We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard and succeeding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Only opened in June 2011 so everything is new with marble clad public areas and sweeping staircases it all adds up to a great impression. All rooms appear to have either a balcony or a terrace and are very well laid out. Walk in shower and bath in the room we had with all the facilities you need. The outstanding feature of the hotel are the staff who without exception were all very personable and professional and looking to go the extra mile.
The hotel is 5 star so you pay the price but you know that before you start. Situated a mile or so from the town centre on the coast so unless you really like walking you would need some transport. They have plans to develop the resort extensively so whether it will remain as peaceful as it was whilst we were there I would doubt but for a few days in the sun it was great

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have been fortunate enough to stay in some very fine hotels around the World. My husband and I also own a small hotel which rates highly, so we understand the effort that goes into making a lovely experience for your guests. If you don’t like long, detailed reviews, here’s a shortened version, don’t hesitate to choose this hotel, you will not regret it; the Cascades Resort is a gem.
If you have some time to read more, here is why; beginning with the location, which is ocean front, the hotel sits in a quiet area with a delightful big, wide garden and extremely well-designed, huge pool; a nice feature of which is the sound of water lapping over the edge all day. The room (we were in 207) was extremely nicely furnished – a big super-king bed with pillows you would choose yourself and excellent quality sheets/light duvet. Bathrooms are large, detailed with marble with full bath and nice walk-in shower. The rooms are spacious, light and airy but you also have a nice big balcony with a sun-bed and table/chairs. The food; dinner in the main restaurant is not so much of a meal as a dining experience – we didn’t meet the chef, but his food was divine; it reminded me of meals we have eaten in Michelin star restaurants. Breakfast is a feast of whatever you’d like cooked + an array of smoked salmon, hams, fruit, delicious cheeses, the freshest bread, a variety of fresh juices and even champagne included to mix with your juice if you like that for breakfast (we didn’t). Leave a tiny space for the chef’s home-made sweet pastry they will leave by your bed at turn-down. I think I’ve left the best thing about the Cascades until last; the staff. From the cleaners to the hotel general manager (who is ever-present) every member of staff made us feel like the most important person of their day. We’ve not come across the kind of attentiveness we received at Cascades for a very long time; everyone seems genuinely proud of their duties, full of smiles, yet without invading your space as some hotel staff have done in places we’ve stayed at in the past. It is not cheap to stay there and it shouldn’t be – we felt that every Euro was well-spent and there are a couple of extra things to mention about money/charges; firstly, we had booked an apartment at Cascades, but ended up deciding to stay in the hotel once we had seen the room they showed us. However, there were no coffee making facilities in the room. Don’t worry they said, we can arrange that and an espresso machine appeared with a choice of lovely coffee within 10 minutes. I was dying for a pot of tea one morning and called room service to ask if they had a minimum charge (I don’t like the habit of hotels who add a huge service charge for room service). The young lady didn’t understand my question exactly, so I ordered the tea anyway and it came to the room, tea for two and the bill was 4 Euros – no extra charges. There were no service charges in the hotel that we came across, all tips are at your discretion. Lastly, the internet was free of charge and fast. We hope to find the time to go back to Cascades again one day, as our entire experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GoGapSport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Great location, views, chilled atmosphere, genuinely nice staff...Pedro and the lady who drove us to the station, and the waiting on staff for that matter, deserve a good Christmas bonus...really make you feel like you would like to return. Great breakfasts and a fantastic pool. Beautiful room too. The kind of place you almost don't want to write a review on in case it gets too popular!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TubeandPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We have just returned from a week in this hotel.
It is stylish, top quality and very well run, and has excellent staff.
The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in two different rooms, the first on the ground floor in 'South America', which was lovely. We asked to be changed to an upstairs room which had a slightly better view over the pool and gardens, which they did the following night, putting us in a room in 'Asia' which (to our taste) was even more stylish. The bed and linen was superb as you would expect in a 5 star hotel, and the pillows were the size of a small bed!
A really nice touch was the little cakes that were waiting for you at bedtime, as was the free lift to town and back which we used most nights, typical of the extra effort this hotel is making.
As already mentioned, all the staff were wonderful, the whole place was kept immaculately clean, the wonderful breakfast was served by friendly, courteous and efficient waiting staff, and the reception staff were always willing to help with anything.
The only slight negative was that as this hotel is on a headland, it's a bit of a scramble down to the nearest beach, no problem for us, but difficult for anybody with even slight mobility problems. However, for swimming, the pool was perfect.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was wonderful, with a huge choice. We ate in town in the evening, just for a change of scenery.
I try not to over-hype hotels as high expectations can lead to disappointment, but it's hard to see how anyone would not be impressed by Cascades.

Room Tip: try to get a pool view room on the upstairs floor for gorgeous sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helvellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We have just returned from a superb week in this resort. We had booked an apartment,but on arrival were offered an upgrade into a hotel room with pool view on the ground floor. We were delighted to change and found the breakfasts excellent,well worth the extra. Everything is spotless and staff were exceptional. Yes it was quiet, but that suited us fine as the staff could give us even more attention. Dietary requirements were no problem, and we did not have to remind the staff after day one. We have already got a booking quote for next year and will be going for longer as this was our only regret. A car is very useful to stay here, but we had planned on that .

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor as it is only a few steps to the beautiful pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

First off - we didn't stay, just called in for a drink and a look-see. We've watched this development take shape, and following its "soft opening" thought we should take a look. As a couple of random pedestrians, we were politely intercepted at the resort entrance by security and pointed in the direction of the hotel. The building/pool area is beautiful and on a grand scale, but was so, so quiet. We had to beg for a drink, and had to search again for someone to pay - it would have been so easy not to pay the (alarmingly expensive) 11.50 euros for a beer and a wine.
The place is stunning, and when finished, fully staffed and occuppied, will be excellent. I just hope they don't screw up nearby Praia de Porto de Mos as they expand - this is currently a vital facility for all, not just the wealthy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank fletch535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This was our first trip to the Algarve and we chose this hotel through a third party site. We needn't have worried - the hotel more than exceeded our expectations.

The rooms were very large and we were lucky enough to have a terrace overlooking the pool. Never had any problems with housekeeping during our stay - maybe this has been addressed since previous posts as the staff I saw each day were working so hard vacuuming the terraces and even cleaning the ceilings of balconies and terraces!

Food has been great - the breakfast buffet is delicious and this week due to number of guests the hotel has moved to a la carte and will cook whatever you like - we have had some delicious French toast and eggs Benedict!

We also ate in the hotel restaurant on our first evening and had a lovely meal - I had a delicious red mullet whilst OH had monkfish - we couldn't fault it and are dining there again tonight for our final evening.

The spa fully opened just as we arrived and although we haven't used it yet we had a tour and looked at the list of treatments and were so impressed we are going to treat ourselves to some massages today before we leave.

Finally I must say how wonderful all the staff have been and in particular Jessica, Pedro and Andrea who have all been so helpful and nothing has been too much trouble. If we return to the Algarve, Cascade will be top of our list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claireybel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort

Address: Rua das Ilhas, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#4 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £107 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a truly unique and stunning cliff-top location, the five-star Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is one of the most luxurious hotels in the Algarve, offering an elegant and sophisticated experience to its guests. Offering a fantastic holiday destination, the resort is located in the historic city of Lagos within walking distance to Dona Ana Beach, distinguished by Conde Nast Traveller as one of the 50 best beaches in the world, and to the Ponta da Piedade lighthouse, where you can enjoy breathtaking views of the Algarvian coastline and the Atlantic Ocean. Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is divided into four individually decorated wings, each reflecting the expeditions of Portuguese navigators across four continents - Europe, Africa, Asia and South America, which is reflected in the tasteful decor of the rooms and suites. With a contemporary yet relaxed atmosphere, all rooms and suites at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort are very spacious and feature balconies or terraces. Guests and families at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort may also enjoy all the privacy and functionality of our one and two bedroom apartments or even a villa with its very own private swimming pool. At Cascade Resort, wellness is a state of mind. From special health programs combining fitness and wellness to detox menus, healthy lifestyle cocktails, or even Tainai Spa, a true oasis of tranquillity, at the resort we follow the philosophy of a "healthy mind in a healthy body". An extremely passionate team offering the world-renowned Portuguese hospitality and an impeccable service awaits you at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. Sip a cocktail as you immerse yourself in two splendid swimming pools, one of which with a natural sand bottom, sample a world-class culinary experience with our restaurants Moods and Senses, offering all-day-dining and a-la-carte options under the expert guidance of Chef Diogo Pereira or simply unwind in an authentic oasis of tranquillity - Tainai Spa, offering a large range of wellness programs as well as its very own heated swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment rooms. Other facilities include a fully equipped Cascade Gym by AXN Club 100, golf performance academy with driving range, two tennis courts and the Caskiddy Kids Club. The resort also offers one of the most sought after football training facilities in Europe which are regularly requested by professional football teams for their high performance training camps. With a privileged location and top quality meetings & events facilities at Cascade you can also find the ideal place for any type of event or even for the wedding of your dreams with the Atlantic Ocean as a backdrop. We invite you to enter a world of elegance and sample the perfect lifestyle at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing