We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a great return to this very sweet and friendly hotel. We stayed on the 1st floor room 110, had sun in the morning and a nice spot of shelter in the evenings. Nice varied choice for breakfast with plenty of options such as cereals, rolls, meats, jams and fresh fruits. Having stayed the previous year we discovered that the local buses are great for getting around. Taxis could be a little hit or miss, bus was reliable but do check the timetables. They run a Portuguese timetable, so a rather long gap for siesta time! The staff are so friendly and make you feel most welcome. Lena and Mario are wonderful people who know just how to accommodate and make your holiday that little bit extra special. We never had evening meals at the hotel, so went into Lagos for food and a cocktail or 2. We walked in most evenings, and caught a taxi back. Taxi was around 5 - 6 euros. We will certainly go back. Peaceful, relaxed, calming are just a few words to describe this little gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: When booking, try and request either rooms 105 or 104 (overlooking the pool). The corner rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    74
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
177
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markt Schwaben, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

A good 15-18 minutes walking distance from the old city center of Lagos, it is a bit cumbersome going out for dinner, there are no good restaurants nearby. The hotel is cosy, clean and tidy. The personnel is nice and friendly, you feel welcomed.
We got a room in the second floor (the hotel has less than 20 rooms in two levels) facing the street, but since it is a dead end, tiny street, there is no traffic - only noisy seagulls may disturb your sleep with open windows (but the room has air condition too).
Surprisingly strong and fast WLAN in case you need it.
I recommend the hotel, fair value for your money, the only criticism I have is the breakfast coffee.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a very genuine and cosy family run hotel with great service. The owners and staff members are always nice and very helpful, they and many nice guests make the stay very personal. The hotel is well maintained and clean, the breakfast is good and the food also. The hotel is perfect both for couples and people who travel alone, but also for groups. Even though there is a huge beautiful garden and pool area, it's not really a hotel to bring noisy kids. The hotel is sensitively because it's an old villa, that's the only negative thing about it. Unfortunately there is no balconies overlooking the ocean, but some are in front of the beautiful garden. All guests we talked to loved the hotel.

Room Tip: Look for a corner room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JournalistEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our first visit after checking previous reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel was everything we expected and more. The hosts, Carlos and Lena together with Mario were excellent with a personal touch that made
our stay very special. We stayed in a first floor room overlooking the pool, with a great with big bed. Good choice for breakfast, I thought the coffee was okay. I can say that the snack menu was very good if you were lounging around the pool. For something special, then let Lena cook you a meal in the evening, you will not be disappointed. We found the walk into the old town okay going down but used the bus coming back. Bus service to all the main beaches. And a special thank you to Carlos, Lena and Mario for making my wife's birthday very special, thank you again. Hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor overlooking the pool and garden, lovely big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We recently stayed for a week and enjoyed yet another relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Following a health problem, we needed a "crash out" holiday and the Solar de Mos certainly gives you that. We fully agree with the majority of the reviews. This is a well run family hotel and Carlos and Lena are on hand during the day with Mario in attendance in the evenings. They could not be more helpful. Our room this year was on the first floor on the side, away from the road. The only disturbance were the seagulls and a couple of dogs, who tended to bark quite noisily but once you had got used to them, it was no problem.
Once again we didn't eat in the hotel but those who did said that the food was excellent. However, the breakfasts were very good, with plenty of choice. We tended to buy a pastry or some fruit from the local supermarket for lunch.
Lena's coffee with ice cream was a real treat - I have never had anything like it in the UK!
A hire car, which you can pick up at the airport is better for travelling around, rather than pay high taxi costs for transfers.
Will we be back next year? - fingers crossed!!

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms are very good. We have only stayed in 104 & 106 and both are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lerum
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This quiet hotel is tucked away on a small street on the outskirts of Lagos. The Praia de Mos is a few minutes walk away. We stayed two nights, once on the first floor with a small balcony, the second on the ground floor with a generous terrace facing the garden. Our rooms and the whole hotel were beautifully furnished.
The hotel has a large pool in the gardens outside the restaurant, with bar service much of the time. Breakfast was fine except for the machine coffee ( I agree with Andersoy). However what really marks the hotel out is its cuisine. Usually hotel dinners are safe options in want of a more exotic restaurant. However at Solar de Mos, Lena (I think) prepares exquisite meals from a gourmet selection. The choice must be made by lunchtime to allow time to purchase and prepare.
This small hotel leaves a feeling of luxury, although prices in June were very moderate (they increase sharply in July).

Room Tip: we preferred our ground floor room with the sun terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffreyLerum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Quiet small hotel. It has a lovely area for breakfast and bar area and seats under a canopy in the sun overlooking the pool. Great selection for breakfast but the coffee was horrible!
A massive bed! (not too singles pushed together) which was a nice surprise.
Couple of decent restaurants about 10mins walk and a big supermarket too. Main downside wa it was a bit of a treck along a dull route into the old town from the hotel and I regard myself as reasonably fit! Bus service sporadic. Only wish this hotel was nearer the harbour so regrettably won't be back.

Room Tip: Great place to chill out, and also good if you intend on just hanging out in the hotel for most of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andersoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Property: Solar de Mos Hotel
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing