We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total waste of money!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Total waste of money!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Didn't stay but went for lunch on Sunday 12th Feb 2012.
Only ones there! (6 of us) Waiter got pre- lunch drinks order wrong. Then he missed a starter for one of our friends. He was adamant she hadn't ordered it which we all know she had! She asked him for a 'soup' dish instead. He offered her consomme which she declined! We then waited over an hour for the 6 mains which were minimal and either overcooked or undercooked.
Altogether very,very disappointing as we had expected so much from this venue following all the hype.
My main of monkfish would hardly have fed a baby and at €27 was hardly cheap. We spend a lot of time in Portugal and have eaten in all levels of restaurants but this has to be one of the most over-rated ever! When my husband paid the bill they said his credit card wouldn't work so he tried another which supposedly didn't work either! They wanted cash only! We used the same card in another restaurant half an hour later for coffee etc and it worked perfectly.

Don't know what's going on there but it isn't good.

Carnegie. Luz, Portugal.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coc1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, Restaurant Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Coc1948
We were very disappointed to read your comments on TripAdvisor relating to your lunch on Sunday 12th February 2012 at the Mirandus Restaurant in the Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda.

I must sincerely apologise that our food and service did not meet your expectations on this afternoon, but must confess to be surprised, especially on discovering who your waiter was, as to date we have received nothing but praise and compliments on the quality of his attention and service.

With regard to the pre-dinner drink, he did make a genuine mistake by preparing a Gin & Tonic instead of the Campari requested, on discovering this error, he apologised on the spot and offered to replace it immediately with the correct drink. You declined his offer.

Unfortunately, I believe the missing starter was as a result of a language problem, as in Portugal, although many waiters speak good English, it is not always 100% perfect! His order sheet shows that he had taken each order one by one and written this down. The lady that missed ordering her starter, had mentioned the Vol au Vent in discussion but when her time came to order, she only ordered the main course. A genuine misunderstanding we believe.

It is a shame she declined the Consommé, as it is delicious.

We can only apologise for the wait for your main course, as you mentioned you were the only guests at this time. Our kitchen had just re-opened for the afternoon and as all of our ingredients are prepared fresh and from scratch, and in respect and appreciation of your booking, we offered you the choice of ordering from the lunch menu or the larger dinner menu.

Unfortunately, I can’t validate your comments on over- or under-cooked food. All was prepared and cooked according to temperatures as ordered. We were completely unaware of any problem or dissatisfaction with the food, as at the time, nothing was mentioned to our staff and everything was eaten, so of course we assumed everything was fine and you were happy. Had you mentioned something at the time, we would of course taken action to ensure your satisfaction.

We are a fine dining restaurant, and our portion size is of a high standard, it cannot however be compared with the size and quality portions offered in local Portuguese restaurants.

I would ask when you mention the circumstances of the payment problem, that you appreciate the truth of the situation. Yes it is true that your card did not work due to a connection problem, but with three employees behind the front desk I can reliably state that we never blamed your card or asked for cash. In these circumstances, we simply use the old fashioned swipe machine as we do if a power outage occurs.

Sadly, we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and for this I apologise. However, you will see that we have many, many other comments stating the absolute reverse and regularly more than surpass the expectations of guests who would never declare us “a total waste of money!” I would respectfully suggest that we have plenty of proof to the contrary.

Yours sincerely,
Markus Sterzenbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    43
    16
    17
    8
See reviews for
21
122
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
271 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Upon arrival, when you walk into the reception area you are immediately taken with the amazing views from the restaurant and outdoor paved area. This hotel is in a fantastic location, right on top of the cliffs, with the sound of the waves rolling in below. The views are spectacular, and the outdoor garden area is very well set up for all guests to enjoy the vista.

The rooms and the general decor are very traditional Portugese with a modern twist. All rooms seem to have opening out doors onto the garden area and the bathrooms are nice and clean/functional.

The hotel is only 10 mins walk from the beach area, and whilst this is up a steepish hill, it offers great views.

Whilst we were there I enjoyed a couple of treaments in the spa, these were simply superb! Very relaxing and very enjoyable!!!

The staff at this hotel are very attentive and made the whole visit very enjoyable. The Restaurant Manager was very good and the food delicious!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit this area of Portugal. I shall certainly be re-visiting!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weinfelden, Thurgau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Just great: hospitality, food, room, location... Everything nearly perfect. Wie had great times down there. Breathtaking view - cannot be beaten... Lots of Golfcourses within no time, marvellous beaches, Surfing Paradise - what more do you expect? SPA? No problem, included as well. Lagos itself is a lovely town with lots of nice restaurants, boat trips - do not forget people who love to take pictures: you can spend hours...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fredy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This proved to be a real find. The hotel has an excelent location overlooking the sea and Praia do Mos beach. Lagos is nearby although one needs a car to get there.

Most people staying at the hotel were couples and perhaps of a certain age although there were some younger couples. There were few families with young children, so it tended to be fairly peaceful.

We had a deluxe room with a lot of space. The standard rooms I understand can be on the small size. We had no air conditioning but that didn't matter as it was in a shady location and faced north. .

There is a requirement to have a specified number of meals if one is staying on a half board basis. Essentially this provides the centre of the evening as the dinners take almost 2 hours - there are 5 courses. This requirement is a bit of a restriction as there are many restaurants in Lagos - some more expensive, some cheaper.

The staff were very helpful with a good command of English.

The only real complaint is that the car park is small so getting out sometimes was a problem.

Would we return? Yes we would.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair1EastHorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We only visited the restaurant as it was recommended to us. The location is absolutely superb on a high cliff face overlooking the sea. Like many hotel restaurants, it flattered to deceive. The food looked lovely but was a little bland and uninspiring - not bad, but not up to the surroundings and on the pricey side. Service was friendly but not very competent - if you insist on leaving the wine off the table you need to be attentive enough to top up people's glasses - this didn't bother us too much but infuriated a couple sitting nearby. There are certainly better places to eat in the area, but definitely recommended for a cocktail or coffee in

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Piney69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, Restaurant Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We sincerely apologise that the meal did not meet your expectations on evening you spent with us. We were especially surprised to read your comments, given the positive feedback and appreciation that was expressed to us by other diners that evening. We received only compliments and positive feedback on the night.

We wish that you could have pointed out any issue you may have had to the Restaurant Manager on the night, so we would have had the opportunity to try to resolve matters to your satisfaction.

Please rest assured that it was unintentional that we did not refill your glass we will take note of your comments. However this is not usually the case as all our other reviews show.

We are however delighted that you appreciated our location and ambience.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Sterzenbach - Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We spent one night at the Vivenda Miranda attending a wedding. The hotel is in a lovely location and the wedding was fantastic. After reading the reviews about the lack of air conditioning, we rang the hotel and were told that their standard rooms all had air conditioning, therefore we booked a standard room. Our room (number 2) was small and basic, however it was clean and had a balcony with fantastic views of the ocean. The bathroom was tiny and the shower fell off the wall when it was in use. The air conditioning didn't work and we complained 3 times before we were told that it was broken and we were given a fan. As the hotel room was so small, all the fan did was blow hot air around the room. As a result, we did not get much sleep. We complained to the receptionist when we checked out and was very apologetic. She explained her manager was off that day but phoned the manager of their sister hotel, The Cascade. We explained the situation again and were told that they would refund us 20%. We did not feel that this was enough, however we agreed as we did not want to argue and waste anymore of our holiday. We have just returned to the UK and found out that they have only refunded 15%! Charming! It's a real shame about this hotel as it is in a lovely location, however without air conditioning they really should not be able to get away with the prices they charge. We would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Europesurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
We were of course pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your friend’s wedding and how fantastic you felt the event was. Of course we take great pride in ensuring that all is perfect for the couple’s special day. We also thought it was a terrific event with much merry making going on until late into the night. We regret very much the inconvenience you experienced in your room that night after the wedding. Unfortunately, the system that we have in the hotel for air conditioning also functions as a heating system in the cooler months and at that time of year the system still works on the heating cycle as in May the evenings are often a little chilly rather than warm, so we need to be able to heat the rooms should it be necessary. We do apologise of course, but technically we can only choose one of these options.

With regard to the shower, perhaps we should consider installing an extra shower holder for more flexibility should a guest find it difficult to manage the standard holder due to special requirements or infirmity of any kind so it is not necessary to use the overhead shower holder.

With regard to the discount differential that you mentioned, it is definitely not usual for us to give discounts as if in the unusual situation that a guest has any special requests, we do our utmost to meet their requirements. As you were staying for just one night our Duty manager offered the 15% to try to resolve a difficult situation.

We absolutely regret having had a different understanding that the problem is solved satisfying.


Yours Sincerely,

Daniela Berendonk
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

My wife and I spent a week here early April. The weather was pleasant enough to sit outside most evenings in shirt sleeves. We had room 15 which is an excellent room very large at the far end of the hotel so you only have neighbours on one side. The main hotel is on a single level. We sat outside on our terrace every evening looking out at the wonderful sea views. The Hotel sells its restaurant as being very smart, which it almost is and also very expensive, Hence when we were there it was usually empty. I cant help thinking a bit more reasonable pricing might see a lot more trade as you have to get a taxi into Lagos for dinner every night if you dont want to pay the silly prices on the hotel restaurant menu. So they lost at least 5 nights of dinners and drinks from us alone. Thats got to stack up ?
Anyway the hotel has a Spa which my wife said was very good, there is also a very nice pool on the property. We just stocked our mini bar up with our own beer and wine and as I said spent early evening having a drink on our terrace before having to leave the premises to get dinner. Lagos is about a 6 Euro each way taxi ride. There are a handful of nice little restaurants in the lanes and a load of ghastly looking tourist traps. The shopping in Lagos is not very good. We found the little tapas bar near the church at the Fort end of town to be excellent value. Think 35 euros for a mountain of food and drinks for two. The Taberna De Lagos is also very good and has a good cocktail menu as well which is quite reasonably priced. Some guide books will insist you go to Mullins restaurant, It was certainly an experience, the food is good, cheap but the Loos are just disgusting. Think of the smell of council loos by the beach! If you can put up with that its one to tick off as the menu is hilarious. There is also Antonio's down on the beach which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, perfectly good fish supper for reasonable prices and you can sit out on a deck which was covered when we were there but I imagine they open it in the summer.
Lagos is a pleasant enough place if you like that sort of thing. but spoiled a bit by the boozed up brits you get all over the Algarve and the Spanish Costas in every single village and town falling out of the pubs and bars at chucking out time. Why are they always British ? The Algarve in general is quite pretty but ruined by literally hundreds of derelict and unsold and often not even finished developments that no one wants to buy. Shame! It would appear there is no planning regulation at all. If you have to go to the Algarve at all this hotel is easily one of the best in the whole area if you dont want all that Golf resort nonsense.

So having been to the Algarve, I wont be going back as its too over developed and it just reminded us why we prefer France. We went because we got a deal on a travel site. Having said all that, Luz (As in Praia De Luz where Madeleine McCann went missing) which is just a few minutes from Lagos was very pleasant and well worth a look if you are in the area

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#13 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Property: Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Address: Rua das Violetas | Porto de Mós, Lagos 8600-282, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda is a hidden gem, situated in an idyllic location, nestled into the cliff top above the beautiful Porto de Mos beach with just 25 individually styled rooms and suites. Enjoying stunning panoramic ocean views that blend with the lush, natural Mediterranean gardens it was originally the 17th century home of a noble family before the loving and individual restoration of its current owner. With discrete and excellent service and attention to every detail, this small luxury hotel boasts a superb fine dining restaurant catering to all dietary requirements including vegetarian, vegan and RAW, as well as an intimate Neal's Yard Remedies ethical and organic spa. Here you will find the perfect escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing