We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to relax and let go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was the perfect way for us to end a hectic trip of visiting family in Europe and sight seeing n Lisbon. What a beautiful spot! You have a choice of 4 pools and the beach! I'm not sure if my boyfriend was happier with the automatic blackout blinds ( operated like a garage door with the click of a button) or the infinity pools! The town of Lagos is very nice but being at this resort -about a 5-10 min taxi/drive to town away- allows you to feel like you are fair away from everything! The staff was great, had a laugh with everyone we met, but was also treated like you would expect at a luxury hotel! We will definitely be returning as our whole experience in Portugal was so good and we are happy with the gems we found there, the Belmar Spa & Beach Resort being one of them!

Room Tip: Every room has a great view of a pool, but having one on the ground floor allows you a large patio t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodTravellingLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a brilliant week in the resort. The staff we all very friendly and helpful. The apartments were stunning and our view from the balcony to the sea was amazing. The walk to the beach, which was really beautiful, was no more than 2 minutes. We had a perfect stay and already thinking of the soonest date for our return!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eclle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Me and three of my friends (25-29) have literally just returned from our holiday and could not wait to share our fabulous experience.

Absolutely everything about this hotel was wonderful. It was quiet and as such on a couple of the days we had our own private pool which was steps from our apartment. The apartment was amazing and was of very high quality.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant food was divine and not too pricey.

Just minutes from a lovely beach and a short drive from Lagos.

I would recommend this hotel (especially the blue lagoons) to anyone and we are already planning our next trip.

Thank you Belmar for a superb holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annabelllla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Just back from 12 days here in a 1 bed apartment. Super facilities in the hotel and apartment. Decor a little too blingy for my taste in the apartment but very comfortable. Everywhere is spotless. The place was really really quiet (in late May/early June)...which suited us...not having to share the pool or hydrotherapy pools was a real treat. The staff were lovely throughout. We only ate once via room service- it was fine, nothing to get excited about, but not bad. We never had breakfast.

I found the indoor pool too warm to do lengths in. The outdoor pools are refreshingly chilly for June!

Location is good - close by the beach and €5 into Lagos in a cab. The bus by the beach is handy too for getting into the old town or other beaches. Only downside location wise is that there's no store for getting a few provisions within easy walking distance.

My one bug bear with the hotel is the wi-fi - you have to ask for vouchers at the front desk and the vouchers are meant to last for 30 minutes - they rarely do and even at 30 minutes, it's a drag and not in-tune with how people use their phones/iPads etc.

But other than that it's a top class 4 star.

Lagos is a great town. Great restaurants (Casinha do Petisco was our best experience), super wine and all great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BitofaPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

A top apart hotel fantastic rooms and service very near a lovely beach cove so you can see the ocean while relaxing around the gorgeous pool areas, great for couples or a baby in the poolside studios lovely Caprimar restaurant on beach other beach restaurant is average holiday food quality, chips with everything. Hotel restaurant is top class and recommend having breakfast, town is 20mins walk further to Marina but 5 euro for taxi or bus 1.60 trip or 3.60 all day and every hour. Great restaurants in town such as no patio excellent food and in Marina and on the beach near Marina that will provide a return shuttle to Belmar. Highly recommend this holiday

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryDonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the Belmar for 5 nights in one of the studios. The resort itself is spotless and the apartments are very well equipped but the hotel was a bit too lacking personality for us. We wanted a quiet few days after driving down from Lisbon and quiet it was! We never saw any one in the bar ( inside near reception, apparently there is a pool bar but it is not open yet) or restaurant, it was lacking a buzz . We had a hire car and I have to say if we didn't I would have felt really trapped as there are only 2 restaurants near by on the beach and the Belmar appears to be in a residential backwater with Lagos town centre is quite a trek away. Again I can not fault the standard of apartment but feel they are really missing a trick and this could be a fantastic place to stay. Would not return purely due to location and lack of any kind of buzz

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LondonLucyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I recently returned from the Belmar spa resort. I went over for a 6 night break with my dad. We have been to Portugal many, many times. (About 12 we calculated) and always stay around Lagos so we knew what to expect in regards to the location and the nearby attractions.

We arrived at the resort and instantly, it seemed finished to a really high quality, the reception / bar area is very modern and bright and gorgeously decorated. The staff where very friendly.

We found out way to our apartment - we stayed in a two bedroom town house - which was SIMPLY GORGEOUS. Very modern, all black and cream. The only downside is the apartment has steep steps up to the first floor and then up onto the sun terrace (which was perfect for sunbathing), so maybe not ideal for families with young children or people with mobility difficulties. (The stairs from the reception area and inside the apart are quite poorly lit as well so just make sure you watch your step!) The apartment was well equipment with all you could need, and had a large TV with a lot of English channels which is always good.

The pool area was again lovely, lots of sunbeds and umbrellas if needed. The pool isn't heated so was slightly cold, but I'm sure in the summer this wouldn't be a problem. I went in the indoor pool and spa area (sauna, Turkish bath, jacuzzi etc) and this was again gorgeous! Very relaxing, and quiet with lovely high quality facilities.

There is a gym on site, this is quite small and only has one of everything (so one treadmill, one cross trainer, one bike etc) again this wasn't a problem as the resort wasn't full, but I'm not sure if this will be an issue in busier months. I attended three of the fitness classes during my staying, the circuit, the pilates and the toning class. The instructors for these where brilliant, really friendly and made me feel very welcome, there was a large selection of classes on offer and they all sounded very interesting to be honest, so definitely worth attending.

I had already booked a treatment before we went, a 'Chaka balancing massage' which was absolutely brilliant. The therapist - Sarah was very friendly, and professional, the spa rooms very beautifully decorated and very relaxing. Definitely money well spent.

We ate in the restaurant on site once, and the food was really nice, There will definitely be something for everyone of the the menu, and it was very reasonably priced. The prawn and monk fish kebab and the chocolate fondant are definitely worth trying.

Overall, a gorgeous hotel / resort, the only slight problem was that we had to go through reception every time of access our apartment, a back door or side entrance would be really useful, but this isn't exactly a major problem. I would definitely recommend / encourage other people to try this place out, its pretty much fault less.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarajones157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.8 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Spa & Beach Resort

Address: Estrada Do Porto Mos, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lagos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £79 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmar Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmar Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the beautiful beach of Porto de Mos in Lagos and comprises studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and two bedroom townhouses many of which have beach views. The fully equipped accommodation is of a high specification with luxurious interior design and includes satellite TV, DVD player, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette in the studio apartments). The Belmar Spa offers a wide range of luxurious spa rituals in addition to the indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and relaxing Chromotherapy suite. The outdoor leisure area comprises a tennis court/multipurpose sports pitch and a children's playground. There are four communal swimming pools, a children’s pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi and Hydrotherapy pool adjoining the spa. This luxury resort is just a five minute drive from the bustling town centre of Lagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmar Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Spa & Beach Hotel Lagos
Belmar Spa And Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing