We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REALLY LOVELY APARTMENTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen Scotland
1 review
“REALLY LOVELY APARTMENTS”
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Myself, aged 52 and my partner 43 stayed at these apartments for two weeks from the 8th of June 2008, and they were lovely.
We went on the recommendation of a friend who has been going there for the last 3 summers.
The reception was all marble and very nice and all the staff were very helpful, check in went quickly and we were soon in our apartment..
Our apartment on the 2nd floor looked onto the swimming pool and marina and it had an enormous balcony which was great for sitting out on.
The actual apartment itself was huge and had a seperate bedroom with plenty of cupboard space.
The open plan kitchen was well layed out and had everything you needed for a self catering holiday.
We went down to the large swimming pool most days usually after 4pm and never had a problem getting a sun bed.
Lovely big beach towels are provided free of charge for guests.
The Marina Club as it's name would suggest is right next to the lovely Lagos marina which has loads of different sized boats and yachts which are great to look at.
There are also many nice bars and restaurants and shops close by.
You need to walk over a bridge which is 5/10 minutes from the apartment and you are onto the main street of Lagos itself.
Lagos itself is a very nice old town which is certainly worth spending time seeing and exploring.
We used the local Onda buses for exploring places nearby and took a few train trips to other resorts, the train station is only 5 minutes from the Marina Club.
We spent most of out time doing beach walks or cliff walks and looking at the lovely scenery all around Lagos.
We went on the boat trip to the caves and the dolphin safari and they were both superb.
There are loads of lovely restaurants all over Lagos also.
We very much enjoyed out two weeks and are sure to be back again soon and we will stay once again at the Marina Club.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Bob5508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    189
    50
    17
    6
See reviews for
160
210
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

We stayed 4 nights here, got a great price by just walking in late afternoon - EUR100 per night for a one bedroom. It was the week after Easter, so still far from high season. The rooms were nice, bright and clean. Everything is new, the kitchen in the room is good and there is a nice big balcony. The breakfast was okay not amazing though. They didn't replenish the bread and fruit too often so it was slim pickings a lot of the time. If you're going to be driving around the Algarve, this is a good spot to be since there is lots of parking and it's easy to get in and out of Lagos from this location. We took day trips from this hotel to other beaches, hikes along the coastline, inland to Montchique, etc. and this was a convenient place to do that from.

Don't bother paying the extra fee for the fitness facility in the hotel. There is a municipal sport center within walking distance that costs just a few Euro a visit and has a lot more equipment. Just make sure you have your own workout towel with you.

The only negatives I would say are that A) internet service is very slow and B) the sofas in the living room are not the most comfortable in the world, although not bad either. Also, you need to walk 10 minutes to get to the old center. In my opinion, it was worth it to stay in a newer, cleaner place and have a little walk to and from dinner. When choosing a room, take the pool view which is better than the sea view. Sea view looks over the parking lot with the beach quite a way beyond that. Also not bad though. It just seems more resort like to be looking at the pool, bar and restaurant.

I made a video of this place, now where do I post it? I guess it doesn't go together with the review like photos do.

  • Liked — Spacious and new
  • Disliked — Internet access
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sanfrantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Stayed in these apartments first week in October. Our apartment was certainly 4 star when you went in the door. The bathroom I would only give 3 star - I would worry that maintenance standards might be slipping, but then maybe we were going in at the end of the season. The apartment itself was spacious, modern and extremely well equipped and we had a great balcony overlooking the marina. If I had to be critical - a larger TV wouldn't go astray. The one we had looked a little miserable in the corner of the large living room! The other complaint would be in relation to the bathroom. By comparison to other 4 star bathrooms I have experienced (and even 3 star) this left a lot to be desired. The towels provided were mean in every sense. An extra one or two would have been great as the bath towel was small and all the towels were thin and worn looking. A few chipped tiles, a loose shower holder and a loo seat that definitely needed replacing, did not add to the overall experience. Toiletries were also in short supply - no soap? There's no hairdryer or iron provided here either, so you need to carry those. However, it would not put me off staying here again, as everything else is perfect for a week away. We were visiting at a quiet time of year, so there was no issue about beds around the pool. I suspect it could be different in high season. The hotel itself is situated in a great spot with some bars and shops nearby and the town of Lagos itself a short walk away over a foot-bridge. The train station is also very close and allows visitors a great way to get to other places along the coast. The beach is a 10 to 15 min walk away and was peaceful and beautiful at the time we visited. Don't bother with the gypsy market. I bought a scarf in the shops in Lagos and the same one was dearer in the market. I found the experience awful in every sense! The weather was unsettled to start, but with the various means of escape at your doorstep, this was not a problem. A few days in it settled and it was simply glorious. So all in all a good week and I would go again at this time of year.

  • Liked — It was spacious
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xjbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

10 days in this beautiful resort hotel was quite simply not enough. We took our 20month son, along with Nana & Grandpa and opted for the 3 bed appartment in the new block. Arriving about Midnight we opened the door & couldn't believe our eyes.

A MASSIVE open plan living room, 3 huge double bedrooms and a terrace overlooking the pool/harbour along with a table & 6 chairs and 2 giant leather armchairs.

The Marina is literally on your front doorstep, with some superb bars and restaurants. The Old Town is 10 mins walk and has superb fish restaurants. Try O Henriques for the best Monkfish ever.

The space in the apartment meant that Mum & Dad were not tripping over Nana & Grandpa, and nights in weren't the 'short-straw' choice.

This place is just pure quality, at tremendous value for money.
If you're thinking of an Algarve getaway..this is it.....

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank JudesHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We have just enjoyed 8 days in marina club.

As others have said, the rooms are great, we stayed in a 2 bed apt in block II. Big rooms, lounge and good kitchenette.

Big problem was that this block has no lifts, which we did not know when booking. We have 2 kids, 2 and half and 9 months, and we were on the top floor and so had to climb up 6 flights of stairs all the time which was a complete pain. This made the stay less than perfect.

We had B&B and the breakfast was fine, didn't seem to have much of a take up but then we were there early with the kids.

The pool area was safe and the towels were good, but again more stairs to go up and down to get them.
The pool was very cold though which meant it was rarely used and the kids did not want to go in and swim.
I had a hot stone massage at the spa which was lovely and not too pricey. To charge residents 10 euro a day to use the gym and facilities was not good, and meant it was empty.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Location great.
Lovely marina, with a few restaurants and bars, not the really busy marinas I have been to before.
Great beach 10 minutes walk away, big and unspoilt.
15 minute easy walk into town.

Ate out every night and did not have a bad meal. On the marina we liked West which was on the upper bit of restaurants.
In town, Dos Artistas, No Patio and a pizzeria on the corner up from the big square.

Overall would recommend Lagos and the Marina Club, but just be aware of the lack of lifts in the block II.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Lack of lift
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hgbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We stayed at the Marina Club in a pool view suite for 10 days in early September. The hotel is fantastic. Our room was massive, it had a separate bedroom with loads of space and then the lounge/kitchenette was huge with two big sofas, tablefor eating and everything you need in the kitchen - they had more crockery/cutlery then I've got at home!
The rooms are very clean and the air con works very well.
Pool area is great - we had a 2 yr old daughter and felt it was very safe for her. Clean towels are available form the spa everyday which is great.
Bar and restaurant didn't have much atmosphere, mainly I think because the rooms are so great that nobody bothers to go!!
Big supermarket short walk nearby with everything you need.
Lagos itself is lovely with loads of good quality restaurants and the atmosphere around the marina is good.
Hotel guests also have use of the marina launderette which I found handy - beats handwashing!
Overall a fab holiday - wish I could pick up the hotel and put it in a different location every year - definitely the best room we've had and we usually always go for 4*plus hotels.

  • Liked — Clean spacious rooms, location
  • Disliked — lack of atmosphere in bar, restaurant
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jolovesluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We booked our holiday with a website and was told our room was cancelled 2 days before we were due to leave on our original booking and was offered the marina club in Lagos. Well we could not believe how nice the hotel was. Rooms were immaculate and very modern and spacious we had a studio apartment, but to be honest i have been in smaller 2 bed apartments, it was huge. We had a fantastic view over the pool and marina and a large balcony which was private. There was a kitchenette and this was tastefully done with a large supermarket around the corner if you wanted to self cater this would have been easy and cheap. We booked bed and breakfast and the food was really nice with a choice of continental or full english to help yourself to both if you wanted. Staff were very friendly and pool was large with a smaller one for children and large fluffy white towels could be collected each day from the gym to use by the pool for no extra cost . The marina has a small collection of bars and restaurants within 2 min walk. If you walked a further 5 mins you were in Lagos which has an array of bars, shops and restaurants. In the other direction it took approx 5-10mins to a lovely long beach dotted with bars and eateries and sunbeds to hire. We had a 16 and 19 year old with us who really enjoyed this also. This was a very relaxing holiday and there was also a gym sauna and steam room available for 10 euros a visit. We took a boat out to see the dolphins and what a trip they were right next to the boat we went with algarve dolphins for 10euros each. Would definately return.

  • Liked — spacious and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank debs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Club Lagos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Club Lagos Resort

Property: Marina Club Lagos Resort
Address: Marina de Lagos, Lagos 8600-780, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#8 Family Hotel in Lagos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Club Lagos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Club Lagos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Club Lagos Hotel Lagos
Marina Hotel Lagos
Marina Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing