We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Plain Jane with Great Personality”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Plain Jane with Great Personality”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Don't get me wrong, what this hotel does right is super. Lovely staff, pleasant simple rooms, clean linens, good food, nice location.
However, in 2014 to find a hotel that cannot comfortably facilitate (a) wheelchair bound or (b) small children/baby with buggy/pram is a serious disappointment. I am lead to believe there are no disabled bedrooms with disabled bathrooms on the premises.
We stayed here in a large group - youngest was 8 months, eldest was 80+ years. I really enjoyed the week we spent here - but everything was a mammoth task - getting in and out of the hotel, even getting around the hotel with the number of steps and levels within the complex. Wear sensible walking shoes!!
The hotel is a 10 minute pleasant walk from the hub of activity in Lagos, which itself is wonderful.
The beach is a 12 minute drive away - the beach is lovely but the beach 'club' that the Tivoli is a member of, the one day we visited was a shambles - service and quality of food were appalling. The only apology they offered was that they were unaware the hotel was so busy.
Some investment and updating/upgrading is required or this hotel will be in danger of losing loyal and regular customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackToBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear BackToBlonde,
Thank you for review and for sharing your experience with us. I apologize if the hotel service and some of the facilities did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have shared your comments with the staff to ensure that we will take the necessary steps to overcome the shortcomings you mentioned.
Despite the above, I hope that there were other aspects of the holiday that you have found to be enjoyable.
With best regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    1,364
    578
    212
    118
See reviews for
424
1,633
192
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had chosen the cheapest room in the hotel and was pleasantly surprised by its size. The hotel staff were pleasant and friendly and the meals excellent. The breakfast provided was extensive and a great start to any day.The pool was lovely and there was always an adequate suppy of loungers available. The hourly bus to and from the beach (again with loungers provided) was also really handy. The hotel was central to all amenities and was just as described on the web; I will be going back.

Room Tip: The web site warns in advance that (the cheapest) some rooms have steps involved in their access, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear paddy k
Thank you for your review and kind comments about the Tivoli Lagos.
We were happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us.
Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and soon.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

... the photo of the pool leading straight out on to a beach is the sister hotel, a 10 minute (courtesy) bus ride away. If you want to sit by that pool it will cost you 10 euros per sunbed.

Hotel itself was quite nice. Very large with lots of lounges etc. but a very small pool area, compared to the size of the hotel and a massive shortage of sunbeds. People were getting up early to reserve them with towels - we finally succumbed to doing the same thing only to have our's removed by the hotel the third time we tried it as they suddenly decided to enforce their 'no reservation' rule.

Service was pretty good at the outset, but was very slow by the end of our stay.

Good location and rooms OK but they need to create more outside space and significantly more sunbeds.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Bree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear 123Bree,
I thank you for your review and for the opportunity given to clarify what seems have been overlooked during your stay at the Tivoli Lagos which, instead of a sister hotel on the beach offers superb beach club facilities. The Duna Beach Club is located at the Meia Praia Beach, offering the hotel guests the possibility of choosing the free loungers&shades of its private licensed beach or the alternative of being pampered (at a small charge) in the loungers around the swimming pool (overlooking the beach and the sea). The Duna Beach facilities also includes a restaurant&bar, changing cabins & showers. On top of this, a courtesy bus (only for hotel guests) runs every half an hour (in Summer) between the hotel and beach club.
Back to the hotel pool, I very much regret the criticism about the situation of guests leaving towels to reserve chairs around the hotel pool. This is of great concern to the Management, specially when the hotel enjoys full capacity in the pick season. Besides the policy of the Hotel -- a "pls refrain from it…" note is spread out by the pool terrace, -- the majority of guests overlook it.
Despite the above, am glad to learn from your kind review that there were others aspects of the holiday that you found to be enjoyable.
With best regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Suffice to say they charge 3 euro a day to use the safe and the wifi is completely useless (one has to fill a membership form). Come on!!! The waiters are beyond hopeless and the Eastern Europeans among them quite rude actually.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farjola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Farjola P,
Very much regret to read from your review that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Despite the above, I hope that there were other aspects of the holiday that you have found to be enjoyable.
With best regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Dont be fooled by the photo of the pool and palm trees overlooking the sea, this photo is not tivoli hotel but a picture of a different hotel by the beach. The pool is small in the hotel but ok, I never got a sun lounger once in seven days, I was not going to get up at 7am to put my towel down, the room was dated, small and smelly with a tv that was smaller than my laptop, the hotel has over 2000 rooms so if your unlucky you could have a long walk to your room, there is no free wi fi in the hotel but you can get it for a charge. The plus points are the staff are very friendly, breakfast has a good choice but the same every day and the location is good for the town centre for shopping and eating. i went with my son and made the best of it as there was not much for kids to do at the hotel, be warned this hotel is one hour drive from faro airport, make sure you have transfers, it cost me £100 in a taxi one way. Good luck.

Room Tip: stay away from 604 road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear glen l
I regret to learn your disappointment after your recent stay at the Tivoli Lagos and would like to take this opportunity to explain that:
The Tivoli Lagos with its 324 rooms is a surprising complex of 9 small buildings of peculiar architecture, designed in the style of a small village, interconnected by superb gardens, arches and patios around a central swimming pool, health club with indoor pool, creating a unique and welcoming atmosphere.
Besides, our offer is complemented by the DUNA BEACH CLUB overlooking the sea in the "Meia Praia" Beach; The Duna Beach, with its pool, restaurant & bar and privately licenced beach, is part of the Tivoli Lagos and is served (every half an hour, in Summer) by a courtesy bus from the Tivoli Lagos (two miles away).
Apart from the above, I noted with pleasure your thoughts about the staf, the good choice at breakfast and naturally the charming of Lagos - the town.
With Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

This is so far from 4star. It's more like a motel. Rooms are very old. Think 80's style including tiny tv that doesn't show full picture. My room smelt like old socks and no amount of airing could get rid of the odour.
You have to get up at 8am and put your towel by the pool or all the loungers are gone. Simply crazy that people get away with this and hold the chairs until lunch without using them.
Wifi is the worst I ever had.
Lagos is nice but you can do better than this hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank gembawamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear gembawamba,
We very much regret to learn from your review that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As it is not the intention of the Tivoli Hotels & Resorts to have dissatisfied guests, perhaps, if some day you intend to come back to the Algarve and to Lagos in particular you will care to make us another visist so that we can ensure that you will remember the Tivoli Lagos for all the right reasons.
With best regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

One week stay with our 12 year old grand daughter. A good choice- Lagos itself is very relaxed with pedestrianised areas and a nice family vibe- plenty of restaurants and good beaches in easy reach. The hotel could do with some redecoration externally but internally its pretty good and kept spotlessly clean. As GHA Discovery Platinum members we had free wifi ( poor reception!) a room upgrade and late check out - all of which made the stay more attractive. Service was a bit variable with some excellent staff and a few grumpy ones!
Breakfast had great choice although the quality of the cooked offering was nothing to write home about. We didn't try the main restaurant in the evening although other guests gave generally good responses in terms of value for money. We did go to the a la carte restaurant once and regretted it greatly- quality of the food was good but service was dire- after two hours we were still waiting for our first course dishes to be cleared away- we do enjoy a relaxed dinner but that was extreme-we were offered some additional drinks on the house but declined and left with a hefty bill and a grumpy mood.
Our restaurant experience did not spoil our week where we enjoyed the pool, appreciated the excellent beach shuttle giving access to free recliners and sun shades (normal cost 10 euros per person) and the delightful pool at the Beach Club-which was a nice contract to the cold Atlantic waters!

Room Tip: Club room upgrade is worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel A, General Manager at Tivoli Lagos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear wejd,
Thank you for your kind review after your stay at the Tivoli Lagos. Nice to read that, overall, you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Your comments regarding your experience at the "à la carte" Restaurant Pateo Velho were noted with much regret and I've already shared them with the Staff, as our as our overriding goal is always to provide guests with efficient and quality service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our Tivoli Hotels & Resorts.
Kind regards,
Miguel Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing