We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B by another name”
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This wonderful little gem of a hotel feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It is small, but large enough to have most amenities. it is immaculately clean, and the staff is both friendly and helpful. We had a corner room upstairs; with a view of the surrounding cape and the pool below. We arrived in the early afternoon, and the manager helped us map out a walking tour of the area, in addition to recommending a great restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandJAdventures33050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a 15 bedroomed hotel, situated about half way between Lagos Old town and Praia de Mos in a fairly quiet residential area. It is obviously very well maintained. The rooms are not huge and perhaps a little dark, but ipleasant and comfortable. Our bathroom had been recently re furbished and was very nice. The lounge/bar area is quite small. Breakfasts are buffet style, decent quality and with a good choice. The coffee machine is pretty good too. Outside, the pool area is nice and sunny and there is a shady garden if (like me) you prefer to be out of the sun. This is not a pretentious "boutique style" hotel, its a pleasant comfortable place offering a good location, friendly staff and an opportunity to unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to know you were enjoying your stay. It's our aim to please our guests.
Thank you very much and hopefully we see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

just returned from an 11 night stay at this super hotel. The stars are Carlos , Lena, and Mario who went out of the way to make us feel so welcome and at home on this our first visit. everything about this hotel was so well run and friendly. Our room was kept spotless clean. The, bathroom was lovely and large including everything you needed. The dining room and bar area was comfortable and airy with a nice buffet breakfast, We also had a few lunches and a couple of evening meals that were good and reasonable priced. The outdoor space was great with a nice pool complete with loungers and pretty gardens. We hope to return. Glenis & Roy McNamara Lancs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our third stay at the hotel and we relished again the calm, peaceful attentiveness that it provides travellers. Our room was clean and comfortable with an outside terrace to sit out on. The breakfast room provided a good choice of food and beverages with the minimum of fuss, a perfect start each day. We enjoyed the stroll from the hotel into the Town each day and there are buses or taxis if you prefer. All in all the perfect base from which to enjoy Lagos at a very reasonable price and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I needed somewhere to relax and unplug from our day-to-day lives...and boys and girls did we find it in Solar de Mos. A friendly greeting on arrival set the tone for our week-long stay and we knew all the staff on first-name terms by the end of our stay. The hotel is more of a large converted villa decorated in traditional Portuguese style with each room unique, adding to its charm. The "Calderiada" or hot fish stew on the Dinner menu will live long in the memory. A bus service operates to / from the hotel, otherwise a taxi for €6 will connect you with the town. Half a kilometre away is a small local shopping complex with 2 supermarkets and a Pizzeria/bar. The most telling aspect of our stay was on our return home where we felt so relaxed for a considerable time after the holiday. Thoroughly recommended...Obrigado Solar de Mos!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PatrickR12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Solar de Mos. It was our first visit to Portugal having had it raved about by friends and acquaintances, and chose this hotel from the reviews and due to it being small.
We were greeted by Mario and shown to our first floor room on the side with a small private balcony. The room and bathroom were spotless and a reasonable size for a weeks stay. The thing we did find odd was that you need to hire the lock to secure the room safe which was a first!
Breakfast was a typical European hotel affair with a mix of cereals, cheese, meats and a small cooked selection although the fruit juice was poor.
The staff were very friendly but we were quite happy as they left us alone which suits us but they spent a lot of time talking with other guests who obviously enjoyed chatting with them. They always seemed to be about when you needed them then would disappear again!
We didn't have any meals in the hotel as the restaurants we found in Lagos were great. The old town is about a 10 to 15 minute walk depending on which end you go to and how fast you wander. The hotel being in a residential area is very quiet and the bed was very comfy hence we had some really good nights sleep.
Decor is a very personal thing and obviously varies from country to country but this hotel could not be described as sophisticated or modern, interesting and quirky, yes, but definitely not sophisticated.
All in all the Solar de Mos provided exactly what we were looking for, a small, personal, quiet and restful hotel.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms on the side over the entrance have private balconies whereas the ones overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A quirky small hotel. Very friendly staff attract the same sort of guests. Cluttered, a bit old fashioned, but meticulously clean. Not in the centre of town which is good if you have a car but the buses pass regularly. Slept wonderfully and breakfast was enjoyable, served in the dining room overlooking the terrace and pool.

Room Tip: Our first floor room overlooking pool was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.5 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £47 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing