We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - poor Thomson service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - poor Thomson service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great hotel in a great position - gentle 30 minute walk into town along the beach - but beach bars and restaurants on the way can easily stretch it to 2 - 3 hours!! Couldn't fault the hotel - great facilities - could always get a sun bed around either of the two great pools. Our sea view room was large, comfortable and very well equipped - especially liked the bath in the bedroom and the provision of bath robes. Bar was efficient and delivered good cocktails [especially during happy hour and half]. For a buffet the food selection was impressive and the quality was high - throughout the service was exemplary.
Would recommend the kayak tour from the Marina for thrills and spills [fell in 5 times! And was saved by Andre 5 times] - and a wander around Lagos for a bit of history and culture.

The fly in the ointment was the 13hour delay on our flight back and how poorly this was managed by Thomson - a litany of "someone else's fault" "not our responsibility" - as the package company it was their responsibility - one they failed in totally.

Room Tip: See view rooms are worth the bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchtsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    515
    178
    48
    24
See reviews for
58
1,152
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a fabulous hotel, 5* in all respects, but only if you ignore the restaurant. If you enjoy good food as part of your holiday then go elsewhere or travel room only. The Browns restaurant is a good but pricey add on to the half board cost. We travelled with Thomson Couples who's representatives were not at all suited to the hotel, both acknowledging that with no personal experience of 5* expectations they could not help with the issues at the hotel. There are other reviews concerning the restaurant, poor choice, luke warm meals, nothing local, long queues at the food stations etc etc, all unfortunately accurate.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a fantastic hotel - very impressive reception area and in fairness all through the hotel.
We sunbathed mostly at the bottom pool, plenty of sunbeds until change over day and then for some reason everyone was getting up at the crack of dawn to secure their preferred spot. However, we always got a bed with the exception of one day when we went to lagos and didnt get back to 3pm. The rooms are big, beds comfy and great ensuite. We loved it here. Don't know why guests are moaning about a cold pool, in all our travelling its always the same - just get in- it soon warms up! The only one downside was the 'mains' for dinner, the starters and desserts were fine and so was breakfast - although theyoung lady who cooked one egg at a time was a queue builder. It was one of the few hotels we've been to where they didn't have a live 'cooking station' all the main dishes were cooked and kept warm in dishes which eventually made all the meats hard/dry. Salads etc were fantastic. There was one evening where there didnt seem to be enough staff so the food wasn't replenished quickly enough - other than that - we would rate this hotel highly and would definately go back - stylish and contemporary with good staff.

Room Tip: Majority of rooms had a pool/sea view - all excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaystravelling03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival,the holiday stands as being the most attractive in the area and staff are most welcoming.
The surrounding area isn't the best for looking around with Lagos being the closest town which is 40 minutes walk away and has the closest bars/restaurants.
On the other hand,the view from the hotel is lovely with the beach being right on the doorstep.

Inside the hotel,the rooms are modern with big,comfortable beds and stylish decor.

There are 2 decent sized pools with a relaxing environment.It is so quiet around the pools though,maybe too quiet.

There are quality indoor spa and gym facilities as well as an indoor pool.

The food at the hotel is limited but what is there was lovely every night.The staff are very keen to make sure everything is satisfactory and beyond friendly.
There are 2 places to eat (both poolside) during the day which also produced lovely food at a not too expensive price.

The reps are very helpful when it comes to sorting out trips for you.I went to the zoo marine park and also went on a Portitours Sunset trip which I'd recommend both.
The zoo marine has plenty of things to do to fill a whole day such as dolphin shows,sea lion shows,a water park,an aquarium,numerous restaurants,shops and a man made beach area.
The sunset trip was a trip I won't forget,met some lovely people on the way up through the monchique mountains where,once at the top,had a good laugh with the friendly tour leaders/drivers (who were good company all day) and then had a 4 course meal in a nearby restaurant.

Overall,it was a brilliant holiday and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.Great place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited as a couple for the last week in June.

First impressions of the hotel were wonderful, the reception area is very striking. We booked a private transfer through Yellowfish, who we would recommend. Much cheaper than the private transfers offered by Thomson, and miles quicker than using the Thomson coach service! We arrived at the hotel an hour before the transfer coach, meaning we didn't have to wait to check in at all. Miguel on reception was very helpful - he took our bags to our room and nothing was too much trouble for him throughout our entire stay.

Our room (on the 3rd floor) was lovely, very clean and modern. I think most of the rooms in this hotel are the same. The bed was huge and the rainfall shower is great! We overlooked the main pool and also had a sea view, perfect.

The pool area was nice and clean, with comfortable sunbeds, although the pool was quite cold. We only ever sat around the main pool. It was a shame as a lot of people seem to complain about the lack of sunbeds - throughout our entire stay there were hardly any times when no sunbeds were available. The pool area didn't start to fill up until gone 11am, so I'm not sure why people are complaining about 'sunbeds at dawn', we saw none of this at all. Even so, it was still very annoying to see the amount of people who would leave towels on sunbeds for 3/4 hours or more without returning. Very selfish. A lot of people around the pool also seemed to smoke, which we didn't really like, but not much you can do about that unfortunately! There was occasional waiter service around the pool, but most of the time we bought our own drinks from the bar. Be prepared to wake up the entire pool area if you order a milkshake though, the blender sounds like a drill!

We were half board, but prefer to get out and about so only ate in the hotel once. We weren't too impressed - poor selection and very strange foods served together. We also had to pay for water! However, breakfast was consistently good. I've seen a few reviews complaining about food running out. We saw on a few occasions that as more food was put out, one person would go and take everything that had just been put out fresh!! (Saw one man take all 3 fried eggs, when there were 4 people waiting for them). Overall though, we did think breakfast was good, but as all the other reviews seem to say, the restaurant as a whole isn't 5 star.

We chose to visit Lagos instead, we got taxis most evenings (8 euros) and occasionally walked. The food in Lagos is good and very, very reasonable. If you get chance, visit the Komal Indian restaurant.

Overall, we did really enjoy our stay. A holiday is what you make it, and it does seem that a lot of reviewers are picking lots of holes. This hotel really is lovely, and being adults-only is a huge bonus. There was a varied mix of younger and older couples (we're in our 20s), but it was nice and quiet which is just what we wanted.

Our only issues were with the restaurant (which we already knew we wouldn't eat in anyway), and we also found a few of the reception staff to be quite abrupt and not particularly helpful, definitely not to be expected from a 5 star hotel. A final thought - definitely ask for a 2nd key card so that you can keep your aircon and fridge on in your room. We had a bit of an issue with this, as the cleaner took our key card twice during our stay, not sure why. A bit annoying!

Overall though, a fantastic holiday. We'd love to go back and wish we could've stayed longer!

Room Tip: Try to get a pool AND sea view room. These had the best view in our opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jnorthwestuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've just returned from my holiday here and can say I am very happy with the hotel! 5* accommodation....the hotel itself is to be in awe of, never seen such a beautiful hotel. The corridors have changeable mood lighting as well!

Now everyone on here has mentioned the food not being 5* nor the service of the staff. Now the reason why you (or even they) may have chosen this hotel may be because... 'wow 5* hotel for that price!?! The pictures look amazing!' EXACTLY it wasn't exactly 5* price, so obviously do not expect service or food like the Ritz!

The food was brilliant quality and yes the range of food wasn't great - but you still had enough to keep you full and satisfied. The staff did make you feel welcome and were very friendly. Rooms beautiful - indoor poor (heated) and outdoor pool were fantastic. The walk to the local town Lagos wasn't far either (look at the photo attached).

Only niggle is they need better entertainment in the evenings - at the moment they just have a live singer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Winterberry14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england, essex
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just got back from a week here today and miss it already. The hotel is really stylish, love the corridors with changing coloured lights and the room was without a doubt the best hotel room I've ever stayed in, the bathroom was amazing with a separate shower room, and the bed was absolutely huge and very comfortable. Also had a terrace and our own day bed just outside, as we were on the pool level. The pool areas are lovely with very comfortable sun loungers and even pillows, there are also day beds scattered about, pool very big and clean- in both the main and lower pool- only down point is they were freezing! Very difficult to get in because of the icy temperature!

As for food and drink: we only ate dinner at the hotel once as we prefer to get out and about. We generally walked into lagos which is about a 40 minute walk, ok for us as we like walking! Found a lovely italian restuarant that we visited twice. The dinner at the hotel was pretty bland and limited- although I am a fussy eater, and drinks not included. The breakfast however we had every day and this was lovely, a huge selection: all the items of a cooked breakfast eg eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms...as well as a big selection of breads, pastries and muffins, fresh fruit, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit juices, and even sparkling wine. Really enjoyed this every day!

As for drinks- not too badly priced and there was waiter service both by the pool and in the bar at night although this took longer if it was busy. Although the spirits and mixers may seem pricey you certainly get a generous amount. There was generally a singer in the bar at night time which was good and entertaining but finished at 11pm which I thought was a bit early...and they could mix up the entertainment a bit more! So we generally ended up in bed quite early, but the evenings were still nice!

The location had a really pretty view overlooking the sea, only down side is the long walk to get to lagos for any other restaurants and bars. Would of also liked to find maybe one or two lively bars, everywhere seemed pretty quiet and empty.

We did two day trips, the dolphins at zoomarine and the lazy daze cruise...I would recommend both. All in all a lovely holiday and I would visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zobobabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
13.3 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Property: Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing