We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little find”
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Quiet small hotel. It has a lovely area for breakfast and bar area and seats under a canopy in the sun overlooking the pool. Great selection for breakfast but the coffee was horrible!
A massive bed! (not too singles pushed together) which was a nice surprise.
Couple of decent restaurants about 10mins walk and a big supermarket too. Main downside wa it was a bit of a treck along a dull route into the old town from the hotel and I regard myself as reasonably fit! Bus service sporadic. Only wish this hotel was nearer the harbour so regrettably won't be back.

Room Tip: Great place to chill out, and also good if you intend on just hanging out in the hotel for most of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andersoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

excellent well run hotel. spotlessly clean and in a good location just outside Lagos centre. nice beaches close by and restaurants and bars within easy reach if required. Decor of the hotel is nice and well maintained. The staff are lovely and the owners who also work in reception and the kitchens are also really nice people who look after you well.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine but I prefer the rooms on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
2  Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Returned to Solar de Mos in June,we have visited this hotel on numerous occasions and found it to be quite outstanding but not on this trip.Something was not quite right,the atmosphere was very subdued perhaps it was my imagination,it will not put us off returning in September.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Solar de Mos in June 2014 with our teenage son

We loved our stay and here are some tips for readers -

1. Food -breakfast was very hearty and a good spread. They also had smacks to offer for a nominal payment
2. Rooms - we stayed in room 108 on the first floor which had space enough ffor three beds and a great garden view
3. Lift - yes they have a lift for your heavy bags
4. Location - good location not very far from the bus station. Though more suitable for families that have a car
5. Staff - very helpful. Lena helped us rent bikes and arrange our tours. Carlos too was very helpful
6. Wi-fi - was not so great in our room. Better in the lobby

We loved our stay

Room Tip: 108 can take three beds and has a good garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Chetna_Vasishth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This wonderful little gem of a hotel feels more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It is small, but large enough to have most amenities. it is immaculately clean, and the staff is both friendly and helpful. We had a corner room upstairs; with a view of the surrounding cape and the pool below. We arrived in the early afternoon, and the manager helped us map out a walking tour of the area, in addition to recommending a great restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandJAdventures33050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a 15 bedroomed hotel, situated about half way between Lagos Old town and Praia de Mos in a fairly quiet residential area. It is obviously very well maintained. The rooms are not huge and perhaps a little dark, but ipleasant and comfortable. Our bathroom had been recently re furbished and was very nice. The lounge/bar area is quite small. Breakfasts are buffet style, decent quality and with a good choice. The coffee machine is pretty good too. Outside, the pool area is nice and sunny and there is a shady garden if (like me) you prefer to be out of the sun. This is not a pretentious "boutique style" hotel, its a pleasant comfortable place offering a good location, friendly staff and an opportunity to unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to know you were enjoying your stay. It's our aim to please our guests.
Thank you very much and hopefully we see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

just returned from an 11 night stay at this super hotel. The stars are Carlos , Lena, and Mario who went out of the way to make us feel so welcome and at home on this our first visit. everything about this hotel was so well run and friendly. Our room was kept spotless clean. The, bathroom was lovely and large including everything you needed. The dining room and bar area was comfortable and airy with a nice buffet breakfast, We also had a few lunches and a couple of evening meals that were good and reasonable priced. The outdoor space was great with a nice pool complete with loungers and pretty gardens. We hope to return. Glenis & Roy McNamara Lancs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,295 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.5 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.5 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £47 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing