We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Halifax
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just returned from a 10 night break and I thought the hotel was great. Excellent location, spotlessly clean with great bar, dining room and public areas. We were on a golf break and the hotel was perfectly located for the courses we played. It was my first visit to Lagos and again I thought the town was great with a nice marina and a huge selection of bars and restaurants. I'd have no hesitation in returning to Lagos or the hotel. A fantastic holiday and I'll be back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteeloHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    1,412
    608
    238
    135
See reviews for
455
1,716
197
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Tivoli hotel in Lagos. On booking this trip, we were very excited and had heard good things about our holiday. However, the reviews and photos (both on TripAdvisor and the website) don't do this place justice. After having exploring the many relaxing rooms, the indoor pool and spa, the gym and luxurious gardens, we were very impressed and pleased with our choice of hotel. There are so many hidden gems within this hotel, many of which would have been overlooked by ourselves had we not gotten too hot in the glorious sun and decided to explore! Looking around this hotel really is a must...
The staff were very friendly and courteous and the hotel was very clean. Drinks (both poolside and bar) are a tad expensive, but I guess you should expect this in such a beautiful hotel! We went with another couple and found that there were lots of places to see and eat with a great choice of activities. The hotel has its own part of the beach with free to use sunloungers, though there is a charge to use the loungers at the Duna beach pool.

We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stay in this hotel due to the location its a few minutes walk to the centre of Lagos & the marina.Yes the hotel is quite old & quirky but if you stay in a newer hotel you will not be in a central position.Rooms, choose a club room they are very spacious & have a fridge.Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choices.Pool isn't huge but is a nice place to use also has indoor pool.Free regular bus to the beach club takes 10 minutes.,stunning beach with free beds & umbrellas you can use the beds @ the beach pool but there is a charge.Staff are very helpful Not a hotel to go to if you have walking difficulties.Restaurants are plentiful with lots of choices,from cheap & cheerful to fine dining.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have just returned from a blissful trip in Lagos! We have now stayed in this hotel seven times out of our nine trips to Lagos.Why do we keep returning? Quite simply this hotel has a lot to offer. Good food, clean, fantastic staff, excellent service, perfect location, not to mention the beautiful beach club! Previous reviewers have mentioned about the sprawling layout. We find it quirky and there are some lovely gardens to explore. I would rather a low level sprawling layout than a towering block building.I would agree that some rooms are a little tired but I also think the value for money price tag reflects that. Domitilia on reception is very helpful, Antonio makes the best Gin & Tonic and Philipe makes the perfect classic champagne cocktail. Many of the staff have been around for years, a good sign in an industry where staff turnover is exceptionally high.During our stay my husband celebrated his birthday and the hotel very kindly delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbly to the room. A really nice touch! We look forward to returning next year. Thank you.

Room Tip: A high floor room in the main building has great views across the beach, pool, and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambassadortownhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The Hotel is a maze. I had a room that required me to take two trips in two separate elevators with 3 sets of stairs inbetween. Hotel is situated on a hill and is spread over a rather large area so if you are unlucky you might end up with a bit of a walk to get to breakfast, the pool aso. To me this gives it a bit of a charm.
Breakfast was good with a good selection which also included other types of bread than white (big plus). Service was good as well. Always helpful when asking about places to go, restaurants to eat at aso.
No free interenet is a minus, and priced a bit high in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up the floors and preferably close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chemorten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel! The staff are good, the service is good, but the actual architecture is a hotch potch of 6 buildings, which makes finding your way around interesting. The saving grace is that they have their beach with a regular coach link. It is also only 10 mins walk from the main square!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel was slightly dated, but had great amenities and a great location. The hotel is virtually in the historic downtown area and while its not on the beach, there is a complimentary shuttle that will take you to their private beach. When we checked in, we learned that the hotel is 4 different buildings that are all rather spread out and there's a lot of stairs and hallways you have to walk through. However, the doorman was very friendly and helpful- he helped us with our luggage, explained where things were in the hotel, and showed us to our room. The decor is a bit dated, but it has all the amenities (except conditioner) that an American would expect, including an excellent complimentary breakfast buffet, and air conditioning. They also had parking available in a garage under the hotel. If you have a larger car like a station wagon, it will be a tight squeeze going down into the parking garage. If you plan to eat out at a restaurant in town, have the hotel make a reservation for you so you don't have to worry about getting a table.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.1 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#16 of 52 in Lagos
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing