We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite trips”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We went there for a long weekend.
The hotel was extremely clean, you can constantly see the staff around cleaning and trying to make you feel welcome. The hotel itself is located in a perfect spot in the town as you can walk to the marina and the city center in less than 10 minutes. The hotel offers a free transport to the beach and they have a private area where you can have a Love Birds bed near a pool and the sea!! stunning!! The private bed cost us £40 for a spot plus Champaigne for two so not bad at all!
We used the Spa facilities and there was an amazing Holistic Massage therapist Eva Clarke who gave a very good Massage. I went back the following day :)
She was a bonus to my trip as she was a very interesting woman.
I would recommend the place to my mum, my friends and to all of you out there as it is not expensive and you feel like you have everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hodaya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,207 - 2,213 of 3,317 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

12 of us stayed at the Tivoli for a short golf break. Hotel is well-located, with free parking, close to bars, restaurants, marina & old town. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice. Communal areas are bright & spacious. Bedroom was on the slightly compact size, but more than adequate for 2 blokes sharing. Bathroom very clean & big enough. Corridors fairly quiet, without undue noise at any time of day or night. Would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangorBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

After reading the reviews before I went I had some reservations however no complaint what so ever.
Arrived into a lovely reception area and was shown to a room over looking the pool on the fourth floor. Okay the room and balcony were smaller than other hotels but no complaint as it was spotless and the bathroom was a good size with complimentary toiletries and a good shower.
We were half board for 9 nights with a great selection of different foods to try on a buffet service, Like octopus salad.
Staff were always smiling and polite and the bar staff very attentive.
We did drink at the hotel bar and found it no more expensive than some of the bars around Lagos Marina. 5 euros for brandy and coke, but a good measure.
What is included in the price of your hotel is a bus service to and from the beach club along with the provision of beach towels that you can change every day if you want.
Plus free beach loungers for Tivoli residents 10 euro's for others.
Lots of loungers around the hotel pool and free use of the indoor pool and jacuzzi.
Yes I would recommend this hotel to others and yes I will use it again.

Surrounding area has some good cafes and pubs the O Alberto restaurant at the rear of the Tivoli up the hill deserves a mention for great food and service.
Paris Cafe at the rear of the Marina also does great food and must be the cheapest pub in Lagos, Tony the owner loves chatting about motorbikes and Lagos in general.

Room Tip: the fact that rooms are spread out over the Hotel grounds means that you don't get hordes of row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abzcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Tivoli for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute. The room we had overlooked the garden area and was quite large. It was kept clean, and towels were changed whenever we decided by leaving them in the bath. The TV was old but serviceable and we were able to get Channel 4 and watch some of the Paralympics which were on during our stay.
Breakfast was excellent plenty of choice we did not eat at the hotel apart from the special BBQ evening which was really excellent value for 25 euros each. There was a 3 for 2 evening buffet offer for 47 euros, but we preferred to eat out each evening as we enjoyed the walk and the evening entertainment in the town squares.
There was no problem getting a sunlounger during our stay, and we also tried the beach and that was ok the beds and shades at the beach were getting a bit tatty but were functional. The beach club was ok for a drink before returning back to the hotel but was it was a bit overpriced and I am not keen on drinking beer out of plastic glasses

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tivoli in Lagos on the Algarve. The hotel is in a prime position and generally very good. The rooms were satisfactory but the hotel seems to be full of stairs randomly placed between the floors and lifts were also not in the obvious places. We stayed half board and the morning breakfast quality was excellent but the evening meals were disappointing and definitely need improving . Drink price were extremely high and given its location you could easily walk to an adjacent cafe and enjoy your coffee etc for a third of the price or even less. I have seen reviews which describe the hotel as faded splendour and although the public rooms are good and I think that is right. Two small niggles a 15 Euro charge for the room safe is petty and charging for wi if is also just a way of making money

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Went to the Algarve for friends' 60th birthday parties and since we are not into beaches but prefer larger towns for interesting things to do, we were recommended to stay at the Tivoli Lagos by our friends, and this recommendation seemed to be supported by Tripadvisor reviews. We agree - we would certainly go back.
Our room was somewhat quirky - walk a mile to get there, up a private flight of stairs and a balcony overlooking nothing, but it was air conditioned (albeit somewhat noisily), big enough. good bathroom and TV with BBC1, BBC World & CNN, and although perhaps a little run down it was clean - and well serviced.
Buffet breakfasts were good - plenty of choice including both full English and Portuguese options, and served over an extended period so ideal for both early and late risers. Staff were attentive, smiling and keen to make sure your needs were catered for. Didn't take other meals in the hotel because we ate with our friends, but in other circumstances would have been attracted to the open air charcoal grill restaurant (perhaps not so much to dinner in the buffet restaurant).
Although not beach people we did take a look at the hotel's "private" Duna Beach complex, which worked well and had attractive bar & lunch options. Might have preferred the shuttle bus to run more often in the early afternoon, but the timetable was clearly set out both in the hotel and at the beach. Quite quirky to have to collect beach towels from Reception, but seemed to work.
There is an attractive open air pool with loungers, pool bar and food served on shaded tables. There is also an indoor health club and pool which we did not use, being somewhat put off by the requirement to wear bathing caps!
The bar was not particularly attractively priced compared with nearby options (and there are many) but if you drink in a hotel you do pay hotel prices, and it was well laid out with occasional live music - there was a happy hour but it didn't start until 1830 whereas everywhere else was starting much earlier - but again, if you drink in a hotel this is what you must expect. So we rarely did, but on the occasions we did do so the service by the waitresses was excellent.
The hotel has a large open air and unsupervised car park which is free, and perfectly acceptable, but undercover supervised parking is also available at a price. The location is by no means far from the walled town - you can get to the central square on foot in rather less tthan 10 minutes and the walk is by no means unpleasant provided you go via the river front and not up the hill. Lagos is full of restaurants - my advice would be to avoid the obviously tourist ones, especially on Rua 25 de Abril, and look for where the locals eat, there is plenty of choice outside the main streets.
All in all a very enjoyable stay with no major niggles.

Room Tip: The hotel is atttractively higgledy-piggledy - no room seems to be the same as any other. Overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Having just returned from a 5 day break to this hotel , it must be said , it is a very comfortable , well positioned and well set out establishment. The staff were all friendly , helpful and polite , and the buffet breakfast , plentiful and served up at sensible times .
Our room on the 5th floor had a good view of the Marina , and was clean, comfortable and well serviced .
We didnt try the restaurant at the hotel , as we wished to experience the offerings of all the restaurants to be found in the quaint town itself , and we were not dissapointed .
At virtually the entrance to the hotel , is a bar and restaurant , called Luis,s , which never seems to shut , and caters for anyone who needs anything ! - If you enjoy a cigarette or cigar , you can do so in his one place , whilst next door is smoke free - BRITAIN needs to learn this lesson , as both sides were very busy , and no one MOANED !!
A good choice of hotel if you want to explore the area , or use as a golf base .

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms 504 / 505/506
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockinbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £60 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing