We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again location”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yet again location”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stay in this hotel due to the location its a few minutes walk to the centre of Lagos & the marina.Yes the hotel is quite old & quirky but if you stay in a newer hotel you will not be in a central position.Rooms, choose a club room they are very spacious & have a fridge.Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choices.Pool isn't huge but is a nice place to use also has indoor pool.Free regular bus to the beach club takes 10 minutes.,stunning beach with free beds & umbrellas you can use the beds @ the beach pool but there is a charge.Staff are very helpful Not a hotel to go to if you have walking difficulties.Restaurants are plentiful with lots of choices,from cheap & cheerful to fine dining.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    1,365
    581
    212
    119
See reviews for
425
1,637
192
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have just returned from a blissful trip in Lagos! We have now stayed in this hotel seven times out of our nine trips to Lagos.Why do we keep returning? Quite simply this hotel has a lot to offer. Good food, clean, fantastic staff, excellent service, perfect location, not to mention the beautiful beach club! Previous reviewers have mentioned about the sprawling layout. We find it quirky and there are some lovely gardens to explore. I would rather a low level sprawling layout than a towering block building.I would agree that some rooms are a little tired but I also think the value for money price tag reflects that. Domitilia on reception is very helpful, Antonio makes the best Gin & Tonic and Philipe makes the perfect classic champagne cocktail. Many of the staff have been around for years, a good sign in an industry where staff turnover is exceptionally high.During our stay my husband celebrated his birthday and the hotel very kindly delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbly to the room. A really nice touch! We look forward to returning next year. Thank you.

Room Tip: A high floor room in the main building has great views across the beach, pool, and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambassadortownhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Hotel is a maze. I had a room that required me to take two trips in two separate elevators with 3 sets of stairs inbetween. Hotel is situated on a hill and is spread over a rather large area so if you are unlucky you might end up with a bit of a walk to get to breakfast, the pool aso. To me this gives it a bit of a charm.
Breakfast was good with a good selection which also included other types of bread than white (big plus). Service was good as well. Always helpful when asking about places to go, restaurants to eat at aso.
No free interenet is a minus, and priced a bit high in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up the floors and preferably close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chemorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel! The staff are good, the service is good, but the actual architecture is a hotch potch of 6 buildings, which makes finding your way around interesting. The saving grace is that they have their beach with a regular coach link. It is also only 10 mins walk from the main square!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel was slightly dated, but had great amenities and a great location. The hotel is virtually in the historic downtown area and while its not on the beach, there is a complimentary shuttle that will take you to their private beach. When we checked in, we learned that the hotel is 4 different buildings that are all rather spread out and there's a lot of stairs and hallways you have to walk through. However, the doorman was very friendly and helpful- he helped us with our luggage, explained where things were in the hotel, and showed us to our room. The decor is a bit dated, but it has all the amenities (except conditioner) that an American would expect, including an excellent complimentary breakfast buffet, and air conditioning. They also had parking available in a garage under the hotel. If you have a larger car like a station wagon, it will be a tight squeeze going down into the parking garage. If you plan to eat out at a restaurant in town, have the hotel make a reservation for you so you don't have to worry about getting a table.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Tivoli Lagos in June 2013 and found it good value for money. The room was large and was kept very clean with daily linen change. It has been said the room decor is a bit dated but would have to say that in a holiday hotel this is not uncommon and it was freshly painted. There is a mini-bar in the room and this allows you to have some cool beers of your own should you so desire.The main communal areas in the hotel are well appointed and smart and whilst the pool is not large when we were there it wasn't crowded, no problems getting a lounger when required. Towels are supplied free of charge.
The beach club is worth going down to on the courtesy bus and loungers on the beach are free to hotel guests, you have to pay 10 euros for 2 loungers at the beach club pool. Entertainment was generally very good with The Beatles tribute band and Elvis being the highlights. The hotel has a happy hour between 6 and 7pm and a large beer was only 2.20 euros at this time, various other drinks were also half price and the hotel also does 25% off all drinks between 9 and 10pm.....check out the chocolate martinis!
We were on the bed and breakfast and this is recommended, breakfast is tremendous and great range, the fruit was always delicious and all tastes were catered for. We didn't eat at the hotel at night but Lagos has many different restaurants to choose from with fish being a highlight. Guests we spoke to said the buffet wasn't great but the a la carte food was very good.
It is only a 5 minute brisk stroll over the hill to the center of the old town or you can walk along the promenade which takes a little longer, also only a few minutes to the marina which we enjoyed in the afternoon, watching the yachts and the world go by. It's a pretty back drop as you look across to the town and don't forget to check out the Oasis cafe which is great value with lovely salads and pastas....they also do coffee and cake for 3.50 euros, a must as this is a real treat with a huge slice of cake served with cream/ice cream.
The marina prices in general are very decent given the pleasant location, again various happy hours apply.
All in all we had a very good time in Lagos and at the Tivoli which is in a very good location, it's a quirky hotel but we didn't mind that at all. Note if you're not happy with your room ask for a move. The staff were very accommodating in this regard although I dare say in high season this may be more difficult. I can't say that we heard any adverse comments whilst there so I'd say go and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hamaccies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent a long weekend at this hotel, and on arrival we traipsed up one lift, along a corridor, up a flight of stairs, down 5 floors in another lift to arrive at twin rooms (with a concrete table inbetween them) that looked out onto an uphill sloping garden, we felt like we were underground! We asked to be moved, and very quickly were offered rooms on the 5th floor in the same block which we accepted as it was late at night and they had told us they were the only alternatives. If we had been staying for longer I think it would have been more of an issue as the hotel clearly wasn't full. As per previous reviews the hotel lobby is impressive, the rest of the hotel less so, worn carpets, beds are uncomfortable in the dated rooms, the pool was dirty. Having said all of that, the food was good, we didn't buy any drinks in the hotel so can't comment on that, and the staff were very helpful mostly.

There are 2 excellent pieces to the hotel which would make you go back, the location is just perfect, you can walk anywhere, and the beach club is on a fabulous beach! Be warned though, it's only the sunbeds on the beach that are part of the hotel, round the pool its 10 Euros a day which is not communicated at all until you sit on them, although we felt they were well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, ask the hotel for specific details of the room allocated to you before you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing