We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Value”
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina Rio
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel, spotlessly clean and well run. The location is great, across the road from the Marina (which, beyond boats, has a number of cafes and restaurants as well as being a pleasant place to stroll). The bus station is behind the hotel (get a room overlooking the Marina; it is worth the extra few euros). Our room was very comfortable, with a balcony looking over the marina. We enjoyed the lobby lounge area and the nice little bar. Free wi fi worked well everywhere in the hotel. The breakfast was good (a selection of delicious breads and rolls was outstanding) in a cheery breakfast room. The only problem with the latter was the layout of the buffet: someone needs to re-think this to make it more easily accessible. There is no restaurant here, but we thoroughly enjoyed two dinners at the Sao Sebastiao restaurant which is a sister property and for which the hotel provided a voucher for a free after dinner port or almond liqueur. Delicious! The food at this restaurant is well above the norm for Lagos. There are some free parking spaces outside the front door. We managed to park here for all of our 3 day stay : extremely convenient. We thought this hotel a very good value for money. The views over the marina are very attractive, and the small swimming pool on the roof, and sun lounging area up there too, were a big plus.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Marina are worth the small extra charge, the higher the better to rise above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dart-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Marina Rio, the location is excellent, very clean rooms - as already stated the bathrooms could do with an update but worked o.k. We stayed three nights and the only reason I question the 4 star rating would be the breakfasts - it's not that the food wasn't o.k. but the tiny breakfast room is too crowded. On two mornings people were actually waiting for tables and the one lady was trying to refresh food items and clear tables at the same time. Don't know how this would work in peak times. There's a large lounge area which is not used that much so maybe a re-think about a little reorganisation. The hotel is good value for money and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We would stay again if ever in Lagos

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights and felt that it was a good hotel at a good price. We arrived by train from Lisbon (the train station is directly on the other side of the marina from the hotel) and departed by bus to Seville (the bus station is literally next to the hotel) so it was incredibly convenient for us.

The included breakfast was good, the rooftop pool was great, and the reception was very friendly and let us keep the room for a couple extra hours for free as our bus out didn't depart until 2pm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt_Berg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the Marina Hotel recently. Our room was clean, well set out and clean. Bathroom was a bit dated but it worked. Bed very comfortable and views from our window exceptional. The hotel supplies umbrellas and chairs on the beach at the front for guests. Make sure you have a massage from Fatima who sets up her stand on the beach. the breakfast is excellent and the room has lovely views across to the beach. Staff on reception are very helpful and happy to recommend restaurants, activities and provide maps. A very good hotel and in a lovely area aswell.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor so you don't hear the traffic noise, also views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerkshireJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an 8 night holiday here. From the arrival to departure everything was perfect. So clean and very friendly helpful staff. We had a room overlooking the marina and could sit and people watch. Breakfast was simple but a delight. It was slightly different every day, as were table decorations . Free wifi was a bonus. Rooftop pool is small but a lovely place to catch the sun when needing a wee rest. We left at 7 am and breakfast room was opened for us to have something to eat before we left. We will definitely be back :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is excellent value for money could not fault anything.The facilities are good with everything you need in the room, including safe aircon/heating fridge wine glasses robes sky tv,also a heater and heated towel rail in the bathroom which we needed as the weather wasnt too kind to us.
Very clean hotel with friendly reception staff.Breakfast good and varied.Ideal location would definitely recommend

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank hobbyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel is so clean you could eat off of the floor! The staff we met were very friendly and extremely helpful. Good location, decent price, although you can do better in Lagos. The mattresses are very firm, some like it this way,,.some do not. For me they were too hard and uncomfortable, same for my wife. The room was also strangely cold, perhaps a function of the tiled floor, as the heater was functioning and cranking out the hot air. This is a decent option if you like firm beds.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank BiginOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 53 in Lagos
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Address: Hotel Marina Rio Avenida dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600-645, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £59 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing