We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique alternative to the average hotels”
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina Rio
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique alternative to the average hotels”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The hotel has a truly great location near the city center and the marina. Cozy interior of the hotel, and good size rooms with water boiler, bathrob and balcony, but unfortunately no wi-fi in the room. You may select rooms toward the bus station or the marina. The marina side is probably best in winter and could become noisy in the summertime. There is a nice rooftop terrace and a pool.
Simple, but very good breakfast with egg dishes upon request. The staff is very friendly. The hotels gets extra credit for keeping a Braille service manual in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jarlehagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    190
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
416
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We love Lagos - it has a great choice of things to enjoy - including a choice of stunning sandy bay or rocky cove beaches. The town is so pretty; lively with great bars, shopping and restaurants, but mostly low-rise and not over-commercialised. Strangely there are not many hotels in the centre, despite the growing size of the resort. The Marina Rio is probably the best place to stay if you want to be in town. Friendly traditionally Portuguese courteous service, lovely clean comfortable rooms, and fab views from the Marina facing rooms like the one we stayed in. If you are beach baby you will be a happy bunny here. But if your idea of heaven is to lounge by a luxurious swimming pool, you would be better going elsewhere. The rooftop pool is little more than a big plunge pool, with little space around it to squeeze the sun-beds in. When we stayed, a large extended family basically took over the whole area every day. (the sun terrace across the top floor foyer was more peaceful, but not by the pool). Only other slight criticism is, as others have commented, the breakfast room is rather small, and the choices limited. This isn't a big resort style hotel. It has no garden or outdoor space and only a tiny bar in a corner of the reception/ lounge area. BUT Lagos has so much to offer, you really only need to use it for rest and recuperation (and to shower off that lovely fine Atlantic beach sand!) and it is great for that - with the added bonus of being able to enjoy watching the world go by along the prom in the evening and the sun come up beautifully each morning over the marina.

Room Tip: Marina facing are the prettiest. Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mzurisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Ok this hotel is not new and the decoration looks more like hotels of the 80's.

Service: reception could me more polite and quicker when you ask them something.
The swimming pool located on the roof to is nice
Room: old but clean and spacious with a balcony and a great marina view
f&B: Breakfast was poor and the choice very limited
Location: a bit far from the city heart but in front of the marina (plenty of restaurant and bar)

There are no hotel parking

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiriocasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in a Marina view room and found it excellent. It was quite a good size and had a balcony overlooking the marina. The hotel is in an excellent location being just across the road from the marina and just a short walk to the town. We used the car park at the hotel and although it was a bit hard to get into and out of, there was someone there to direct you.

The only downside of the hotel was the breakfast. The quality of the food was very average. However, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarggyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed recently at this hotel and not disappointed. In an excellent position opposite the marina. The "marina view" is by far the best bet for rooms. The rear looks onto the bus station which is not ideal but does not detract that much from the hotel. The rooms are a very good size and are spotless. It is only a small hotel and consequently has a small but OK breakfast room. Good variety of food and of good quality. What I like about the hotel is that the customers you see at the hotel are well grounded and if you are keen on meeting other customers at a hotel with football shirts, you are noisey at night, you will need to find somewhere to go! All in all a very sound 3 star hotel

Room Tip: Must go for the marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qualitytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Very nice modern hotel with good facilities, very nice staff and excellent breakfast. Excellent bright room with great views over marina from balcony.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feldmarschallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We spent a week in this hotel and it had a super location. I would recommend a Marina view which was lovely otherwise you would be looking onto the bus station. The room is a good size with a good size balcony. It has a safe and a kettle with coffee and tea, it also had a fridge which was handy. The bathroom was a good size and there was plenty of channels on the Tv for english viewers. It was a five minute stroll to the old town which had alot of variety. The was serveral bars and resturants close by We went to O Artista which was close to the hotel and it had live music most nights. We hired bikes for 3 days and we cycled to Alvor 1 day and we went Pria de luz another day and went around the local beaches the third day so had fun with that. If I was going to Lagos again I would stay here again. It had everything you would want and if I had one complaint it was that for breakfast that the fruit was tinned fruit most mornings. We were there for 7 nights and we only got fresh fruit salad 1 day, There was plenty of fresh fruit but it was not chopped up so I feel there could be a bowl fresh fruit salad every day. But overall great location, good room size, fridge, kettle, bathrobe and do go for the balcony over the marina you will be happy with the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,093 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 51 in Lagos
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 51 in Lagos
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Property: Hotel Marina Rio
Address: Hotel Marina Rio Avenida dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600-645, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing