Not good at all I am afraid and he was on every night and some lunchtimes. Not a patch on Thomson Gold hotels where the entertainment is varied and excellent in my opinion.

Quite liked the location, as we could either walk into Lagos or get the train. Beach bars very good nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suze53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    527
    181
    48
    24
See reviews for
60
1,178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We're just back from a week at this hotel and booked into the Private Suite with private pool. We decided to treat ourselves to luxury and thought this hotel would be brilliant. The food was awful - I came home 3 lbs lighter than when I left! Everybody was very unhappy about the restaurant food and we know that some people were even brought into the kitchen to have the chef's cook them private dinners they were that unhappy. The hotel itself is beautiful but unfortunately, it's not worth the cost - we had people watching over us in our 'private' pool as there is a 6th floor and all the 'private suites with pool' are on the 5th. Not exactly 'PRIVATE'!! If you're looking for luxury then I would pass on this one - Thomson have some explaining to do!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maplesugargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our week in this hotel was from 8 June and we didn't have a problem with getting sun beds but by the 13th June when they started to have more guests, sun beds were difficult to find unless you were there first thing in the morning. This was a lovely hotel in that it was very clean with all amenities. What let it down was the fact that for a five star hotel you had to queue at the bar yourself for drinks; There was not waiter service at any of the bars so sometimes queuing for over 10 minutes!! Eating at the restaurant was a complete shambles, no managers overseeing the staff and making sure food was getting out on time or in fact crockery; food was cold by time you got to the veg, all any one we spoke to talked about was the restaurant and how bad it was, no dress code, so people in shorts for dinner! not much choice, there was about a three/four day repeat, not 5* hotel at all, maybe 3*. The entertainment was terrible same guy that was in Egypt last year, cant sing and cant play guitar. It could be fantastic if they paid attention to detail and sorted the food problems out! The rooms were lovely but no mini bar in the room and the tea making facilities were not replenished and when we asked the maid she said you have to bring it yourself form the restaurant, they only provide tea/coffee etc on the first day!! The resort was extremely quiet in that there was absolutely nowhere to go outside of the hotel, not even a bar to walk to after dinner! The beach was just a few minutes walk over a bridge which covered wasteland so not pretty to get to, but the beach was lovely. To go to Lagos town was a 40 minute walk along the beach or there were trains every couple of hours and the train stop was just a few minutes walk from the hotel. I wouldn't go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishp222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is located 40 mins walk from the lovely town of Lagos (well worth a visit) and 5 mins walk from the beach -you exit the hotel walk over the railway line (well signposted and safe) and the beach is fabulous golden sand. 1st impressions let us down with a 40 min wait to be booked in. 2 staff on reception on arrival just was too few, which they did address, but too late. Two pools, we chose the lower pool as the layout seemed more relaxed. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The food was of a good quality but let down in the evening by no dress code and too much queuing for the buffet. Breakfast could be vastly improved by the serving of tea/coffee rather than the self service. Much talk around the pool of lack of milk in the room and 2 euros for a tea bag in the room after the first day. Again a lack of service which means it isn't a 5 star as advertised, but the management could address this . The bar service I found good, yes some queues but only a couple of minutes and that was during the happy hour discount . I would recommend this hotel and pay a re-visit too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First impression was wow, then came time to eat at restrant and it was a complete shambles, no managers overseeing the staff and makeing sure food was getting out on time, food was cold by time you got to the veg, all any one we spoke to talked about was the restrant and how bad it was, no dress code, not 5* hotel at all, maybe 3*, the entertainment was terrible same guy that was in Egypt last year, cant sing and cant play guitar, we will be makeing a complaint in uk, the thomson rep were waste of time, took our complaint from us then disapard before resolving it, will not be returning to this hotel, glade to be leaving, and very expensive to eat and drink at hotel, dont go my advise.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stunning hotel, amazing rooms great peaceful location. Brilliant there are no kids and loads of free wifi. Food pretty poor though apart from breakfast. In fact would be a much better proposition as a B&B. Hope Thomson Holidays don't ruin this potentially fabulous place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thompr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I'm sitting in reception now leaving today unfortunately but I had to write a review about what a brilliant hotel this is. I came to this hotel to wind-down after a busy year and I cannot fault one part of the hotel. As many people have said the staff cannot help you enough and make the experience a great one.

You must come to see this place, peaceful, modern and without doubt the best hotel I have been to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eamonn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
18.8 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Property: Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing