We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here for a week in June of 2011 on our European Honeymoon! this was the end of our month long backpacking trip, and we splurged on our last week at Tivoli cause we wanted some luxuries after a month of budget accommodations. Where do I start? The breakfast buffet was UNREAL- anything you could possibly imagine was available for you! The pool was awesome, the little town was a dream, the private beach club was incredible! This hotel is HUGE, as the walk to our hotel room was quite a hike as it was probably the farthest room from the lobby, but who cares about that really...the room was quite, clean, comfortable and quite large by european standards! We enjoyed our stay, would definitley stay here again, and actually dream about it on a regular basis! This town was one of the highlights of our trip for sure! Great food everywhere close by too! Only tip i can share...Sunscreen is absolutely a MUST and ridiculously expensive everywhere in this town...bring your own huge supply! Staff was helpful and friendly, I cannot think of anything bad to say!

Room Tip: Our room was literally the farthest point from the lobby you could get (over a 5 minute walk), if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    1,364
    580
    212
    118
See reviews for
424
1,635
192
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were very satisfied with this hotel which has a pleasnt atmosphere. It is well located for the Old Town and Marina. Our bedroom was a good size, overlooking a small garden, very clean with a good standard of furnishing including TV recvg.some English language programmes. The staff were pleasant and the buffet breakfasts and dinners were excellent with a good choice of dishes. Although we did not use them the indoor and outdoor swimming pools looked attractive. There was entertainment in the bar area on several evenings including a very good jazz band.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Never been to Portugal before and was pleasently pleased with the Tivoli Hotel we booked with low cost holidays first time with them too everything went to plan pick up was arranged with low cost as well and have no complaints. We arrived late evening and the hotel check in was quick and staff very pleasent we were took to our room by the porter pleasent lad if fact all the staff were friendly. The room was pleasent and very clean the maids came every day some times a bit late in the afternoon but not a problem we used the indoor pool too cold to use the outdoor but it was hot enough to sunbath defenetly t shirt weather. We booked B 7 B and didnt eat in the hotel for evening meal to be honest the breakfast was ok but if you want an english breakfast the Tivoli isnt for you. the bar was expensive but just near the hotel is a bar with free wi fi and and entertainment the owner Loui owns the bar next door too which is a smokers bar great bar friendly staff cant do enough for you really.The hotel also has two computers free to use for half an hour we never had a problem getting on these but it was february over all pleasent hotel the only thing was we are in our 50s and the other guests were a fair bit older but as we went out alot its not a problem and to be honest some of the older guests seemed to be haveing a great time the location it great to near to town but Lagos is a bit hilly if you have problems walking we caught the train just at the back of the marina which is cheap and as we were told cheaper than the buses. over all had a lovely time clean great location and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_martin392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We have stayed here many times before,but never on a half board basis.The breakfast was the usual plenty of choice still dont cook proper bacon,evening meal quite varied all food of good standard.Bedrooms as usual very good and clean older type Hotel but originally built to a high spec ,you have the feeling it was quite a five star in its day,we didnt drink there(to expensive),fifty yards away a good pup type all english beer and a welcoming smile,tele"s,quiz nights ect Overal a good hotel and Lagos is on old and very interesting place.The golf courses are fairly empty now as they have priced themeselves out of the market and refuse to discount anything.Golf and hotel,flight,buggies,tranfers ect £900,regards Brian.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good but there is quite a walk to some,they are pretty good at exchange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batchwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The Tivoli in Lago is well situated for the lovely walled town with its resturants, shops and harbour. There are beaches this side of the river but the big beach is over the marina bridge and a little walk. In the hotel the service is excellent and the food good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in January and it was fantastic. All the staff are very friendly and the the bar and lounge area are great for relaxing and on a Friday they have a good Elvis act on. The rooms were clean and we had a huge balcony. Breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of food on offer. They do need to invest in a new toaster as it takes 5 time through to get the toast perfect. The hotel is a good location for the town and does have a free parking area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djstu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at The Tivoli Lagos which incorporated New Year. We had never been to Western Algarve before but have really enjoyed the week. The Tivoli is in a really good location providing easy access to the old town or the marina both areas being only a few minutes walk away. The room had everything we needed, twin beds, two fitted wardrobes, a small veranda, bath with powerfull shower over, twin sinks and a telly. It was clean and comfortable. The hair dryer was an old one mounted on the bathroom wall so will take my own next time. The pavements and back street in Lagos are all cobbled and I had to buy a pair of flat comfortable boots as heel are not a good idea for walking around Lagos.
All the public areas in the hotel are spacious and comfortable and an indoor smoking lounge is provided. The hotel is very clean and all the staff are extremely friendly. Happy hour in the bar is good and there was ebtertainment most nights. Louis Bar at the bottom of the drive to the hotel is also a really friendly bar where smoking is permitted. Non smokers can go next door to the partner bar. We will definately book this hotel again when visiting this area. It may be a little tired in places but the location, friendly staff and cleanliness out weigh this one negative. We akso played golf and could store our clubs in the hotel golf store, drive the car to the front door and collect the clubs from there (very convenient)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Phillybarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing