We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lagos Location!”
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marina Rio
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This Hotel was ideal for spending time in Lagos and wanting to be within walking distance of the shops, cafes and Marina. We took the little train around the area and were very pleased with our choice of the Marina Rio after seeing how far some of the resorts were from the City Center. The Breakfast was very nice and always plentiful, the staff at the Hotel were very helpful and pleasant. Having a room with a view of the Marina is a nice perk and the rooftop pool was very quiet and peaceful on the warm afternoons. The beds were a little on the firm side which was the only issue I had. The Pescador restaurant in town was very good for a selection of fresh fish. Would defintely stay at the Marina Rio again.

Room Tip: Request a Marina view if available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WeLoveVacation92646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marina Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I have just spent two lovely weeks at this hotel,it is a Bed and breakfast hotel.
The breakfast was fresh every morning with many different choices from cereal to cooked breakfast,fresh fruit ,meat ,cheeses etc and plenty of it .
The hotel is lovely and clean and staff very helpful and pleasant.The rooms are cleaned everyday.
A lot of the guests were regular some having stayed there at least 5 times we have already booked our return for next year.
As for Lagos itself beautiful unspoilt resort.

Room Tip: We were at the back looking onto the bus station it was fine with us but for a marina view you need...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great little hotel, close to the centre of town,very clean,breakfast good ,you may have to wait if all the guests go at once but in 10 days it did' nt happen to us ,fridge in room and tea making facilities ,,small plunge pool on the roof plenty of sun beds ,pick a marina view as you can watch the world go by whilst enjoying a drink, some road noise but did'nt bother us ,but if you require total silence this could be a problem,staff were very friendly, would totally recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Pick a marina view worth the little extra
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013


Our 7th visit to the delightful Marina Rio in Lagos. Perhaps that says it all? If not, let me say a few things about this hotel. We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in many hotels all over the world. We are lucky enough to have at least 2 holidays abroad each year, but make sure one of them is to the Marina Rio in Lagos. As many previous reviewers have said, it is spotlessly clean, extremely friendly staff and in a perfect location in this nice little town. One previous reviewer criticised the fact that there were no meals available here - a remarkably stupid comment as this hotel does not pretend to be anything more than bed and breakfast! Also the town of Lagos has some of the best, reasonably priced restaurants we have ever come across, just 10 mins stroll from Marina Rio.There are not many hotels that provide free wifi in the rooms, tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, free safe and fridge in the rooms, bath robes etc.In our experience, you often have to pay extra for the safe - and tea and coffee in the room is rare outside of the UK. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here and we feel most welcome each year and immediately relaxed when we arrive. There are many repeat guests and we see the same couples every year which also proves how good it is here. We usually come to Marina Rio in September but we are unable to go in September 2014 so we have already booked for May 2014 instead - that is how highly we regard the place. We would have no hesitation in recommending Marina Rio and the lovely uncommercialised town of Lagos.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent two nights there during peak season in August. The hotel was fully booked. We only managed to get a room at the back of the hotel facing the bus station.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by reception. She kindly went over to the back of the hotel to show us the garage since we have reserved a space, however the garage is down the basement and it's steep so if your car is very low you might scratch it. The receptionist see that our car is too low and told us to just parked at the back of the hotel. It''s safe and it's free so we just go ahead with it.

We are very happy with the service, you can ask them anything about Lagos.

If you booked the hotel because it has a roof top swimming pool forget it, it is very small and the sunbathe area is on the other side. It's not very appealing. And around 6 to7 the sun was already setting and it's very windy.

The location is quite alright, close to town and marina, wifi is fast. I would say it's a three star for four star price in peak season.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamsurfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Marina Rio for 4 nights after spending some time in Lisbon on holiday. We chose the Marina Rio based on their great Tripadvisor reviews and are so happy we did!
I specifically booked a room with a marina review since overlooking a bus station didn't sound very scenic. However - it was super handy having the bus station right there because when we got the bus down from Lisbon we literally just rolled our bags across the parking lot and there we were! So, not entirely a bad thing!
In general, actually, I found the location of the hotel quite convenient. It was a 10 minute walk tops to the old town area, which we went to several times a day for meals and strolls. Additionally, its location directly across from the marina is very handy if you are interested in doing any of the available water tours since most of them depart from there. It was so awesome being able to walk across the street to leave on a kayak trip and return to only walk right across the street to grab a shower. Also, although the hotel is not right on the key beaches, they offer a shuttle to the two key beach areas which we took advantage of and it was PERFECT. I actually think that was better than staying at the beaches because we got a much better price and had some more peace and quiet.
The room itself was nice and absolutely clean, but probably could use some updates here and there. It had the pushed-together twin beds which I hate - doesn't make for a super romantic feel. So kind of lost a point on that, but it is a personal preference thing. I appreciated weird things about it though, like the built-in soap dispensers in the shower.
The staff was friendly and helpful and helped us book a taxi share to the airport, which is a lot cheaper than taking a cab. Make sure you ask them about that if you go! The breakfast downstairs was convenient and did the job.

Overall a great hotel for a trip to Lagos and I would return.

Room Tip: Get a marina view room - you won't regret it for a few extra bucks!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Marino Rio is excellent..spotlessly clean and comfortable..it's position is good (no hills) for marina and town..friends always stay there
Behind the hotel and then the bus station is The cafe O Pasto de Serafim otherwise known as 'Sergios' his coffee is good and the 'specials' for lunch or anytime really are excellent too
Must try his garlic pork over lunch...the best I've tasted and exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms to back look on to bus station but not a problem
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennmac13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Address: Hotel Marina Rio Avenida dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600-645, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing