We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent 7 nights at Aqualuz as a couple, first time in Lagos and it couldn't have been much better.

Our room was very clean and spacious with a balcony overlooking the pool. The air conditioning in the room is powerful, you could keep the room freezing cold if you wanted to. We had everything we needed for self catering and while the walls are a bit thin we slept soundly every night.

The location is perfect - 10 minute walk into town downhill (uphill on the way back after a few drinks took a bit longer), 10 minute walk to a selection of smaller beaches. It's quiet at night although the hotel does it's own entertainment, ideal if you want to go to some livelier bars but come back to a quiet hotel. Local Spar 5 minute walk away.

The two pools are both a good size and very clean and there was always plenty of sun loungers free. We stayed in July and it got the sun from 9 until 7 somedays. The poolside bar seemed a bit expensive compared to other local bars but to be fair they had a happy hour etc

The staff are really friendly and very helpful, especially on reception. Couldn't criticise them at all.

Only had food once (breakfast) which was fine but couldn't comment any further.

In short it's a lovely hotel for couples and families, it delivers on exactly what they promise, clean rooms, chilled atmosphere, great location and ideal if you want to have days by the pool and go into town in the evening. Wouldn't recommend it for groups of mates as it seems to be very family orientated.

Lagos is a picturesque town which seems to have a lot of history, although now it's seems mainly focused around the tourist trade. Plenty of bars and restaurants catering for families and people after a night out. Outskirts of the old town cater for backpackers with the centre more for like a normal tourist resort

Would stay here again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for AquaLuz Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were put in this hotel after our original hotel had overbooked us. Although it was not what I had originally booked, the rooms were spacious and were always clean with fresh linen & towels, I could not fault the staff. However, the hotel is on the edge of the old town so it was a short walk to the restaurants etc, however, it was a 1km walk to the nearest beach. All the apartments/rooms look inwards over 2 really nice pools, the bar & restaurant were very simple affairs, the breakfast was good but always the same selection, and the lunch time food was simple & cheap, sandwiches, pizzas, burgers etc. We never ate in at night. There had a very well equipped gym & spar with an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna etc which was great for me being bit a gym nut!. There did seem to be an Irish bar attached to the hotel but never seemed to be open. This place is good if you not really interested in going to the beach and you've got smaller kids as there was a kids club. There was free Wifi but only round the pool & bar, you had to pay if you wanted it in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC181055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After reading some of these reviews I was a little nervous about staying here but I needn't have been. We arrived on 30th June for a 10 night stay and the resort was lovely. Our 2 bed apartment was very spacious, nice and cool although there was air con if you needed it. the maids came on a daily basis and did a quick clean up, took the rubbish, made the beds and changed towels if we wanted clean ones. All of the staff we spoke to seemed really nice and the bar staff were wonderful. Ideal location just a 10 minute maximum walk into Lagos where there are some wonderful local restaurants that you must make sure you visit. As a side note all building working had stopped by the time we got there, I had emailed the hotel prior to us arriving and they had informed me that the work would cease during the summer period.
The swimming pool area was great with plenty of sun beds (although people still felt the need to reserve them with towels!!!) and plenty of space for everyone, I found the pool itself a little too cold but still nice and refreshing especially on a hot day.
Great hotel and we will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MarieE242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having read some of the reviews just before arriving we were a bit nervous. We had nothing to worry about. The hotel is probably rated 4* due to the number of amenities it has rather than it being of 'superior quality' but for the great price you cannot expect it to be amazing. We stayed in a studio S/C which appeared to be recently painted and the fridge, microwave, utensils and hob area all seemed almost new, as did the bathroom units. Yes it is quite basic and the two single beds a little hard but the room was airy, large, clean and came with free aircon and a lovely balcony with pool view. Glad I took a kettle though! The aircon had a few issues but they were sorted very quickly - in fact the staff and reception were very helpful and pleasant to us all round (especially Sonja). They gave us the shortcut route to town and details of buses to other beaches and Praia da Luz. The bus stop was right on the next street, buses came regularly and was only a couple of euros - very easy to use if you don't have a car you can easily get around.

Nice pool area that was cleaned every morning. There is an outdoor pool that is big and quite deep and a smaller separate children's pool. Yes the water is cold but lovely and refreshing when it got hot. Plenty of sunbeds with individual sun visors which is unique and some umbrellas for shade. The entertainment team was small and unobtrusive. The indoor sport centre is available to residents and some external clients also use it - it has a gym, squash court, pool, exercise studio - it was in the middle of being refurbished and being on holiday we didn't try it out - looked okay though.

The hotel has a smaller supermarket and a few restaurants the other side of the carpark. There are also a few restaurants on the way to the city walls of Lagos and a great sized Spar restaurant within 5 minutes walk of the complex. So there are restaurants nearby but the majority are in Lagos more central and you will walk 10-15 minutes but will see lots of shops/restaurants on your walk in. A taxi is about 4 Euros if you can't face the walk back (it is quite steep and hard work if you have already been in once during the day, are unfit or have a pushchair etc).

Restaurants are lovely, Lagos is pretty with its network of little shops and back streets and an attractive Marina district too. There are several small beaches within an easy 10 minutes walk. There is also a brilliant walk to other beaches along the cliff tops - it can take a while but well worth it if you have sun cream, walking shoes and water on a hot day!

For about £50 a room per night these apartments were good value for money. If you are expecting luxury you will be disappointed. We were not.

Room Tip: Top Floor with pool view with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Poker-Queen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just back from an amazing holiday at this faboulous hotel/apartment. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. The whole place was very clean and very well looked after. The swimming pools were also cleaned regularly - can't say enough about how brilliant this place is! Its location is also good as the old town, shops, bars and beaches are within walking distance. I would definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

These apartments offer the perfect getaway. You can relax by the pool with free wifi and good music playlists. The breakfast was really good (except the orange juice, which is more like a sugary syrup).

The staff was friendly enough to upgrade our room after being disappointed by the "city view".
We ended up with a bigger room and pool view.

There is an inside pool/jacuzzi/gym/sauna/steam room as well.

I recommend having a rental car from Faro airport to get around easily, although some amazing beaches are only 15mn walk away.

Very relaxing, highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get pool view (amoma does not specify well)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arv89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here with our 4 month old baby for one week this June and could not complain about anything. The staff were friendly, very helpful and accommodated all of our requests (pool view, south facing balcony and travel cot). The apartment was spacious and very clean and the room was serviced very well everyday. The balconies have high walls so offer nice privacy. There is no shortage of umbrellas or sun loungers and the pools seemed clean and well maintained (If you have a baby, bring a wetsuit as the water is cold). We only ate in the hotel once( Pizza - which was nice) but the breakfast didn't look very exciting. There was no noise problems from construction work or the bar area as mentioned in other reviews and our baby never had any problems sleeping. The location of the hotel is excellent (but make sure you ask the staff for the short route into the old town). The free parking is plentiful and safe which is an excellent perk. We only paid €500 for the week so did not expect luxury but it was much better than expected. We found it to be excellent value for money and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Don't get a city view room, pool view all the way.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sindisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,435 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#15 of 52 in Lagos
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: £36 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing