We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
Ranked #1 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my first stay in a hostel and I must stay it was excellent. I came with two friends and we were all felt welcome from the first moment. It was clean, the decoration was nice, the food was great and most important of all the hosts were fantastic. They were helpful, kind and fun to be around. They always include you in the action whether it's by going out for drinks or dinner, or by organizing a BBQ. They'll try to help in any way they can without trying to get something in return. All in all, a great hostel and great people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caetano_kluyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    16
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
11
103
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I think that this is the best hostel on the world!! Awesome people that are so friendly and make u fell in a big family. A special greeting to Dexter,the manager,and Cameron,the surf's istructor.Thanks for all boysss

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlePond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

After traveling Europe for the past month this is by far the best hostel I have ever come across! You feel like you are coming into a home not a hostel! Sophie and Dexter are so friendly and give you great advice taking you out for dinner and going out of there way to make your stay as simple and comfortable as possible! Not to mention Sophie's baking everyday, best treats to come bAck to! BBQ Fridays is where it's at had such an enjoyable time and not a far walk into town! You will never want to leave!!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved every second!!
Sophie and Dexter are so much fun and cook a mean breakfast every morning (the best breakfast we've ever had in a hostel). They also organise house dinners which is a great way to hang out with everyone in the hostel. There's always freshly baked biscuits or slice at the front desk, perfect after the beach or a night out!

The hostel is only a short walk from the beach, and the central part of town. The atmosphere is super friendly and welcoming! Everyone that stayed in the hostel was awesome company.

This is the best hostel we've stayed at on our Europe trip! Thanks Sophie and Dexter for making our time in Lagos so memorable :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rach E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in Lagos with my girlfriend for nine days. This is hands down the best place I've stayed in throughout my 5 month travel through Europe. The house is amazing and relaxing. Location is perfect, just a 5 minute walk to the harbor and city. Breakfast is incredible and different each day. Dexter and Sophie are great! They help you with booking anything, as well as take you out to the nightlife as they are locals of the area. Had some group meals with the hostel as well which were awesome. Everyone who stayed there was friendly and open to meet new people. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was at Algarve Surf Hostel in Lagos about ten days ago just for three days… however enough time to enjoy a fantastic experience, just too short! Dexter and Sophie make sure you feel at home from the very first moment. They prepare delicious breakfast every day and organize memorable dinners and nights out. They manage to keep an excellent, super-fun atmosphere in-house. The hostel is great and everything is clean and nice. Surf lessons are excellent as well, liked very much the way Justin teaches. Everything’s highly recommended, can’t wait to be back there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Algarve surf hostel was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at, and I have been in many. Not only is the place awesome with it's pool and ping pong table but a beautiful environment. And it gets better...the staff is awesome! Sophie makes unreal food which is the end to a great day of surf, and Dexter and Cam are awesome guides. I stayed here with 10 friends and we all agree this place is unreal.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davealp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos

Property: Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
Address: Lote 55 Rua do Cerro das Mos, Lagos 8600-714, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing