We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 star but a good 4!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 star but a good 4!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have just spent 2 weeks here on our first 'couples only' holiday to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Most of the reviews are spot on - the hotel is cool, beautiful, stunning to look at and very contemporary. Check in was fine and our room was really lovely, stunning bathroom and excellent free standing bath. We had paid extra for a sea view and we overlooked the small pool on the first floor - a lovely room and very quiet. We much preferred it to the rooms overlooking the main pool. The balcony was great, large and with good furniture. Fresh towels can be asked for at reception every day and there were robes and slippers in our room. The air con was good and sound proofing excellent. We unpacked and went to dinner. The evening meal is definitely the most disappointing aspect of this hotel and I think it's down to the the lack of atmosphere in the main restaurant - the lighting is awful and the dress code not upheld so it feels too casual and not at all intimate. The food is good but gets repetitive - we ate out 7 nights. We got the hang of it all a bit better as time went on - waiting for a balcony table and getting our meal in proper 'courses' as you would in a served restaurant. Breakfast was great - in the same place with amazing choice including omelettes made fresh for you. However......... there are too many things that make this 4 star quality instead of 5. The water and coffee in the rooms is not replenished. I asked a couple of times for extra sachets at reception but was told on the second occasion they didn't have any! The staff were ok, a couple stand out as lovely but actually a lot of the bar staff are inattentive and we had to wait a long time several times. The bar prices are ridiculous and it really adds to the cost of the holiday. There is a happy hour with a cocktail of the day for 5 euros - this ends at 8pm. We once queued from ten to eight to get served - they finally served us at 8.02pm and said we had to pay full price as it was no longer happy hour! There are not enough sun loungers - we went out of the hotel to the amazing beaches in the area a lot as we aren't the types to set the alarm to put the towels out! The hotel is carpeted which makes it lovely and quiet but the carpets in the main hallways are very stained. The entertainment is so low key it's almost non existent and it finishes at 10.30. Overall, a lovely relaxing holiday but a few little extras here could make this a truly superb hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenh13Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    515
    178
    48
    24
See reviews for
58
1,153
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked this hotel thinking it looked nice and modern and was in a great location. It surpassed all of our expecations. The room was lovely, really clean and modern, great bath too! We had a sea view which I would highly recommend, with a really big balcony.

The main areas of the hotel were also lovely. We used the spa daily (small fee) and were very impressed, it was alway quiet and the staff really nice.

The food was great, my only comment would be it would have been nice to see a bit more choice in the evenings on the main course section.

Drinks in the bar were reasonable and good selection of cocktails too. Great little shop in the lobby which sells produce made by the owners.

Overall I would really recommend this hotel to couples who want a little bit of luxury and a quiet, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The sea view room was great, views were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel as a building, is fantastic. Rooms are modern, clean and large. There are two nice pool areas but the traditional fight between Brits and Germans for the sun loungers exists meaning people often leave towels out on them for hours without being there, which is frustrating. Towels are provided for the pool as often as you want them, which is great.
The staff are friendly and helpful, but you have to remember this is a hotel in Portugal, so if you order a drink through table service, don't expect it there immediately, you're better going to the bar your self.
Personally I think the food is OK. It's nothing special and it is pretty much the same every night, but most half board holidays are, and unfortunately they have to cater for the masses. We got bored of the choice and ate out at lunchtime most days to sample the local food.
Transport into Lagos is the main issue as the hotel is on the outskirts. A good 20 minute walk gets you to the marina, or the bus which is meant to be every hour, but again, that's a Portuguese hour (it turns up when it's ready). Taxis take a while to service the hotel and flagging one down in Lagos is often a long process.
If you want a pool holiday only, it's great, if it's local delights and delicacies you are after, you may need to try something more central and not half board

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from a fabulous holiday here. Main positives are spotlessly clean, lovely staff and beautiful location. Main negatives are not enough sunbeds around pool areas (which the hotel could do more to control), repetitive food and unimaginative evening entertainment. Otherwise, very relaxing and within easy walking distance of Lagos which is a fabulous place to visit, day or night. If you want a nice meal close-by, go to restaurant on beach (Graviota Blanca).

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Visited in May this year on holiday with the Boyfriend, stayed in such a beautiful room that was very clean and spacious, very comfortable with modern furniture also a great view from our windows. The food was good and had lots to choose from each day. Beach wasn't too far away which is the added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a fantastic Hotel this is... The very best Chill out and just what we needed. The excellent staff and wonderful surrounding made this our week in paradise. Great location, just cant wait to return.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be any bad rooms, a sea view would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Bonus you get in this Hotel that you would normally pay for in other Hotels are free use of the bedroom safe,free Wi Fi , free tea coffee in room topped up daily, free toiletries topped up daily, free beach and pool towels change as many times as you like,maid service every day,
The food is nice and plenty of choice hot and cold the salads are great all self service, good choice again for breakfast but let its self down by the fact that both sections serving the hot food had different items so if you wanted bacon that was one side if you wanted sausages that was the other side so this meant people going from side to side bit of a Hubble. We're as at dinner each side has the same selection as they use chafing dishes they should do this at breakfast.
Had lunch a couple of times at the bottom pool bar nice toasty chips ect also had lunch at the Italian restaurant next to spa huge portions especially for lunch but really nice the late coffee is really nice there to.
The beach is across the road and down the path next to railway line that runs into Lagos.
Beach is beautifully sandy but don't expect a warm sea as you get in the Mediterranean it's freezing it is the Atlantic so if you like snorkelling and swimming you can't stay in to long.
Lagos you can get train bus or taxi train cheapest only 1.40 euro no return tickets sold.
Lagos really nice town lots of shops restaurants nice museums all worth a visit.
Bedroom we had room on 4th floor so had a good view of pool and sea room was large and clean bathroom had nice walk in shower and bath was part of the room this was a we bit of fun.
TV is in the mirror nice balcony with some chairs, double bed was large and comfy.
There was not much entertainment at night you would have to go to lagos .
there was some entertainment during the day BBQ , wine tasting Cocktail making but nothing really exciting.
This hotel is for making up your own entertainment .
Overall I am hard to please but this Hotel ticked most of the boxes for us hope this helps you to decide to go you will not be disappointed although reading other reviews some people were but it all depends what you want from a Holiday this one is all there you just need to fill in the blanks.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the higher you are the better the room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swordfish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
18.8 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#3 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Property: Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing