We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Tivoli Lagos in June 2013 and found it good value for money. The room was large and was kept very clean with daily linen change. It has been said the room decor is a bit dated but would have to say that in a holiday hotel this is not uncommon and it was freshly painted. There is a mini-bar in the room and this allows you to have some cool beers of your own should you so desire.The main communal areas in the hotel are well appointed and smart and whilst the pool is not large when we were there it wasn't crowded, no problems getting a lounger when required. Towels are supplied free of charge.
The beach club is worth going down to on the courtesy bus and loungers on the beach are free to hotel guests, you have to pay 10 euros for 2 loungers at the beach club pool. Entertainment was generally very good with The Beatles tribute band and Elvis being the highlights. The hotel has a happy hour between 6 and 7pm and a large beer was only 2.20 euros at this time, various other drinks were also half price and the hotel also does 25% off all drinks between 9 and 10pm.....check out the chocolate martinis!
We were on the bed and breakfast and this is recommended, breakfast is tremendous and great range, the fruit was always delicious and all tastes were catered for. We didn't eat at the hotel at night but Lagos has many different restaurants to choose from with fish being a highlight. Guests we spoke to said the buffet wasn't great but the a la carte food was very good.
It is only a 5 minute brisk stroll over the hill to the center of the old town or you can walk along the promenade which takes a little longer, also only a few minutes to the marina which we enjoyed in the afternoon, watching the yachts and the world go by. It's a pretty back drop as you look across to the town and don't forget to check out the Oasis cafe which is great value with lovely salads and pastas....they also do coffee and cake for 3.50 euros, a must as this is a real treat with a huge slice of cake served with cream/ice cream.
The marina prices in general are very decent given the pleasant location, again various happy hours apply.
All in all we had a very good time in Lagos and at the Tivoli which is in a very good location, it's a quirky hotel but we didn't mind that at all. Note if you're not happy with your room ask for a move. The staff were very accommodating in this regard although I dare say in high season this may be more difficult. I can't say that we heard any adverse comments whilst there so I'd say go and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hamaccies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    1,364
    579
    212
    118
See reviews for
424
1,634
192
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent a long weekend at this hotel, and on arrival we traipsed up one lift, along a corridor, up a flight of stairs, down 5 floors in another lift to arrive at twin rooms (with a concrete table inbetween them) that looked out onto an uphill sloping garden, we felt like we were underground! We asked to be moved, and very quickly were offered rooms on the 5th floor in the same block which we accepted as it was late at night and they had told us they were the only alternatives. If we had been staying for longer I think it would have been more of an issue as the hotel clearly wasn't full. As per previous reviews the hotel lobby is impressive, the rest of the hotel less so, worn carpets, beds are uncomfortable in the dated rooms, the pool was dirty. Having said all of that, the food was good, we didn't buy any drinks in the hotel so can't comment on that, and the staff were very helpful mostly.

There are 2 excellent pieces to the hotel which would make you go back, the location is just perfect, you can walk anywhere, and the beach club is on a fabulous beach! Be warned though, it's only the sunbeds on the beach that are part of the hotel, round the pool its 10 Euros a day which is not communicated at all until you sit on them, although we felt they were well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, ask the hotel for specific details of the room allocated to you before you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just returned from Tivoli. We had a great holiday - Room clean and well maintained - food very good - staff friendly. Location is so convenient for shops bars and restaurants. This was our third visit to this hotel and we find it relaxing - good place for couples.
We have been coming to Algarve for twenty years now and the Tivoli is as good as any of the other 4 star hotels we have stayed in. No sunbed problems here by the way.

Room Tip: All we have been in are good but some are a distance off reception - if that bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cass41y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We arrived at the hotel beautiful reception and restaurant area staff are not to friendly we where escorted to our room it what a shock it was so dark and depressing and smelt of damp we requested for a different room four attempts later we got a brighter but shabby room with dirty carpets.
I was shocked this hotel cost us a lot of money if this is four star I would not like to see two star. there is all so a road running at the back of the hotel and you hear every car passing the room day and night. In the hotel near the pool area there is a building where a dog lives and with out fail barks every morning.
So we asked where the lovely view you see on the internet they said it is a private beach which belongs to the hotel and to get there it is a ten minute bus ride so its a con it is not on the hotel premises.
Also be warned you have to pay for the safe which is 15 euros we decided to pay up front but when our holiday came to a end she requested for payment again and said we did not pay
It is really sad when people are still ripping off the British tourist I thought them days where over but as we found they are not go at your own peril you have been warned "GOOD LUCK" never never again its upsetting that people can get away with this.

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank philip j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a week at the Tivoli in Lagos.
On arrival and after checking in, we were escorted to our room which was quite a way away. The hotel is made up of lots of interlocking buildings, so we had to take 2 lifts and several stairs.

The room was clean and a decent size, but the balcony could barely fit the 2 chairs on it and the view was old buildings. That said, there are rooms available with a sea view. THERE ARE NO TEA AND COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS!!!

We stayed on a B&B basis, and the breakfast buffet was good. Selection of continental, cooked, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice tea and coffee etc.

The pool area was okay, and the pool a decent enough size, however the children's pool was tiny, more like a tub. That said, the hotel is a Saga favourite, so not many children around. In fact I think I saw 2 the whole week.

Didn't try any of the restaurants, but had snacks by the pool. A bit pricey, as were the drinks.

We walked into town and ate out very night, and drinks off the premises are much more competitive.

O'Artisto restaurant and bar at the bottom of the hotel entrance is great. Good food both snacks and dinners, drink prices okay. Great entertainment, and Luis the owner is fantastic.

Close to town and the marina.

On the whole a nice hot break. Great for a peaceful getaway.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just returned from an eleven night half board stay at this hotel. When we arrived, tired and hot we went for our evening meal in the restaurant. I was quite dissapointed in the food (having returned from a cruise three weeks before where the food was out of this world) there was a choice but not a lot for myself. But all the following meals were fabulous, breakfasts and the evening buffet meals, lots of choice and all presented very well, it did turn out that the meals were as good as on the cruise.

Our room was quite large and very clean, my only gripe would be that we didn't get any sun on our balcony. But after a day in the red hot sun that really wasn't a major issue and was quite pleasant to sit out with a drink and a book.Parts of the hotel are a bit dated but immaculate, the staff are very pleasant and professional and will help with any problems (not that we had any).

The pool area is fantastic, it's also the first holiday where sunbeds can't be booked by a towel! If they are the staff will remove them, there were plenty of beds and we were never left without one. (you use their towels which you pay a deposit for and get back at the end, they can be changed when you feel they need to be) there is also a fantastic indoor pool to use and a gym.

The hotel is situated 5 minutes from the centre of Lagos and all its narrow winding streets bars and shops. There is a free courtesy bus to the magnificent beach, with a Tivoli bar and pool on it, again great food and great Super Bock beer! You can also walk to the beach or back to the hotel if you feel the need for some exercise.Evening entertainment was so so, a couple of really good turns and some not so good, but it's all about personal taste. All in all a really great and relaxing holiday and would certainly recommend the Tivoli Hotel in Lagos for a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeFellows2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

After 23 years decided to go back to Portugal and spent a week at the Tivoli Lagos and as others have said, the original hotel has been added to many times to produce a "rabbit warren", when you first arrive and for the next 24 hours it is a good training ground for people wanting to go either mountaineering or orienteering as you seem to be forever going up stairs or downstairs until you finally get your bearings. Having said all that the basic double room is spacious and reasonably well appointed with plentiful hot water although we did not find a power point for the first 4 days (it was that well hidden) which made charging of mobile phones, kindles, i-pads somewhat of a problem. WI-FI is available at a cost of 9euros for 24 hours they do however have 2 computers free of charge with internet connection.
The food whilst of a perfectly acceptable quality is lacking in variety, ie 1 fish course 1 meat course with basic salads. The bar is what you would expect with regards to price but when you get 3 different prices for the same drinks at the same time it is not acceptable to say "it is a computerised till so how did this happen" The outside of the hotel does require a lot of attention (painting) as do the gardens( gardening & cutting back). Overall I would rate it as a 3star plus but not a 4star. I would use it again if I had to purely and simply because it is in a good position for Lagos old town.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same, not worth paying for a premier room as all levels are colour coded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devonwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing