We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Bed and Breakfastc”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good Bed and Breakfastc”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Categorised as a 4 star Hotel hotel as such it is not,what it is,is an excellent B+B\Guest House.The rooms are clean but small & cluttered with furniture/mini fridge etc,ground floor rooms have a patio again not large,cluttered with table chairs & two sun loungers.The client base is something of a culture,they keep going back year after year,same faces,same time of year.The meals that are available are based on you asking for something before 12 o'clock,for excample,Fish in the oven but they cannot cook fish and meat at the same time,the oven is not big enough,a large patio area for drinks and meals overlooks an impressive swimming pool and garden.Would we return,you betcha we will,same time next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank halo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    75
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
180
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here only one night, but loved it. Small, but comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms and bathrooms. As a previous reviewer noted, it is in a residential area so a car is necessary. It was a 15 minute walk to the nearest beach, which is a really nice one...beautiful, clean and not too crowded. The hotel breakfast was good and was served in a dining room next to the pool. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We are just back from a week at the Solar de Mos. The hotel is situated in a residential area so a car is handy to get to the nearby beaches or its about a 20 minute walk into Lagos old town. We really enjoyed our stay. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, the pool area is lovely & peaceful and the owners & staff very friendly and attentive. We usually holiday in large chain hotels but found the small hotel experience much more enjoyable. Fellow guests were all very friendly and it was nice to have a chat and a drink with them in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jools54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

this is a lovey, small family-run hotel in a quiet residential area of Lagos. Yet it has all the facilities you would expect from a much larger chain hotel. Rooms are clean and pleasant, beds comfy and bathroom facilities lovely. Only minor gripe is the kettle is tiny and only a few sachets provided, but otherwise I couldn't fault it. Breakfast was nice and unhurried. We especially enjoyed the little cakes and local jam. All staff were really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryC1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We are just back from the Solar de Mos and although I normally only review places I have had bad experiences of, I felt the need to add my voice to the positive comments already posted by others.

This hotel was very welcoming and offered a service above what I have experienced elsewhere. Little things like cushions on balcony chairs, light bulbs replaced when asked, towels you can take to the beach, giant comfortable beds, clean well maintained rooms.

I had the best meal of our holiday here, monkfish and prawn cataplana. It takes time to prepare these dishes so need to order in advance as pointed by others but its most definitely worth it!

It's a bit of a walk into town but the peace and quiet of the area again makes it worth the effort and helps to walk of the grub. Nearby beaches were stunning too.

Thanks to Mario, Lena and the rest of the staff for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacque61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights before flying home after a villa rental. All was fine, but it's not the utopia described in some reviews. Staffing levels are stretched and we were told that a meal had to be ordered before 12, even though check in is 2 and this was a first night. Our room was too small and there was no where for luggage. Everyone is friendly and welcoming and the pool is the best feature. It is a long way out of town and not an easy walk in the heat of high summer. Stay here, but expect a sound reliable slightly frumpy hotel. This not nirvana.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We discovered Solar de Mos in 2006 and have returned 2/3 times a year since which speaks volumes,peaceful,hassle free and the ideal place to "chill out".Bus stop right outside no need to walk into town 1 euro 20 fare,taxi back 4 euro.Can't say to much about the staff it will give them enlarged ego's.Traditional Portugese rooms,mini bar refrigerator,enough food at breakfast to feed an army,huge swimming pool considering the size of the hotel.Please don't tell anyone its a well guarded secret.

Room Tip: Not really able to say you might take our's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
2,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
564 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Property: Solar de Mos Hotel
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing