We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place and the best hosts you can get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School
Ranked #25 of 63 Lagos B&B and Inns
Goettingen
2 reviews
“wonderful place and the best hosts you can get”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is without doubt one of the best places I've stayed.The house is very beautiful, bright and very clean!there are common areas,a great kitchen you can use,a beautiful garden area and very clean rooms.The atmosphere is very nice,welcoming, warm and relaxing.It's about 10min walk away from the city centre and perfect to visit all the beaches..which are not far awa.2 supermarkets are just 3min away, a ATM as well.the guesthouse is located in a nice and quiet area. The breakfast is unbelievable good, also the coffee..:-) they don't have many rooms, so it s very very nice and familiar. Alex and Maija are very very friendly and helpfull,great hosts and they ll give you all the information you need and do their best to make your stay the best stay ever. I actually wanted to stay 2 nights, I stayed now 9 nights and I was sad that I had to leave. I stayed in a 3bed-room and we had enough space, good beds, and a big balkony..the other rooms are double rooms I guess.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Hi Christin,


thank you so much for your heart melting comments. We aboslutely loved having you here, and you made it into our top 3 favorite guests ever :)) We loved having you around, and how every morning you asked us for one night longer. It made us very proud to see that you just couldn´t leave :))

There should be a "GuestAdvisor" review site, because, from us, you would get a 100% positive review.

We would love meeting you again sometime,

Best

Alexandre & Maija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    12
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The first thing that struck me about the flow house, other than it being a gorgeous place was that Alex is a fantastic host. The consummate professional he gave us all the information we needed and some invaluable restaurant tips and beach information. (his tip for where to eat cataplana, lead to a delightful 3 hour relax in this excellent restaurant enjoying the atmosphere and wonderful food)

We stayed in the 3 bed room which was spacious and had a lovely balcony. The beds were very comfy, with immaculate sheets.

The shared bathrooms were large, spotlessly clean and the upstairs one in particular was a great space.

The communal areas were stunning and the garden provided an excellent spot for a debrief of the days lazy or indeed active beach endeavours. With a shop 2mins walk away it was easy to stock up for an early evening beer in the sunshine on the sofa.

Breakfast was simple but delicious fresh local bread each day and he even made it early for us the day we left.

The house is about 15mins walk to lovely beaches, we tried a different one each day and about the same length to the town. I would say, if you are over 21 and not australian (no offence intended) avoid the main town bars late in the evening. There are however plenty of lovely restaurants to fill the void though.

We also did a surf lesson organised with Alex and this was great too, my muscles have never ached so badly but it was a great day.

All in all, I would certainly return to the Flow House.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Hi Nikki!!

I hope you´ve recovered your sore surfing muscles :)))

Thank you for your fantastic review, we appreciate it. It means a lot to us, learning that you had a great time here at the Flow House, that´s why we´re in business, to see you leaving with a smile on your face, even if a little "beat up" from the surf lessons :)))

Looking forward to meeting you again, we´d love to be your hosts again!

GuestAdvisor score :100%

Best

Alexandre & Maija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed six nights in June 2012 at the Flowhouse in Lagos and it was even better than expected. When we arrived we were welcomed by Alexandre and Maija, the owners of the house, who firstly explained everything to us: how to get from the Flowhouse into the Center, where to eat, where to go out, what day trips they recommend. They are both very friendly and affectionate. After the information they showed us around the house which is exeptionally clean and cosy. There is a well equipped kitchen, a dining table, a community room, a bathroom and a lovely garden with more tables outside on the ground floor. Upstairs there are 4 rooms, a computer desk for Internet use, another community corner with TV and DVD player and another shared bathroom. When Alexandre and Maija showed us our room (Zavial room) we got a very nice surprise: because we told them that our stay at Flowhouse is part of our honeymoon they decorated our bed with rose petals and gave us a bottle of sparkling and a present from a romantic shop in Lagos. That was so cute! We felt like staying at a friend's place. We had a really good time at the Flowhouse. Our room was clean and comfortable and also had a nice balcony. We loved the breakfast on the garden terrace. For breakfast they offer coffee, tea, two different kinds of juice, yogurt, cheese, cold meat, nice bread (I think they get it fresh from the bakery each day) and sweets. If you feel like scrambled egg or something, you can make it on your own in the kitchen. Two supermarkets are just around the corner from the hostel and are even open on Sundays. The walk into town takes around 15 minutes, but is easy and nice to walk. The beaches of Lagos are not far away either. We had a rental car and always found space to park infront of the hostel. When we booked the Flowhouse we were not sure if the hostel is maybe only used by Surfers and we didn't want to surf, but there were several other travellers who stayed there and did not participate in the Surf lessons (but we heard that they are very good). We met very nice people at the place and would recommend it to all our friends who want to go to Lagos. We might come back as well. Thank you for everything, Alexandre & Maija!

Room Tip: The Zavial room is right infront of the shared bath room upstairs, so you it is really not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frieda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Maria-Christina,


thank you so much for your kind, affectionate words. It was an honor for us that you chose our house to come for such a very special moment in anyone´s life, which was your honeymoon.

Many many best wishes for you and your husband, and a long, happy marriage with lots of kids to you both :)

Maija and I have decided to award you a GuestAdvisor score of 100%, and we´ll be delighted to meet you again sometime!

Best

Alexandre & Maija @ Flow House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed for four days at the Flow House around June/July with two friends. The house and rooms are very clean, open and bright. The owners are great and super friendly and gave us great recommendations for beaches and restaurants when we arrived. The breakfast is also very good (great bread!), the garden great for some after-surfing relaxation, and the common bathrooms are spacious and clean.

The house is located a bit outside the city centre and old town, but it's only a 15 minute walk to the old town walls, and the area is quiet and near several great beaches.

If I missed anything it would be a/c and private bathroom. But we made a chose to not stay at an un-personal hotel or a more noisy/younger/sandy/party-surf-camp, and we were definitely very, very happy with our choice. The Flow house was the perfect combination with an relaxed atmosphere, and friendly, sporty people! Would definitively come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisehelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at the Flow House during a recent trip to Spain/Portugal and have to say it was one of the highlights of my trip. The hosts extremely welcoming and the house is spotless. The house is located on a quiet residential street, with nearby grocery stores, ATM and a few small cafes. It has a light, airy atmosphere and the rooms are large. Most importantly, the beds are very comfortable and supplied with a high-quality duvet and clean linens. The bathrooms were clean and well equipped and the common areas both inside and out were extremely relaxing. If Alex recommends a restaurant, take his word for it, he won't steer you wrong. The food I had in the Algarve was the best of my entire trip, I'm planning to be back in the fall for more surfing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Flowhouse is a spacious, calm villa about 10-15 minutes walk from the centre/old town of Lagos. We stayed in the Amado (en suite double) room which was wonderful: spotless, comfortable and represented excellent value for the price. The owners Alexandre and Maija are also exceptionally hospitable, polite and prompt in communication and full of useful tips and recommendations. Overall an outstanding experience - even more so in the budget/b&b bracket.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VB1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino, Italia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This place feels like home, really. Rooms are nice and cosy, and there is a kitchen that guests can use whenever and however they want. If you are concerned about the shared bathrooms don't worry, because they are really cleaned and they get washed every day.
The owners are fantastic and very gentle, definitely follow their suggestions about the places to visit and the restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PietroP91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Hi Pietro,


Greetings from sunny Lagos!

Thank you for your great review, we´re very happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We liked having you around, you are a very nice group of guys and girls, maybe the best thing to come out of Italy since the Vespa ?? :)))) You are definetly some of our best Italian guests, and we would love to meet you again in the future.

GuestAdvisor score 100%

Alexandre & Maija @ Flow House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
0.2 mi away
Chill'inn Guest House Lagos
0.1 mi away
Lagos Charming House
Lagos Charming House
#30 of 63 in Lagos
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa do Sol Algarve
Casa do Sol Algarve
#66 of 133 in Lagos
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Wave Guest House
Blue Wave Guest House
#21 of 63 in Lagos
8 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lagos Marina Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School

Property: Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School
Address: Lt. 34 Rua dos Taxistas, Lagos 8600-579, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, just a 10 min walk from Lagos historic XV century city wall as well as its restaurants and nightlife, the Flow House is a spacious and comfortable villa, tailored to fit your expectations and provide you with the perfect place to recharge your batteries after your holiday activities. Several beaches, such as Porto de Mós, can be found within a 10min walk from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing