We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glorious gilbertos”

Restaurante Gilberto
Ranked #202 of 392 Restaurants in Lagos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Sadly, this is one to be avoided. Walk further south along the promenade by thirty metres or further up the hill into the town to find real restaurants.
birmingham england
Level Contributor
442 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“glorious gilbertos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

This friendly efficient bar restaurant along the street from the fish market offers a warm multilingual welcome and some delicious food and drink. On our visit we enjoyed a delicious rabbit and garlic dish as well as pork and clams, both generous portions, tucked into their top floor looking down on the bar and out of the window to the promenade.The bill was very reasonable too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    71
    40
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Open despite the weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We found this restaurant by accident as Lagos on a rainy day in January is not a busy place and several restaurants were not open. Not knowing the area, we decided near the market was our best bet and Gilberto's had a certain buz about it. We were very warmly welcomed and took the dish of the day menu which had several choices. The services was excellent despite the fact that all the tables were full. Our choice of pork and clams and Lamb casserole were great and very Portuguese with Portuguese portions. All and all this little restaurant made our trip to Lagos lovely as the following day thunder and lightning kept us indoors and our return visit for excellent fried seabass and a good bottle of red cheered a very dreary day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesleydoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local specialities in a central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Good choice of local dishes, situated 5 mins from the bus station. The pork with clams was absolutely delicious! Good service - just 15€ for food including drinks and service

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a simple and friednky place...with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We ate here a few times simply because the food and friendly staff made it such a pleasure. It's not a posh place but it has a simple charm and sitting outside by the road, watching folk go by, with a plate of wonderful octopus plus Gilberto's own labelled wine was an absolute pleasure.
we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davesurrey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Liked it here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Basic place with personal service and a relatively limited menu of standard Portuguese dishes that you can't count on other places to serve. Had pork and clams for the first time here. Gilberto had very authentic feel about it. I think it offered better value than most of its neighbours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frostback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Gilberto also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Gilberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing