We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Day Holiday Stay”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“10 Day Holiday Stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have recently reurned from a 10 day holiday at the Tivoli.
It has old portuguese grandeur which is now looking tired. The room we were allocated was called a garden room, Number 2017 which was situated next to the indoor spa swimming pool. This was not good, as you could hear people talking and screaming in the pool when it was in use. The room was OK, nothing special, and the TV was about ten years old with poor picture quality. Most of the time, you had to watch programmes in "letter box"view. The wi-fi in the room was non existent, and was continually dropping out. When I mentioned it to reception, they told me to call a number on the password card. The room we had was acceptable, although for the money we paid, we expected something better.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice.
There is also BBQ restaurant on the same floor, open for dinner in the evenings. This is worth a visit if you "want to push the boat out" Very good Chataubriand, as well a choice of other meats.
We did not use the free transport to the beach.
There is a happy hour each evening. The outdoor pool was well used, and has loungers around it for use.
The hotel is ideally situated for the town centre, where there are an abundance of restaurants to eat at reasonable prices.
If you hire a car, the hotel has a free car park just along the street.
A very grand hotel in its day, but now needs to come up to date.
Lancashireman.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the outdoor swimming pool seem to be the best. All the other rooms are on differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancashireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and comments about the Tivoli Lagos - an Hotel full of character. We were happy to learn that despite some aspects - which will be taken in consideration, - you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    1,368
    581
    213
    119
See reviews for
426
1,639
192
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from holiday once again spent at The Tivoli Lagos. We have been using this hotel for a few years and love the location, the staff and the beach club.

Whilst I agree with some of the comments with regards the Hotel being a bit tired in places I cant agree with the comments with regards the staff. They are always friendly, courteous and willing to help. We were greeted by the Hotel Manager Mr Miguel Alves on arrival and welcomed to the hotel. The rooms are always clean but could be doing with the television being upgraded. Although when we stayed here in April the room that we had did have a new flat screen TV so maybe the same is on the cards for the rest of rooms. Whilst I cannot comment on the views made by others with regards the state of some of the rooms I have always found the rooms we have been allocated to be ok. Should this not be the case then I would have no hesitation in asking to be moved to a better room.

The breakfast is plentiful with cereals, seeds, nuts, yoghurts, several different types of bread and pastries, fresh fruit included 3 different types of melon, strawberries, kiwi, oranges, pineapple, grapes, hot buffet, cold buffet with meat, cheeses and salad. Previous comments have indicated that the fruit was not fresh the only thing that was not fresh was peaches and pears which were tinned but not what I would consider a big deal.

The hotel is in a great location with easy access to the bus station, train station, marina the town central and lots of places to eat and drink.

As an independant traveller for years I have booked with the same transfer company but after April when it took 3 and a half hours to get from the Airport to the hotel I decided to change my transfer company to Yellowfish. I couldnt have been more delighted it took 45 mins to get to the hotel after pick up and the same on the way back . Well done Yellowfish I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayloverHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Hamilton,
Thank you for your review and most kind comments about "your" Tivoli Lagos. Your thoughts about our Staff were very much appreciated.
Cordially,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in June 2014, The hotel is lovely.. and massive in size.

Pros
Room cleaned everyday. New towels, beds made, bathroom and room cleaned
Large outdoor pool
Large indoor heated pool and jacuzzi
Free Gym
2 pool tables - again free
table tennis - free
dart board - free
The pool tables / table tennis and dart board are in the games room which isn't advertised well and we only found out about it by chance.
The buffet breakfast is great, they have all sorts of options to pick from,, while the sausage and bacon is not the best it makes up for it with everything else.
There's Air Con in the rooms. This helped a lot.. ( our friends air con didn't work and they couldn't get it fixed but where offered a new room )
There's a mini bar.. we didn't use it.. it wasn't to badly priced.
Room service was good again not badly priced.

Cons
While there's not many con's there are a few.
Wifi... while i know it's a holiday staying in touch with people back home is always nice. They wanted 15 euro per day.... We didn't pay for it.. I did hear you could get it free if you signed up to there mailing list.. so ask for this at reception.
Not for young people... When i say young I mean below 30 - 35.. A lot of older people stay here and there's no music allowed around the pool.. and playing in the pool was frowned upon.
Bed where hard !! sore back a few nights.

------------
Overall my stay was good and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for free wifi and make sure they don't try charge you for the "Free" wifi.. they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear DavIdStokes,
Thank you for your review. Nice to read that, in general terms, you have enjoyed your holiday with us at the Tivoli Lagos, despite some aspects - which will be taken in consideration.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Which I don't have! The hotel was surprisingly better than I had been led to expect. It's built on the side of a hill and the accommodation blocks are staggered. For the unsteady or breathless and people with children, the right room is imperative. Lots of them are a very long way from the main building. Up and down several flights of steps in and out of buildings, across landings and sometimes in lifts as well. Some of the apartments have steps leading up to them. There is an enchanting "rain forest garden" with terrapins and a pond. However the wooden steps are very worn and you would need to know where you're offspring are at all times if you had a room down there. Our room suited us well although my husband did struggle with the stairs. Our friends room was a good few minutes walk away from the main areas and very dated. Old dark furniture and big aircon units on the floor. They didn't mind. They're all walkers and blokes!
The main restaurant is on the top floor and we saw guests literally dragging themselves up the stairs to get there. There is a lift but it's neither obvious nor close to where you want to be.
Presumably to combat the hot weather, the ceiling is dark brick and to me it made the place very dark and look like a Mausoleum. I got the impression the staff would like to speak but have been discouraged from doing so, (apart from the girl who takes your room number) we got smiles but no chat.
Our experience of breakfast was not good for the first week but picked up immensely in the last few days.Maybe it was the chefs week off. I've never seen anybody ruin eggs like the first guy did. There was a good selection of the usual stuff. Fresh fruit and fruit juice. Good tea an coffee. Bread, toaster, jam, cold meats etc; Just the hot stuff they got so wrong.
The rest of public areas of the hotel are very nicely laid out and furnished. There are lots of different lounges, you have to hunt to find some of them. They have fire places for the winter guests, which smelt of burnt wood and made me want to go back in the winter!
The pool area is terraced with a lovely (albeit very cold) pool, sun loungers, umbrella's and a nice bar area. The umbrella's are on wheels and have very heavy bases because of the wind. There's no pool staff and it's difficult for anyone but the very fit to move them.
The reception staff were amazing. It was a very busy reception and the staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. There's free internet from the hotels computers and if you want wi-fi you can sign up to a "club" which sends you info and deals on the Tivoli group and gives you free wi-fi.
Overall we liked the hotel and would go again. It's very close to the bus station, the Marina, the train station and The Square, everything else was a short walk away. We didn't go to the Hotel's beach as it was only May!

Room Tip: It depends what you're looking for. We liked ours but there were lots that would not have been s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeakgonemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience about the Tivoli Lagos. Nice to read that, overall, you have enjoyed your holiday with us and intend to return. In the affirmative, please drop us a line in advance, with exact dates of stay, so that we can ensure that you will remember the Tivoli Lagos for all the right reasons.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The a Hotel Tivoli is a warren of rooms of different types and styles. We stayed in a small section of rooms (ours was 14) with balconies next to the pool. Most of the hotel has a traditional feel and there are many lounges which you can often find empty. The pool area is compact but pleasant and there is a regular coach service to the hotel beach club where there is another small pool but beware they do not tell you that you have to pay €5 per day for a lounger. However the beach loungers are free. The breakfast is adequate with lots of fresh fruit but the sausage and bacon looks tired. The biggest advantage is the position on the edge of the town (5 minutes walk) but several good restaurants and bars on the doorstep. A must is A Floresta- great food and prices plus a wonderful host Alexander. NB if you join the GHA scheme which is free you get free Wifi and a newspaper and other benefits if you are a frequent traveller.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna1758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Joanna,
Thank you for your most kind review about the Tivoli Lagos - an Hotel full of character.!
Look forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend aged in our mid twenties have had some bad luck with holidays in the past, but this holiday has by far been the best!

Hotel was clean, nicely decorated, not too overcrowded and had everything you could have needed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We needed to book a train for our return trip and the reception helped us to do this. There's 3 computers available 24/7 to use free of charge (in case you need a quick check of those dreaded emails)

The only negatives are that the pool was freezing when we first arrived, if started warming up a little during our stay but there's an indoor pool (and jacuzzi). Also, the food in the hotel was quite expensive but we found the rest of lagos was very cheap to eat out. For lunch time, if you walk out of the hotel and your right you can have a sandwich and A beer x2 for 6 euros whilst a sandwich is 8 euros at the hotel.

For a special night I would recommend the hotels a la carte restaurant, fillet steak is delish!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday22221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a line to thank you for sharing your experience with us, after you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Tivoli Lagos.
Look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from ten days at the Tivoli and no hesitation to recommend this hotel. A lovely room, well appointed with a small terrace. No view. Excellent breakfast buffet with loads of choice. Everywhere clean and comfortable. The only negative is not having free wifi even in public areas. The other guests were mostly couples or groups of golfers. No Germans grabbing sunbeds! Hardly any children. Excellent shuttle service to the beach. All staff helpful and friendly. Great location to explore Lagos with all its shops, bars and restaurants.Just by the bus station so no need to hire a car. Marina also very near and plenty of boat trips to choose from.

Room Tip: The hotel is spread out with some rooms quite a long way from the reception so if you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmain57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for choosing the TIVOLI LAGOS for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We were happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your holiday.
As to the WiFi, perhaps it had escaped your attention that if you sign up to our free loyalty programme - GHA Discovery- you will have free WiFi as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay. Sign up on your next visit and you'll also have access to a unique portfolio of local experiences.
We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Cordially yours,
Miguel Alves, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing