We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Great BUT!!!!!!”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I find this hotel very difficult to review. If you are looking for a "Modern" hotel near the centre of town then this is the only "Modern"hotel.
The hotel is not suitable for people with walking problems as there is a slope up to the hotel, steps in some rooms (Room 11 had 6 steps from the bath room down to the bedroom) As other reports state this hotel seems to have "Evolved" over the years and seems very spread out with different levals. The hotel is a mixture of old and new and the old,bedrooms etc do need cleaning and decorating to bring it to it's 4 star rating.
Pool area small and pool beds/towel problems as normal.
Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. Staff were very helpful. Car parking outside, appox 100yds from hotel on rough ground.
Yes I would stay here again but would be careful about the room location.
Worth staying here just to be able to get to the excellent old town with it's rabbit warren of cobbled streets.
,

Room Tip: Check your room location. Some rooms are a distance from the entrance and there are steps across th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,220)
There are newer reviews for Tivoli Lagos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,191 - 2,197 of 3,220 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel last year in September, and it is as an oasis in the centre of town. Easy to reach, car parking is provided, the free one is outdoors, but you also have an underground garage, but for this one you have to pay.
This hotel is located very conveniently, only a few minutes from the Marina, and a short walk to the old centre of Lagos, where you will find dozens of restaurants.
Maybe not enough sunbeds around the swimming pool, but that mostly due to the fact that people put their towels on the sunbeds and then disappear for the rest of the day. Very unpolite, I should say. Maybe there should be a notice that it is forbidden to lay towels out and not being around the pool.
Breakfast is wonderful, choice enough of everything. But don't take anything out of the breakfast you will have to pay 20€ for it.
Staff is very helpfull and friendly.
A lot of older people are staying in this hotel, I only saw 3 children during the time we were there, and the breakfast room was full.
We haven't tried the restaurants of the hotel, we dined out in the little restaurants in the old centre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belgy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our 3rd visit to the Tivoli, so we enjoy the hotel location & beach,We think of it as an elegant elderly lady fraying at the edges.We love the courtsey bus to the beach or spending the day at the pool.The staff are lovely we were upgraded ro a suite this time,but have always enjoyed the clubrooms,yes it is looking a bit tired but is kept immaculately clean.The breakfast is plentiful & has numerous choices.Lagos is an old working town with lots of restaurants & bars & old streets to potter round.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very convenient hotel 2 mins from Bus Station, 5 mins Marina, 10mins from centre and old town. Excellent service of courtesy bus to Meia Praia beach throughout the day. Thought the beach club food was too expensive. Couldn't use the pool -once a week cleaning. Bedroom was small, dated ,beds hard but slept O.K. Air con worked and we needed it in June/July. Staff helpful in hotel although we found the hotel rather impersonal. Loungers were reserved from early morning with hotel towels at the pool. I hate this. Area was packed -didn't like it at all. Fortunately we prefer the beach . No trouble getting a lounger there. Very good service having shade at the beach and at no cost. Loungers were 10 euros for non -Tivoli users. Jazz entertainment was good and Elvis -he got everyone up dancing! The Beatles didn't turn up. After Happy Hour drinks very expensive in the Hotel compared with everywhere else. Would recommend it and would stay there again. Loved Lagos .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 73ChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

My husband and i use this hotel a lot
The staff are wonderful
Breakfast is great
Rooms need some updating
We love the tivoli and this time i finally found the health club
I had some fabulous treatments from eva and was gutted that she was not advertised enough
This really added to my tivoli experience and she should get more promotion on reception

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Excellent breakfast buffet served until 10:30 makes up for the tired bedrooms. It is in a good location; 2 mins from the bus station; 5 mins from the marina and train station and 10 mins from the centre. Disappointingly wi-fi is not free but plenty of bars in town do.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were quite pleased with this hotel although we would agree with some of the comments made by other reviewers. It is a little dated in some areas but in some ways this makes it a bit quirky.The reception area and lobby are very nice and spacious and the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is a short steepish climb to get to reception and anyone not fully fit might struggle a little.The location is good - just a few minutes to the new Marina and a little bit longer to the centre with the shops, bars and restaurants. The room we had was spacious and the bathroom a good size too.Cleanliness was good and the room was serviced each day. There are two pools plus a childrens pool but these are not big enough to accommodate a 'full house' hence the shuttle bus (every 30 minutes) to the beach. There is a wide selection of hot and cold food for breakfast all to a reasonable standard.
There is just one downside to this hotel, which sadly they don't have control over, and would put us off going again - it's surrounded by loud squawking seagulls from daybreak to sundown and through the night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clark249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.1 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#7 of 52 in Lagos
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £42 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing