We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but good location”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but good location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Oldfashioned big hotel. Not 4 stars but rather 3 star level. Location and free parking and breakfast is good. Pool area in hotel and beach club doesnt have enough sunbathing chairs. Average, nothing special.

Room Tip: Choose room in the main building. Otherwise you will be lost - the area and different corridors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirts P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience after your stay at the Tivoli Lagos. We look foward to welcome you again in one of our Tivoli Hotels & Resorts
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    1,364
    579
    212
    118
See reviews for
424
1,634
192
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We love this elegant old lady of a hotel,yes its faded & worn but is still comfortable.Its central to all restaurant & shops & has a free bus to the beach club which has a swimming pool & restaurant,free sun loungers on the sand.Thanks to all the staff who are always helpful.We choose a club room which is more spacious.Breakfast is pleniful we then eat out in the evening,so many restaurants to choose from.Restaurant @ hotel serves excellant cataplanas.Yes we will return again & again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lyn,
Just a short 'thank you' note for sharing your experience after your recent stay at the Tivoli Lagos. Your preference for our hotel and your thoughts about the staff are very much appreciated.
Look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This Hotel is spread out over a large site , with many stairs / steps and I would suggest not suitable for anyone with mobility problems . There is a large range of rooms , some in my opinion not suitable for use ( in particular lower ground floor) . I arrived 2 July with with 2 others (all adults) , the first room we were taken to involved 2 lifts, and 3 sets of stairs. We felt sorry for the porter - a very nice man ! The room was a small twin bedded room with an extra (camp) bed thrown in - it wa s so small we actually couldnt get all out bags inside . We marched back to reception . No apology received but then we were shown to another (garden) room which had a stale smell as if windows or usage hadnt been too recent. Not suitable in our view ! On way back to reception once again we were shown a suite ( involved 2 floors with 2 twin beds , and if deemed suitable by us could have 3rd bed imput in bedroom or upstairs in living area. But there would be extra cost - We matched back to reception to discuss - seemingly it would cost €60 extra per day for the 'suite'! Having spoken with Reception (Anna) again we were making no progress - so we asked to speak with the manager. She stated best she could do would be €50 extra per night for the ' suite' which we had not booked but a room large enough to take 3 adults ( we had paid fully in advance) . We were not happy and insisted we had paid for a room to suit us ( having specified 3 beds on booking) and had confirmation from hotel. The manager made a phone call - now telling us she may have a room that would suit but it was in progress of being cleaned so we would need to wait 20 mins to see it -No apology at this point, so all we could do was wait.It was now 1.5hrs since we arrived at Tivoli hotel . This room was suitable ( at along last !!) so we returned to reception to check in and the porter helped us move our cases from the first room. Not sure why we werent shown this room at the start - but the whole process would have coloured our view of this hotel and I do not recommend it. The reception staff made no effort at customer service , no apology, and little effort in sorting our problem. The other hotel staff we found very nice and friendly. The location is good. In my opinion this hotel is not a 4 star, in particular in relation to the rooms, but the main lobby areas are very nice and well furnished .

Room Tip: In the newer part of the hotel - as parts of this hotel is quite old and not kept well .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lyn,
I was sorry to learn that there were certain aspects of your stay at the Tivoli Lagos that have given rise to criticism and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and upset you were caused when of the check-in. I have shared your comments with the Customer Care, for the continuous upgrading of our Service Standards.
Cordially Yours,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is going to be short and sweet.
Great holiday, Great quirky hotel,clean, friendly staff.
We stay on a bed and breakfast basis because there are so many good restaurants and bars in the town a short walk away.We asked for a room on an upper floor which the hotel surpassed themselves and were given one on the top floor with a sea view (OK the it was in the distance)
Will be back next year God willing.
A big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Nimlin,
Just a line to thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your preference for our Tivoli Lagos is very much appreciated.
Look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel is not a beach front but the location is right at the city centre making it very convenient to find hotels, shopping and other excursions ( boat trips, etc). We booked this resort on booking.com and had specified that we were 3 adults and 1 kid- despite of that we were charged extra bed for our kid ( 3 year old) who technically slept with us. We get a room with 3 single beds despite of having specified that we need a large double bed and an extra bed. We had to create a bit of hue and cry before we got a proper rooms. The rooms were quite old and not well maintained. But apart from this incident our stay was quite decent. The resort has indoor and outdoor pools, spa facilities and couple restaurants to eat from. The staff after this first instance was fairly friendly and helpful. Though we had free internet in our room- we never got the wifi signals in our room which was a big negative. The hotel has a beach resort on the beach front where they provide sun decks for the hotel customers which was quite nice. I am not sure though of we would visit this resort again despite of the location.

Room Tip: Please make sure that your booking has any extra bed for kids or adults all in black and white else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeta1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Preeta,
I thank you for your review and to let us know that, - despite we were not able to meet with your expectations, for which we very much regret,- there were some aspects of the holiday that you have thoroughly enjoyed.
Cordially,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have split my review in to paragraphs on location, amenities, service, the pool, bedrooms and the beach club; in case you get bored reading about a breakfast that you have no intention of eating, and just want to get on to whether it’s cheap to get sozzled in the hotel bar.

The location of the Tivoli Lagos is fantastic, a leisurely 5-10 minute walk to the man centre, passing numerous bars and restaurants on the way. Awaiting you as you walk down the ramp from reception are three cheap bars with nightly live entertainment, and all the sports. During our visit, the World Cup was on, but the commentary was turned down which meant those who just wanted a quiet drink were as well accommodated as those who, like me, wanted to watch England beat Brazil 5-0. Oh did that not happen? I must have been dreaming again.
The Hotel bar is pleasant, but pricey compared to other bars in Lagos, although they do have a Happy Hour from 6-8 when certain drinks are reduced. They also have entertainment and show sports, but the crowd tended to be a little older – Club 18-30 won’t be sending guests here anytime soon.

Breakfast is served from 7.30-10.30 and is buffet style, offering a superb range of hot and cold food, which is regularly replenished. Bacon, beans, eggs, fresh fruits, cereals, toast, and the typical continental fare can all be munched on here. Special mention to Cristina, who always welcomed us with a smile (pretty lady too!), and doubled up as a waitress in the excellent Patio Restaurant in the evening. Here you can find fresh fish, grilled meats and fine wines in a very ambient and peaceful outdoor setting.

The service throughout the hotel was superb, we had taxis booked, restaurants recommended and bags happily carried and (stored safely on the final day) for us. Complaints I have read about staff must only be related to unreasonable requests or demands: Can you book me an airship to Lisbon, I want to see the whole city, be wined and dined, and be back for the footy at 5pm…What, you don’t have an airship? This is disgraceful! Fellow guests I chatted to around the pool and at breakfast could also find no fault with the service.

The pool was medium size, and although there are plenty of sun beds, it did seem there were never enough for the number of people at the hotel. They do however have an excellent policy of removing the cancer of towels draped over unused sun beds for hours on end, and there were no screaming babies or children around to disturb the tranquillity.

Bedrooms are of adequate size, and this is where spare renovation pennies should be found and used wisely, as they look rather tired and out-dated. The televisions and curtains belong on the aforementioned 1940s airship, although the air-conditioning worked well, and our room was cleaned on a daily basis. On the first morning when we were lazy and kindly asked the maid not to disturb us (nothing too kinky, just sleeping, honest), a lovely note was pushed under the door asking us to call reception by 4pm if we wanted a later clean- another sign of good customer service.

Finally, the hotel offers an hourly bus shuttle to the main beach, Meia Praia, which is a beautiful stretch of golden sand and lobster-coloured tourists. The Tivoli has a private section of the beach called Duna Club, where the sunbeds are free, but the separate pool area will charge you for their seating. This feels like a bit of a con, but if you’re that upset about it you can roll around on the beach then jump in the pool and get sand everywhere – actions speak louder than words after all.

In summary, the Tivoli is a fantastically located hotel in a charming town with a good pool, a tasty breakfast and friendly service - perfect for a relaxing beach holiday. Now, where can I find an Airship around here…

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Woofinderdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a few words to thank you for your most comprehensive review after your recent holiday at the Tivoli Lagos!
Look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked with Saga as we were originally having my elderly parents accompany us and they wanted the reassurance of a representative if required, especially if myself and my partner had gone out for the day. Unfortunately my father was not able to make the holiday.

Everything was very well organised. On arrival at Faro our transport was waiting for us. We got rooms over looking the pool area that we had requested. The hotel was in a superb location for visiting the town, bus station etc. There was a good selection of food in the restaurant.

We met Jackie our holiday representative the following morning, she was very helpful and was very knowledgeable, giving us lots of invaluable information and a tour of the town. This really helped especially the bus time tables and where to get the buses. Although Jackie lives out we could contact her anytime. We had a lovely gala meal on our last night with her. She was able to get everyone talking with each other. It was like sitting with old friends! It was nice as she was very kind and sympathetic to my elderly mother.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room over looking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelda5746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Zelda,
Thank you for your most kind review which we will be sharing with Jackie.
Cordially yours,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing