We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovly position BUT too expensive for meals which are not that impressive. Rooms badly need updating. A shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovly position BUT too expensive for meals which are not that impressive. Rooms badly need updating. A shame”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile


This hotel has potentially everything going for it. BUT, I can only agree with the recent comments on this hotel.
Beautiful location, lovely garden and view. Staff were great. Sadly management appears to have an inflated idea of the existing quality of the offer here as they appear to feel it is 'way above' other hotels or restaurants in the area which despite the lovely location and great staff they are not. It seems they feel this justifies the inflated prices.
It is strange that my polite and constructive review on the booking site I used (clue in the name!) appears to have vetoed by management and I remain a little questioning over the lack of reviews actually published - odd I feel.
Trip advisor reviews should help potential bookers.
This could be one of the best hotels, so management please put in the investment or price appropriately.
I look forward to seeing what happens

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hertsonaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly we would like to thank you for your review and your very positive comments about our location, gardens and view as well as our great staff. We are sorry that you found the restaurant not to your particular taste.

We are a little perplexed though, as to your comments about your polite and constructive views on the booking site used as we are not aware of these and have certainly vetoed nothing. We of course welcome feedback either directly to our hotel staff at the time of your visit or by other means.

If you could take the time to let us know where we can find these comments we will gladly respond.

Best wishes

Urs Wild
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    48
    18
    18
    9
See reviews for
25
133
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

For the price we paid I expected a nice room, however the bedroom was to a three star standard. The furniture was disappointing and the mini bar was sitting on the floor under the TV. The entrance door frame was cut so the key can turn in the lock. There isn’t an iron and ironing board available but instead reception told me I could bring my clothes to reception and housekeeping will iron them. I asked how much this will cost and she didn’t know.

The restaurant staff are not friendly or helpful. At the time of making a reservation for dinner you have to decide what you want to eat that evening. I hadn’t expected this in a hotel that is busy. We went with the 3 course menu and the portions were tiny so we assumed it must have being a tasting menu but it didn’t say this on the menu. The waiter was very attentive until the main course was served. From then on I had to get the wine and water from the nearby table.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear guest

I understand that you had room 102 which is in the Villa and to date has proved to be a popular room with our guests.

We are also sorry that we were unable to make an iron and ironing board but as a full service hotel, our practice has always been to perform this service for our guests. We ensure in future our reception staff are knowledgeable about any costs involved should this service be required.

It is unusual for us to receive a comment about our restaurant staff being unfriendly and normally the feedback is quite to the contrary. We will of course address this issue with them. The only reason for making your choice on reserving dinner is to ensure that your meal is served in a timely manner and that you are assured of the meal of your choice will be available. However you are perfectly at liberty to decide at the time. There is both the ẚ la carte menu as well as a degustation (tasting) menu which can be either 3 or 5 courses. We will ensure in future that our guests are aware of these choices, as much depends on the expectation and the size of appetite.

Thank you for your feedback and we will do our best to ensure that the issues you have raised are fully addressed.

Urs Wild, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Ok, the view is spetacular! By the way, that's the first appeal of this place. Unfortunately, it's the only one.
My wife and I stayed in a junior suite. Spacious rooms, terrace opens to the garden. The decoration is out-of-date and needs renovation. Instead of a king size bed, twin beds side by side. That's not my idea of a romantic room. The room had no air conditioning! A hotel by the beach in portuguese summer with no air conditioning really surprised me.
The bathroom was very small and the shower had no pressure at all. Worst shower of our 2-week trip to Portugal.
We were supposed to stay 3 nights but we decided to move on after the second night. The staff is just ok and not that helpful.
The breaksfat was average and we had a very good seafood cataplana for lunch the first day, but the mandatory 5-course dinner was a great disappointment. Very poor value for the money.
The price of the hotel is not worthy of its quality. After all, the view is just a part of the whole hotel experience.

Room Tip: If there's one room with air conditioning, pick this one. The ones in the newer building have up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pero_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest

We were of course disappointed to read your review as we pride ourselves not only on our spectacular location but our unique 18th century property and attention to the needs of all our guests.

We are permanently in the process of renovating and redecorating our rooms and as part of that process, installing air conditioning for all the rooms. This of course has to be done carefully and sensitively due to the age of the property which is also part of its charm.

With regard to the bed, if you had mentioned this to reception at the time, we could have adapted the beds to king-size as we have special linens with which to do this, depending on the preferences of the guest. This must have been an oversight in your case and we will ensure in future that we include these wishes in the reservation process. We have rarely had complaints about the water pressure in our showers, so it is possible that there may have been a fault in your system. Had you reported this at the time we would have immediately had maintenance check the problem as we realise a good shower is important to all of our guests.

I’m glad you enjoyed the cataplana but sorry you did not enjoy the 5 course taster menu. This is normally very popular with both our staying guests and the many outside visitors to the hotel and restaurant.

I’m sorry that most of these issues could not have been addressed during your stay, but have taken on board your comments so we can do our best to ensure that all our guests enjoy their experience at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda.

Yours sincerely.

Urs Wild
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The view is 5 Stars! Absolutely amazing.

Unfortunately, the rest is poor.

- What is "Romantik" with twin beds made with twin bed linen and twin blankets? I'd expect a cosy king size rather than separate beds
-The bath towels are small and thin. the pool towels the worst quality.
- No Air Conditioning, can't keep the window open on ground floor (patio door), loud and inefficient floor fan.
- 4 nights and amenities never renewed despite request at front desk.
- Rustic feeling, a bit smelly.
- ground floor rooms have magnificent views, unfortunately there is a path in front so you can't keep the curtains open.
- Breakfast quality so so. The cold cuts where not great quality. If you like yogurt, you're ok.
- Constant pressure to eat dinner there. Menu presented every morning (the excuse is they want to make sure you have a table, but was never fully booked). Annoying.
- Tiny safe with a regular key. But who has the other key?
- No gym
- Pool smaller then it looks on the pictures, not very welcoming.

Would I go back? NO WAY. The price is outrageous for the quality of the place. No one is extraordinarily nice and helpful. It's very easy to find better places in lagos.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better as the renovated rooms have no air conditioning, which is out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacances2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear that your found our view as absolutely amazing as we do. We were however less happy to hear that your did not find the rest of your stay with us up to the same standard.

With regard to the bed/s, we do have special linen/mattresses to adapt our beds to large king-size or spacious twins depending on the wishes of our guests. If you had have advised reception we could have rectified this problem. However we have taken heed of your comments and will address this in staff training and the reservation process.

I am surprised about the towels as we have a large selection of good quality towels in all standard sizes, but we will bear this in mind. With our ecological approach to reduced waste and chemical management in our property, we always opt for best solution for our guests experience without impacting on standards.

With regard to the air conditioning, unfortunately at this stage not all our rooms enjoy this facility yet and we do understand your reluctance with a ground floor room to keep your patio door open. Having said that we are currently undertaking a programme to install air conditioning in all our rooms as soon as possible, as well as replacement of windows with an adapted system to enable those in garden rooms to keep them safely open when required. Our rooms do all have voile curtains for guest privacy should guest wish to keep their main curtains open.

We do have an eco policy on towel renewal, so they do have to be left on the floor if you require replacement. However your room should have been cleaned each day as a matter of course and consumables replenished. We will look into this oversight.

With regard to your comments on booking dinner. It is never our intention to pressure our guests to eat with us. Quite simply, as all our meals are cooked fresh to order, it enables our guests to be served in a timely fashion and avoids disappointment if favourite tables are reserved or choice preferences are no longer available on the evening. However, it is entirely possible to decide at the last minute if this is the wish of the guest, but choices in this case can be limited.

We do have a superb gym at our sister property Cascade Resort, fully equipped for leading professional athletes and sports people that regularly train there. This is just a few minutes away and available for the use of Vivenda Miranda guests. That you were not aware of this is a big oversight on our part and we will address this internally with staff training, in house TV and materials.

Most of our guests enjoy our pool and its environs. However, as with the gym, our guests are perfectly welcome at our sister property to make use of the very large pools and facilities there.

I hope that I have addressed most of your issues wish that they could have been addressed during your stay as we always endeavour to give our guests the best possible experience.

With best wishes

Urs Wild
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Exquisite setting with wonderful views to sea. Peaceful, comfortable, excellent food and attentive staff. Superb location overlooking Porto de Mos beach with a cliff top path down to the beach. The quiet and the comfort made it for us. Lovely gardens. Golf at Boavista was arranged though the hotel via email beforehand - very useful!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlanMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel has stunning views of the Atlantic from on top of a high cliff. By far, the best part of this hotel is the stunning view. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite and found it to be very modern, clean, and comfortable. It was obviously very recently renovated. I particularly liked the bathroom styling and color combinations. I don't think all rooms in this hotel are recently renovated so you might want to check on that to try and reserve a new one. I'm not sure though. The room featured a huge balcony with comfortable recliners, but the one problem was it was hard to escape the shadows and get sun at times if that is what you wanted. The sleep quality at this hotel is excellent, it's very quiet and the beds are large and comfortable. My biggest complaint would be how they constantly market their restaurant to you throughout your stay which I felt lacked class. From the moment you check-in, 'we reserved a table for you tonight if you like - please look at the menu', to just after you finished your last bite of breakfast 'would you like to look at the dinner menu tonight and make a reservation?' to even our last morning just before check out, 'Will you be joining us for dinner tonight?'. It started to get a bit ridiculous. We did eat at the restaurant the first night. The food is quite fancy with an excellent presentation and taste. The portions were a little small and I wasn't particularly full after a starter, main, and dessert. The price was high and bordering on being over-priced considering you are in the Algarve and not Paris. Overall, we quite enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsbarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivendaMiranda, Gerente at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. It was a mistake to ask you about evening dining on your departure day, a small over sight on our part, please accept our apologies. We are sorry that you felt pressured to eat in the restaurant in the evenings. It has been our policy for many years to give all our guests the opportunity to select their evening meal earlier in the day. This ensures their priority of booking and the guarantee of freshly prepared and cooked cuisine. Naturally there is no obligation by the client to make such decisions earlier in the day should they choose not to do so. We strive to give our clients the best level of service and satisfaction throughout their stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
Urs Wild, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

First impression was amazing. The view was to die for, the hotel was out of this world nothing was too much trouble for the staff they really made my husband and myself feel really welcome without being over the top. We enjoyed every meal we had in the hotel. The hotel and everything around it made for a really relaxing and enjoyable holiday. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Many thanks

Room Tip: Room 221 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tel1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.2 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#17 of 52 in Lagos
168 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.2 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Property: Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Address: Rua das Violetas | Porto de Mós, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda is a hidden gem, situated in an idyllic location, nestled into the cliff top above the beautiful Porto de Mos beach with just 25 individually styled rooms and suites. Enjoying stunning panoramic ocean views that blend with the lush, natural Mediterranean gardens it was originally the 17th century home of a noble family before the loving and individual restoration of its current owner. With discrete and excellent service and attention to every detail, this small luxury hotel boasts a superb fine dining restaurant catering to all dietary requirements including vegetarian, vegan and RAW, as well as an intimate Neal's Yard Remedies ethical and organic spa. Here you will find the perfect escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing