We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unlikely to re visit...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Ranked #5 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
marlow
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Unlikely to re visit...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We moved three times due to the noise of the work.The noise was continuous throughout the daytime.Outside work and in the building we were put at first.This is not just small but huge building works.The customers are not treated well and this place should not be taking people in whilst the work is going on.The bedrooms face the corridor where you can hear the clatter of suitcases from people arriving and leaving at all hours.The corridor has lighting that comes on and off as people pass,making it impossible to sleep.
The works are not temporary...they look as though they will be going on for a long time.There was even an enormous crane for the main view for some days after we arrived.Service rubbish and did not bother to even eat there at all.There are so many places that are good to eat closely or in the town.
The directors were about and are obviously more interested in the gym and health club and the new build than the customers there now.
When they say you can use the indoor pool,don t be fooled as so e families were on a cloudy day.Not suitable for children...it is a proper lap pool for training.
Not impressed.The worst experience in a long time.

Room Tip: All rooms could hear the noise.Often the lifts did not work
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    278
    84
    17
    10
See reviews for
234
246
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
meath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ok, I'm here at the moment. If your idea of luxury is basic, then this is the joint for you!

I was willing to forget being given the wrong room- the one bed instead of the two bed. Not a worry.
However the upgrade to the 'very best they have' was disappointing.
If you want bunk beds without safety rails, doors that don't lock- this is the spot for you. Basically basic is the catch phrase here. Day two and we still cannot lock our apartment.

A very important point is that the pool is lethal for children. Don't let the kids club think its child friendly. There is no separated children's pool. My 'almost swimming' 6 yr old found himself totally out of his depth twice. I had to be literally right beside him. In my opinion this is reason enough to advise people to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nameme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night holiday and were 2 families with small children.
There is building work going on here at the moment but it really did not distract from a lovely holiday. The hotel has 2 supermarkets nearby and is a 10min walk from the old town. There is a shortcut under a road but is not buggy friendly and another one via the health centre (again not buggy friendly but not too bad)
The hotel itself is very nice our rooms were quite enough (but we could just have been lucky as we were practically at the end of a corridor) and were serviced everyday which we were not expecting. The little kitchenette has pretty much everything you need - even a tin opener and corkscrew - which I always travel with as places do not seem to have them!
The complex itself is very nice, bright and clean. Any staff we had interaction with were very helpful and friendly. The 2 outside pools are cold at the moment and very windy but lots of sun beds and umbrellas. There is a games room (although a few machines ate our money), a children's play room which was closed, a shop and a small self serve washing machine and dryer 9tokens available at reception). This area is very quiet - its like guests don't know about it! It is a strangely designed complex.
The health center is part of the hotel but the entrance is nearly hidden! It is split over many levels and needs better signage. There is a lot of building work going on here at the moment in this block and it does lead to a very strange experience. The indoor pools are great. The childrens one in particular is great for cloudy or very windy days. Lots of things for the kids to play with down here. There is also a jaccuzzi here which is nice. Guests of the hotel are allowed one trip per day complimentary to the facilities and can avail of all the services here! But you need to get a slip from reception.
The snack bar is grand - good for a midday snack if you dont want to walk into town or self cater.
One the whole we were happy and would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: End of corridors are quieter - less traffic walking past! We stayed in rooms 322/320 and these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a weird hotel , don't be fooled by the pictures or star rating , the apartment layout is very odd with the tiny bedroom is facing onto a corridor where people walk by all day and night and the bathroom is huge for no reason , the pool side was filthy and we had to enjure evening entertainment which consisted of nobody only some annoying foreigner blasting out some old school tacky tunes and trying to start a karoke party , in some shack beside the pool , we had to go out to get some peace - we had paid extra and were shocked that we were actually in one of the best suites , and couldn't believe the state of the lower grade rooms - I see they are renovating to that is good and well needed - oh yeah the indoor pool is a treat for anyone who likes horror movies - trippy spooky place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanssoucis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Suisse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the AquaLuz for two nights in May 2014.
The overall impression was good: the suites are spacious, the kitchenette was well equipped, the beds are comfortable, and the view from our suite on the top floor was excellent.
However there was a lot of noise from construction going on right next to the hotel. This went on until 7pm on the first night. We had also requested a quiet room in our reservation. To their credit, the helpful reception staff kindly offered to change our room, but since we had already unpacked and we out for most of the day we stayed put. On the second day, the construction started at 8am and didn't finish until 10.30pm!

Guests at the AquaLuz have complimentary access to the commercial Solinca gym next door. This is much better than a normal hotel gym, however I wouldn't pay to use it otherwise: it's very hot and humid, the dumbbells only go up to 30kg, and free weights consist of one Smith machine and just one bench press. On the plus side, there are lots of classes.

Finally at the AquaLuz one has to pay for Wifi in the rooms. It is free in the bar area, and we found it was very slow. Much faster free Internet access can be found elsewhere e.g. on the motorway service areas.

Overall the AquaLuz represents excellent value for money and we would stay here again, if we could be sure that no construction work is going on...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Me and big crowd if my friends all booked in here as a friend of ours was getting married in Lagos.
The apartments were lovely the pool was lovely but the staff were extremely unfriendly and very unhelpful.
It was a chore for the reception staff to order a taxi for us. The apartments were extremely quite when we stayed and one day there was around 10-12 of us around the pool (we were the only ones around the pool), we were talking, laughing and having a good catch up and a laugh (not drinking alcohol) and the receptionist threaten to throw us out if we didn't keep it down! it would have been different if there were other people around but we were the only people at the pool, think our wedding party were the only people staying in the apartments at the time!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

To be honest I wasn't sure exactly what we had booked through booking.com so I was very pleased with a spacious one bedroom apartment. It was two twins pushed together which made a very large bed and plenty of room for a cot. The breakfast is nothing to shout about, we just fed our baby copious amounts of scrambled egg, made her a sandwich for lunch and had a very nice coffee! The building work is noisy and did disturb our baby but they don't work weekends and they did warn us. It didn't effect anything in the hotel, it's just the noise. The Indoor pool is a treat for the kids if you can find it! The location is about 10 mins walk from the centre, it's hilly but perfectly manageable. We would definitely come again and recommend to family and friends although it could be a shock to see the hotel full to capacity as there was a max of 15 people at the pool this week.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank PenelopeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Property: AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing