We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$316/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 31/05
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/06
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilabranca Apartments(Lagos)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,363)
Filter reviews
3,363 results
Traveller rating
818
1,486
647
264
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
818
1,486
647
264
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubgolf tripfree bushotel guestspublic areasbit datedold townhealth clubindoor poolcentral locationhotel poollovely hotelbuffet breakfastenjoyable staycentre of townbars and restaurantsfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
2,281 - 2,286 of 3,363 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel has to be congratulated on the quality of the staff it employs. Helpful and attentive without being intrusive, we were very impressed.
We booked a double room on a B & B basis and were not disappointed with the quality and selection of food available at the breakfast buffet. We ate dinner in the hotel on two occasions which was an enjoyable experience. The hotel is well situated being only a five minute walk to the Marina and ten minutes to the old town. The shuttle bus service to the beach with its restaurant and complimentary sun beds, is fantastic, although at times it can be very busy.
However, although this hotel is classed as 4* and the main areas of the hotel certainly live up to this classification, we were very disappointed with our so called 'superior room'. Small and poorly furnished, the bed was uncomfortable, not helped by the fact it had a waterproof cover on the matress, and the pillows very lumpy. The carpet could have done with a shampoo and the bathroom required a good scrub as there was mould on the tiles, several of which were cracked, and on the shower head. A lick of paint would not have gone amiss either. Our balcony was small, dingy and faced a wall. Thankfully the airconditioning system was adequate and there was always hot water when we required a shower. The room in our opinion was tired and needed updating to bring it up the level of the public areas of the hotel.
Because of the location, friendly staff and public areas of this hotel, we would consider returning, but only if we were assured we would be given a better room. 4* star hotel but 2* room I am afraid.
I reluctantly give it 4* but "Could do better"

Room Tip: The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren. Suggest you contact hotel prior to your arrival and state your requirements. You may not then be as disappointed as we were.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cath013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel is centrally located in Lagos with walking distance to Marina, shops and restaurants. The hotel is composed of six buildings with lots of stairs throughout the hotel complex. The restaurant provide very good food with high level service. The rooms are dated, some of which quite small size. Breeakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the reception/main building.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaladaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful; however, the Reception staff need to learn from their colleagues. It took 4 attempts for them to provide us with a room that was not dark crampt and had a balcony that was overgrown with weeds (ivy type plant). My primary disappointment with the reception staff stems from the fact that the hotel was not busy and they continually tried to accommodate us in same dark & crampt part of the hotel.
The room we eventually opted for was nice, light and airy and on two levels.
The hotel needs a facelift on the outside and at the pool area. Internally the hotel is well maintained and pleasant.
The services provided were good and punctual.
The food was very good, always a great choice and on the occasion that you could not find anything to your taste, the restaurant’s Maître d’ will without any hesitation source an alternative. E.g. Fish night  Spaghetti Bolognese.
The ‘Beach Club’ is a pool, available to hotel guests, with a rather expensive restaurant. Charging hotel guests for sun-loungers by this pool is one example of the hotel milking guests for whatever they can get.
Other examples of the milking of guests can be found in the charging for Wi-Fi access and, the worst example of all, a ‘four star hotel’ charging guests for the use of their ‘gym’. Tivoli gym == several treadmills & rowers, some dumbbells and a multi-gym.
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family and would not stay there again. It is not a four star hotel and needs to revise the services it offers and its rooms before it can truly become a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of the pool are dark small and only suitable for very short (overnight) stays; the balconies are not usable because of the folliage and insects. Lower numbered (<100) rooms are better.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GolfNutScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel and found it generally of a very good standard. Staff at reception were very helpful and efficient but not overly friendly. The lobby is bright and the public areas are very well maintained, modern and comfortable. We ate on the terrace of the Pateo Velho restaurant in the hotel on our first night and the food was very good. There is also a buffet option in the main restaurant but we didn't sample this. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of hot food and continental options. We had to check out early (5.30am) on our last day and they have a service where you can book to have continental breakfast for an early checkout between 4am and 7.30am. Our room was a little on the small side but very clean and comfortable. However we felt the air-conditioning was not adequate and the room was often a little too warm. We also did not like the fact that we had to pay €3 per day for the in-room safe.The pool area was nice if a little small, but we never had any trouble getting sunbeds even though it did get busy at times. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle to the beach where there is a nice Duna beach bar / restaurant and loungers are available for free to hotel guests. The location of the hotel is very good as it is only a 10-minute walk to the centre of Lagos. The area immediately around the hotel isn't great but the bus station is just a few minutes walk and this was useful for our day trip to the pretty town of Sagres a little further west. Lagos itself is so lovely with pretty narrow streets, a lovely marina and gorgeous restaurants where the food and drink is very reasonably-priced. In general the outside of the hotel could do with a coat of paint and the air-conditioning was a little problematic for us but in general I would recommend the Tivoli for a stay in Lagos.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missdemure11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

As always I conducted less than ample research before booking my last minute long weekend in Lagos. The airport transfer stopped at two shady looking places en route to Lagos and I must admit to getting some wary looks from my better half.

However as we pulled into Tivoli, we were both relieved. The hotel is clean, has an air of modernity but retaining classical architecture and was nicely decorated.

The staff were probably cordially efficient rather than friendly but that didn't detract from the atmosphere. The pool area and accompanying bar was pleasant and never crowded and all food was fine.

Two things to be aware of.
Most rooms are twin not double and if you want a double you really need to phone ahead. However if your missus snores or fidgets it might be perfect.
The swimming pool is bloody freezing.

That aside, I thoroughly recommend both Lagos and Hotel Tivoli. The location is perfect, Lagos old town is lovely and only 5 minutes away and the beach used by the hotel is clean, expansive and sandy.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AOC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews