We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterile & cold, MUCH nicer places to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School
Ranked #27 of 73 Lagos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Besides a difficult situation with a double booking on my part which was dealt with when we arrived, this guesthouse leaves a lot to be desired.
It has a 1979s feel. It is cold and sterile with very little comfort and lacks any atmosphere whatsoever.
The breakfast was, however, lovely (meats, cheese, cereals, bread & yoghurts) but the kitchen area lacked any warmth or comfort and had echo of emptiness.
the rooms & bathrooms were very clean and spacious with balconies and average views.
There are plenty of beautiful relaxing, warm & friendly hostels & guesthouses in Lagos that would go above and beyond for their guests so I would not recommend visitors to stay here. Also the hosts are too formal and make the guests feel like they are intruding into their house which isn't what a holiday is about.
As I said, there was a unpleasant difficulty with booking but either way this hasn't tainted my view on the quality of the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

This is a revenge review. Guests Colleen and Eoghan made a duplicate reservation, which they refused to cancel till the day they left. They were upset because we wanted to charge them the late cancelation penalty, and they tried every thing they could not to pay this penalty. After a long, senseless argument, i offered to lower the penalty, and ended up charging them only 50% of the penalty. Apparentely, this was not enough for them, as we can see from this revenge review. We had a loss in income due to their duplicate booking, yet we offered them a discount penalty, and they still write a bad review, makes me think we should have charged 100%. And it is clear, from thir review, that they are in NOOOO way trying to get back at us :/
We have reported them to Guest Advisor website so that other Hotels will know what kind of clients they are, and be prepared to deal with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

It's a wonderful place to spend holiday in! Not only is it high-standard hotel that welcomes you warmly but also a proffesional surf house that organizes as well as recommends additional attractions. Whole-heartedly recommeded!
PS. Sorry for the delay :) Cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Very welcoming atmosphere, with knowledgable, caring hosts. We had the Armona Room, which is a spacious, nicely furnished double ensuite situated in an extra bungalow in the garden - used to be the pool and billiard room and has been newly constructed in 2012. The garden was our favorite place to eat and chill out. The house was extremely clean and nicely furnished as well. Kitchen is well equipped, storage room and fridge space available. Breakfast was yummy and plenty. The house lies in a quiet residential area, it is NOT a party house. It is about 10 minutes to the beaches (plus taking the stairs or - more remotely - climbing down) and to town.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and also took a two day surf course with their partners, algarve watersport (dot) com. Thanks to the hosts for the great stay!

Susanne and Henric, Germany

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supersanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Flow House was much more then we expected. The house is lovely and the rooms are perfect for longer stays. We have been traveling for 3 months and this was by far the best breakfast on offer at a guesthouse. The owners are warm and incredibly helpful, full of useful information about Lagos. If you don't believe this review check out our travel blog where we wrote even more, www.westcoastnomads.com

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having access to our own little balcony, we spent most of our time out there. A fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Hi Emah!!

thank you for your glowing comments about the Flow House, and we loved reading your article about our house on your travel blog westcoastnomads, and also find the other articles documenting your Euro trip very entertaining and informative.

I know that Canada is far away, but we´d love to see you again sometime. Anytime you´re in the "neighborhood", we´ll be delighted to find a great room for you :))

Best

Alexandre @ Flow House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is without doubt one of the best places I've stayed.The house is very beautiful, bright and very clean!there are common areas,a great kitchen you can use,a beautiful garden area and very clean rooms.The atmosphere is very nice,welcoming, warm and relaxing.It's about 10min walk away from the city centre and perfect to visit all the beaches..which are not far awa.2 supermarkets are just 3min away, a ATM as well.the guesthouse is located in a nice and quiet area. The breakfast is unbelievable good, also the coffee..:-) they don't have many rooms, so it s very very nice and familiar. Alex and Maija are very very friendly and helpfull,great hosts and they ll give you all the information you need and do their best to make your stay the best stay ever. I actually wanted to stay 2 nights, I stayed now 9 nights and I was sad that I had to leave. I stayed in a 3bed-room and we had enough space, good beds, and a big balkony..the other rooms are double rooms I guess.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Hi Christin,


thank you so much for your heart melting comments. We aboslutely loved having you here, and you made it into our top 3 favorite guests ever :)) We loved having you around, and how every morning you asked us for one night longer. It made us very proud to see that you just couldn´t leave :))

There should be a "GuestAdvisor" review site, because, from us, you would get a 100% positive review.

We would love meeting you again sometime,

Best

Alexandre & Maija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The first thing that struck me about the flow house, other than it being a gorgeous place was that Alex is a fantastic host. The consummate professional he gave us all the information we needed and some invaluable restaurant tips and beach information. (his tip for where to eat cataplana, lead to a delightful 3 hour relax in this excellent restaurant enjoying the atmosphere and wonderful food)

We stayed in the 3 bed room which was spacious and had a lovely balcony. The beds were very comfy, with immaculate sheets.

The shared bathrooms were large, spotlessly clean and the upstairs one in particular was a great space.

The communal areas were stunning and the garden provided an excellent spot for a debrief of the days lazy or indeed active beach endeavours. With a shop 2mins walk away it was easy to stock up for an early evening beer in the sunshine on the sofa.

Breakfast was simple but delicious fresh local bread each day and he even made it early for us the day we left.

The house is about 15mins walk to lovely beaches, we tried a different one each day and about the same length to the town. I would say, if you are over 21 and not australian (no offence intended) avoid the main town bars late in the evening. There are however plenty of lovely restaurants to fill the void though.

We also did a surf lesson organised with Alex and this was great too, my muscles have never ached so badly but it was a great day.

All in all, I would certainly return to the Flow House.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Hi Nikki!!

I hope you´ve recovered your sore surfing muscles :)))

Thank you for your fantastic review, we appreciate it. It means a lot to us, learning that you had a great time here at the Flow House, that´s why we´re in business, to see you leaving with a smile on your face, even if a little "beat up" from the surf lessons :)))

Looking forward to meeting you again, we´d love to be your hosts again!

GuestAdvisor score :100%

Best

Alexandre & Maija

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed six nights in June 2012 at the Flowhouse in Lagos and it was even better than expected. When we arrived we were welcomed by Alexandre and Maija, the owners of the house, who firstly explained everything to us: how to get from the Flowhouse into the Center, where to eat, where to go out, what day trips they recommend. They are both very friendly and affectionate. After the information they showed us around the house which is exeptionally clean and cosy. There is a well equipped kitchen, a dining table, a community room, a bathroom and a lovely garden with more tables outside on the ground floor. Upstairs there are 4 rooms, a computer desk for Internet use, another community corner with TV and DVD player and another shared bathroom. When Alexandre and Maija showed us our room (Zavial room) we got a very nice surprise: because we told them that our stay at Flowhouse is part of our honeymoon they decorated our bed with rose petals and gave us a bottle of sparkling and a present from a romantic shop in Lagos. That was so cute! We felt like staying at a friend's place. We had a really good time at the Flowhouse. Our room was clean and comfortable and also had a nice balcony. We loved the breakfast on the garden terrace. For breakfast they offer coffee, tea, two different kinds of juice, yogurt, cheese, cold meat, nice bread (I think they get it fresh from the bakery each day) and sweets. If you feel like scrambled egg or something, you can make it on your own in the kitchen. Two supermarkets are just around the corner from the hostel and are even open on Sundays. The walk into town takes around 15 minutes, but is easy and nice to walk. The beaches of Lagos are not far away either. We had a rental car and always found space to park infront of the hostel. When we booked the Flowhouse we were not sure if the hostel is maybe only used by Surfers and we didn't want to surf, but there were several other travellers who stayed there and did not participate in the Surf lessons (but we heard that they are very good). We met very nice people at the place and would recommend it to all our friends who want to go to Lagos. We might come back as well. Thank you for everything, Alexandre & Maija!

Room Tip: The Zavial room is right infront of the shared bath room upstairs, so you it is really not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frieda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowHouse, Owner at Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Maria-Christina,


thank you so much for your kind, affectionate words. It was an honor for us that you chose our house to come for such a very special moment in anyone´s life, which was your honeymoon.

Many many best wishes for you and your husband, and a long, happy marriage with lots of kids to you both :)

Maija and I have decided to award you a GuestAdvisor score of 100%, and we´ll be delighted to meet you again sometime!

Best

Alexandre & Maija @ Flow House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#39 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
391 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa do Joao
Casa do Joao
#1 of 1 in Barao de Sao Joao
14 reviews
0 mi away
Quinta das Barradas
Quinta das Barradas
#1 of 1 in Odiaxere
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School

Address: Lt. 34 Rua dos Taxistas, Lagos 8600-579, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range: £42 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, just a 10 min walk from Lagos historic XV century city wall as well as its restaurants and nightlife, the Flow House is a spacious and comfortable villa, tailored to fit your expectations and provide you with the perfect place to recharge your batteries after your holiday activities. Several beaches, such as Porto de Mós, can be found within a 10min walk from the front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flow House - Guesthouse & Surf Kite Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing