We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide, horses, surroundings and food!!”
Review of Horses in the Sun

Horses in the Sun
Ranked #30 of 71 Tours in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer horse riding and carriage driving facilities for both the experienced rider to complete novice. We offer guided horseback trails of differing lengths from 1 hour to 1 week. We also arrange horse riding and carriage driving adventures together, a great advantage for groups of differing abilities and fitness. These guided trails can include a beach picnic or lakeside barbeque and riders and drivers may sample some of the mouthwatering products from our famous Country Cooking School. Our stables and horses, together with our unrivalled catering facilities, form an unforgettable theme for parties and other events. We have hosted birthday parties for young and not so young and several corporate hospitality and team building events. We are only 15 minutes drive from some of Europe’s best surf beaches and the historic harbour of Lagos. We can arrange collection from your hotel or villa
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Me and my partner visited horses in the sun on 27th July 2014. We took an evening ride between 5-7pm. We were collected & returned from/to Lagos as part of the package and would advise this as I feel a taxi would cost more. The drive is around 15-20mins from Lagos town. I have little experience riding and my partner has more. Manny helped us get use to the horses before we set off on the trek. Saw some great views and given information regarding the surrounding area by Manny. We returned to the stables at around 7pm and prepared for the evening meal which we had pre-booked. This was prepared at the house and we were greeted with a glass of wine. The food, atmosphere and company of the family was fantastic. The house is set up on a hill with fantastic views back over towards Lagos. Certainly worthwhile taking the evening meal option! Thanks very much!!

Thank hoggy_167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsesinthesun, Owner at Horses in the Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thanks for your appriciation. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We took the morning 2 horse carriage ride with our daughters (age 8 and 11). It was a great time. Milton was very friendly and the one hour ride over the countryside had wonderful views of the Algarve.
The girls also got to ride the horses back at the stables.
It's a must do if you want a change of pace from the sand and the sea.

It's about a 20 minute car drive from Lagos and easy to find. Once off the N120, it's an old farm road that takes you up into the countryside.

Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsesinthesun, Owner at Horses in the Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Our family realy enjoy hosting other families. We enjoyed your visit especialy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had an amazing holiday at horses in the sun. The landscapes are breathtaking from the top of the hills down to the beautiful beaches. The horses are all very well trained which allows you to fully enjoy your ride with Manny and Milton who are the best guides. The food is just delicious and Frances and David are perfect hosts.
I recommend horses in the sun to anybody who loves horses, nature and great food !!!

Thank Hannah-Bulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had a nice trip true the forest of the Algarve with horses in the sun. Nice people and a good experiance.

Thank manon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I surprised my girlfriend with horse riding, food, wine and amazing views on valentines and it went down a treat. Manny the man to take you on this trek and turn it into an adventure. Took your advice and took the scenic route to lisbon. Loved it. Thank you to the parents for the food wine and laughs. The flowers were a great touch. A valentines never to be forgotten. Would definitely go back!!

Thank Prabhjitjassal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horses in the Sun also viewed

 
Aljezur, Faro District
 

Been to Horses in the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing