We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$531
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canavial I & II Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilabranca Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveller rating
767
620
202
51
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
620
202
51
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslower poolthomson repsbrowns restaurantland trainfree standing bathbeautiful hotelstar hotelwaiter serviceopen plan bathroomhalf boardcocktail makingvealmood lightingsea viewwalk along the beachrelaxing holidayevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
932 - 937 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Just back from a week's holiday at this hotel. For five star (Thomson's 5 star that is) a few things were disappointing. Getting around the hotel was like a maze and when I asked for a guide was told there was not such a thing; I think this would have messed up the minimalist look. Hotel staff were all fantastic I have to say - faultless. Food very disappointing - veal every night which was as tough as old boots. Fish was lovely but too much of this and not enough meat. Chicken and beef bourguignon also as tough as old boots. I don't think they cooked things long enough. My husband lived on the veggies and fruit. Amazing puddings though. Dress code not enforced in the evening. Also,booking of sunbeds with towels before 9.00am not enforced. Rooms fantastic and clean and glad to see mattress toppers used. Room staff and cleaning staff also great. What can we say about the entertainment - dire. Compared to other Thomson Gold holidays the entertainment at Yellow was awful. Virtually nothing during the day and night - awful. Too far away from entertainment and nothing much in this resort. Prices of cold drinks etc. diabolical and no drinks with dinner you had to buy everything. Water should at least have been supplied. Great that beach towels supplied. We didn't pay the extra for a sea view but garden view was lovely. Although beds great did not sleep well due to some sort of fan that was on the whole night - not the air conditioning as we turned it off every night. Due to the offset stairs on the way down to the dining area, my husband was holding onto the glass balustrade whilst walking up the stairs and whacked his head near the top as the ceiling was not in line with the hand ballustrade and it's not noticeable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Having chosen Thomson Couples before we thought some standardisation would be a guarantee.
Unfortunately we were disappointed. Entertainment is low key fair enough, but amateur and sparse? That wasn't in the brochure! No shop in the hotel so guests in a 5 star hotel have to walk to a locals make shift shop for basic items. The Gym is modern equipment as shown in the brochure but no water available, and good use of the mirrors in the pictures to make it look larger, no room to move and no air con. The service of the staff is good but due to the lack of bar manager and Restaurant manager it lacks 4 or 5 star. Dress code is not enforced which is a shame for the ladies who make the effort. On arrival we were looked at blankly and told "oh sit where you want". Food , There's no getting round this one, it's poor! packet soup and couldn't believe it when instant mash came out.
Pools are nice and there's plenty of sun beds, but be aware of the chill shock, even in August, the pools are not heated.
Rooms are fabulous and cleaned daily, but tea and coffee are on arrival only and not re filled.
Local area nice, and a train trip 1.20 Euro. Virtually on the hour, we found convenient as it drops you at the marina in Largos. Beaches nice long and sandy with facilities (not the hotels) on the beach
Over all a nice hotel with nice staff and very relaxing with nice surroundings, but not 5 Star.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea/pool views and are spacious and well equipped but take tea and coffee Better from floors 3 and 4.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank afterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Got back yesterday after a week's stay. From the pics and reviews I was optimistic anyway, but the hotel is even more amazing in the flesh. The pictures don't do it justice, the rooms are beautiful, 2 person bath is spacious and cosy. The in-room safe is handy and the selection of TV channels is good too. We purchased a sea view room which was lovely but a pool view room would be handy for night time as there is often entertainment around the pool and lots of people got the opportunity to view from their balcony. The maids could not be any friendlier, helpful and efficient! A good point to note is there is a mixture of heterosexual and homosexual couples which is great to see. Champage Breakfast is faultless with a selection of eggs (boiled and fried) omelettes, hash browns, sausages, toast, cheeses, fruits, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, cereals and yogurts. Evening meals are great too, not as repetitive as people are saying, perhaps too much fish on the menu. Only quelm here is no drinks at all (even water) are provided, therefore it can tally up ordering wine, water or soft drinks every night with meals. Staff are overly helpful and bar queue's are a bit long but I waited 20 minutes for a drink to be brought and because it took so long I got 50% off. Pool is cold, but with the heat this is entirely necessary. Sunbeds are freely available and beach is beautiful except sand being blown in face every 2 mins. Not much to do at night time though so would highly recommend getting an 8 euro taxi( 30 min walk) into Lagos town centre. With roof top bars, street entertainment and bustling crowds it tops of the holiday nicely. The reggae bar is recommended also for younger couples. Free wifi is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Would settle for a pool view instead of the sea view, studios look like a complete waste of money with tiny private pools
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just back from 2 lazy weeks at the Yellow Lagos Meia Praia, a beautiful hotel with 5 star accommodation but lunch and evening meals not quite up to the same standard. The rooms are spacious and very well equipped with safe, kettle, hairdryer, robes and slippers so no need to pack anything like that. Excellent free wifi throughout the hotel, we had no problems accessing in our room at all. The shower and loo with a combined door (a little difficult to explain) are in the room so if you put the lights on at night you may well wake your room mate up....maybe pack a torch or leave the blackout curtain slightly ajar like we did.
Breakfast was lovely with choices of bread and pastries, cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, yogurt and full cooked to choose from. Bubbly available as well, very nice touch. The lunch menu could have been a little better, I live on salads at lunchtime and there was no choice at all, just garden salad. It would have been very easy to add cheese, tuna or chicken etc to add a little more choice, but they were well presented and reasonably priced. Evening meals were a choice of 2 meat and 2 fish dishes so very limited for a 5*, nothing like the choices I have had in other 5* hotels. Also there is a sign stating a dress code but no one is enforcing it so some people look like they have walked in off the beach while others comply.
The staff are wonderful, especially Vyktoria and Nadia at the pool bar at lunchtimes. The sunbeds are far too comfortable, we kept nodding off! Pool towels are provided. 2 pools to choose from and the lower one gets more breeze during the day than the pool up by the main part of the hotel. There is a small supermarket just up the road past the station, it's in someones house and sells a good range of drinks, snacks and holiday essentials.
We had a really restful time and would return without a doubt, despite the lack of choice for some meals.

Room Tip: If you have a pool view room ask for 3rd or 4th floors for a balcony, 2nd floor has a terrace. A little confusing as the hotel is upside down, reception is on the 4th floor! Even numbered rooms have the morning sun and odd numbered the afternoon/evening sun.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

is all about the food,we no its crap,its all frozen,not cooked right ,the staff an chefs do not have,p a clue,theres no comunication,these kids r not propelry trained,people say the beautiful pool areas,the glass round the main pool was splatered with bird crap,iwas there for to weeks and no one cleaned this mess up.i told the rep and she sayes i will look into to that.theres trip hazzards all round the pool area with that cheap plastic decking.i would not go back to this hotel for free,

Room Tip: i had a high floor it was ok
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews