We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel! ”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 18th to 25th July in room 214. The rooms were fantastic if not entirely up to date in terms of decor. All of the rooms we had (living room, bathroom and bedroom) were spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything you could need.
Staff were fantastic, especially Ilsa who works in the bar and who our son (aged one) fell in love with. She danced with him every evening!
We stayed Bed and Breakfast and the breakfasts were always full and varied.
The pool area was great as it had a toddler area.
A fabulous service was the free bus to the hotel's Duna Beach area as the beach was amazing with white sand and free loungers and tables on the beach.
The hotel's location is also great as within a five to ten minutes walk you are right in the centre of Lagos.
We would definitely recommend the Tivoli and would return here for another wonderful holiday!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mandafrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Mandafrenzy,
Many thanks for choosing the TIVOLI LAGOS for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We were happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay in all aspects and intend to return. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Cordially yours,
Miguel Alves, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 3,315 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

1st ever review on trip advisor so short and sweet.

Bit of a last min hotel booking after a recommendation by a friend who stayed a month previously.

Stayed B and B and couldn't complain. Plenty of choice at breaky and loads of places to eat out locally with 3/4 min walk. Also went over the bridge to the marina a few times as well to eat.

Was my girls 2nd birthday whilst there and we came back one night greeted to some bubbly and a cake! Really nice touch.

The place is very clean, everywhere and you can see cleaners/maids clearly taking pride of the place.

Only improvement I would say could be made was for a bit of kiddies entertainment during the day or install a little play park/games room somewhere in the hotel.

Overall great hotel, great location and a fantastic place for a relaxing traditional local algarve stay.

Room Tip: Room over the indoor pool was spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wrightsbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Wrightsbfc,
Thank you for sharing your experience about the Tivoli Lagos. Nice to read that, overall, you have enjoyed your holiday with us and intend to return. Although we offer a Kids Club at the Duna Beach, your comments regarding kiddies entertainment at the hotel will be taken in consideration for the future.
We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again.
Cordially yours,
Miguel Alves, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is fine. 3 star and basic. But meets needs. In the center, great location. The shuttle to the beach is nice too. Don't expect to have wifi though. They try and charge you 15 euro a day which you can avoid by becoming a member (hopefully at the end of the trip we won't have a scary bill). The connection is so bad, that you can connect 1 out of every 10 attempts, you get kicked out regularly and can not actually do anything important if you need to connect for work, which I have to, unfortunately,. For this day and age. Not acceptable. In fact it has taken me 4 attempts just to send this review.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Christine D,
Many thanks for letting us know about your experience at the Tivoli Lagos, specifically about the quality of the internet connection provided during your stay. We have shared your opinion with our IT staff in order to improve our levels of service in this respect, which we realize has become of paramount importance to our clients. Despite the above, we are happy to learn that there were aspects of your holiday that you found enjoyable.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
With best regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit and we have booked again for October. This hotel is so central to everything that is good about Lagos. The bus to the Duna Beach is just a wonderful hourly service with the shaded sunbeds an added bonus. The rooms are so clean and kept like this by th efficient service throughout our stay. This visit my husband had a significant birthday and without being told th hotel surprised us with champagne and a cake courtesy of the manager. What a lovely touch. We would recommend this hotel for a great holiday destination in beautiful Lagos.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mgough56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear mgough56,
Just a few words to thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Tivoli Lagos.
We appreciate your preference on our services and look forward to welcoming you again for yet another memorable holiday in Lagos.
Cordially Yours,
Miguel Alves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very good location, near the beaches and centre of town. Good facilities and evening entertainment. Our room was small but suitable for a couple, it had a small balcony. No long mirror in the room nor a trouser press. The bathroom was small, good enough for one person at a time. Did not get any toiletries the second day of our stay. Breakfast was adequate, but no good fresh coffee was available nor fresh orange juice. If you took any food out of the restaurant there was a charge of 20 Euros, a penalty! You will have to pay for security box in the bedroom, as well as 15Euros per day for Wi-Fi. Parking is free if you wish but to be secure you will have to pay 3Euros per day. You might need a map to find your room! Hotel is on different levels.

Room Tip: Higher floors get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CALEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Calemr
We are sorry to learn that our hotel did not meet your expectations and regret your disappointment. However, we are happy to learn that there were other aspects of your stay that you found to be enjoyable.
Perhaps in the future you will consider to visit us again and then will remember the Tivoli Lagos for all the right reasons. In the afirmative, perhaps you can drop me a line in advance to htlagos@tivolihotels.com
With best regards.
Miguel Alves
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice, to gate crash my parents holiday for a few days. Having found their hotel very pricey (the yellow hotel) cold and minimalist we saw the Tivoli online and thought it was a good price in a good location. Whilst we did not have exceptionally high expectations, we do like good standards and we were not disappointed. In fact this hotel was fantastic: in terms of location, cleanliness, ambience, service, staff attitude and amenities.

From our perspective it was an unexpected good find, that I would and have recommended to friends and family. In fact my parents preferred this hotel to their own in some respects. There was an indoor and outdoor pool. The indoor pool also had a gym, sauna and jacuzzi that was usually empty. There were chill out spaces all around the hotel. It was relaxed and friendly.

We arrived very late and having been shown to our room, asked if we could change rooms having mistakenly booked a twin rather than a double. With no hesitation the reception staff allocated us a new room and the concierge escorted us (again) to our room. Both the rooms we saw were of good standard, clean and with a good bathroom and shower. The decor may not be as modern as some might expect but was typical Mediterranean style.

The hotel was central to Lagos and much more convenient than my parents hotel (out on the strip). Lagos was a lovely town and I hope remains so, without becoming another Albufeira! There is more than one beach to choose from, plenty of good restaurants and bars.

When we return to Lagos, we will be staying at The Tivoli again.

Room Tip: Look out for deals on the web. If your not happy with your room then ask to change, they seem happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJCBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear AJCBridgend,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experienceafter your recent stay at the Tivoli Lagos - an Hotel full of character.
We were indeed very happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in all aspects. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again and soon.
Cordially yours,
Miguel Alves, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I have just returned from Lagos, in Portugal. I`ve been going to Lagos for 26/27 years now, so that will tell you how nice I think the resort is.
I stayed at the Tivoli Hotel again, for the 7th or 8th time.
The Tivoli is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I usually stay on a b & b basis, as I like to eat out at some of the terrific restaurants in Lagos.
The breakfast at the Tivoli is probably the best I`ve ever seen offered, with a wide range of food of every type, unequalled, to me.
The staff were ALL exceptionally nice, very polite and courteous at all times and the evening entertainment certainly rounded off a great day.
I am now looking forward to my next stay at the TIVOLI. Alan Jones.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Allen J,
Thank you very much for your most kind and favourable review after yet another enjoyable holiday at the Tivoli Lagos. Your preference and patronage over the years is higly appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming youback and soon.
With best personal regards,
Miguel Alves,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £55 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing