We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good relation of quality and price”
Review of Magnolia Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnolia Mar
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Nice staff, nice apartment view, very close to the beach. Not a big swimming pool but was always with only 1 or 2 people so it was nice. The only problem was the time that we waited each time we went to the reception.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank José B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights while here in Lagos and really loved it. The staff were extremely friendly especially Fernando. It is so close to beautiful beach of Porto mos however is about a 20min walk to Lagos centre. The apartments were clean and bright. Only bad thing I can say is that the hot water wasn't very plentiful but other then that was pretty great!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ln888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Been a long time since anyone reviewed this place. Well I can tell you there seem to have been many changes, most notable the owner/manager and how the place runs day to day. So Fernando and wife are a delight and full of information. He greeted us on arrival 2.00am with chilled water. Since all shops were closed this was fantastic. He was also able to sell us beers. After driving I was so wired I needed them!!
Anyway I would say now this place is less a hotel and more a holiday apartment.(No bar, no restaurant, no pool- fernando says next year) Large room, large balcony (GF) dining table area, decent kitchen, bathroom all to decent standard. Decor nice enough. View from south facing balcony is of very nice hotel but sea can be seen if you try. So the upside is location. a 3 minute walk to the best beach in Lagos!!. Small supermarket a 20 min walk and town maybe 30 min walk. So if no car, a lot of walking!! Its no luxury villa but if price is right and you can walk its brilliant. We loved our stay here. Btw, Fernando can recommend some EXCELLENT restaurants!!!

Room Tip: The beauty of this place is location to the fantastic beach. Close enough for comfort, far enough fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambrown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We arrived at Magnoliamar Beach Club hotel on March 25th. The hotel was closed, there was no one from staff. We met some people that helped as to get hotels manager’s phone number. When we called hotel manager he said that hotel is closed for maintenance. I asked how it was possible to make reservation if hotel is closed, manager said that this is not his problem and I should ask this question agency which provided me the reservation. So we were left by ourselves...

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank madzukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Well i have read some of the other reviews below and it would appear we stayed in one of the nicer rooms with a see view etc.
There is building work still going on but the grunt of that seems to almost be over. I would say that for those that went there and were not informed, they may be upset.
When you book make sure you get a sea view/south facing (feel free to mail me and I will tell you the room/floor numbers) and with it only being 200m to the beach is great with 2 very good beach food and evening dinner restaurants.
The walk into town is ok 15mins and then a 5 euro taxi back isnt going to break the bank....(you could always walk off that lovely dinner)
If you want a holiday to spend time in your room maybe look somewhere else but thats not me...
I will be going back... feel free to mail me

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank silks59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

The rooms are very very basic, had to request kit that appeared to be poached from other rooms. Bedding not changed frequently and ran out of toilet rolls on a regular basis. Staff were polite and friendly and helpful but you had to ask all the time.
Food was cold and not great from the restuarant so we only used it once in 2 weeks, other guest complained regularly on the food being cold !

And then their is the building site...........no longer a beach view !

Be prepared for Hills and Steps and cobled streets in Lagos - not for the physically impaired or those whom may struggle.

Lagos is pretty and the food and bars are great so not a complete disaster !

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott-Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

4star never in this world has this hotel been 4 star we booked this hotel half board what a mistake! breakfast same every day evening meal choice of only two things one being fish sweat choice of two eg. jelly in small dish or water melon ate out most days so cost a fortune in meals and and taxi fares to get there as there is nothing round about hotel to walk to (nearest shop half hour walk) Arrived Sunday first time towels changed Wednesday sink had big crack in it .Building site next door so every thing covered in dust balcony never swept all week so reluctant to use lift not working told on arrival it would be back in use in 2 days but out all week so had to carry cases up and down to third floor pool bar open but nothing in it unless you wanted water or beer (no ice cream or chips but both advertised on the bar ) chap serving food in dining room in football type t shirt (red) and jeans hardly hygenic beach nice with good bar but approx 90 steps to get there so same to climb up on way back

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank usfourPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#20 of 53 in Lagos
366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#29 of 53 in Lagos
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sollagos Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
#28 of 53 in Lagos
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
1.0 mi away
Casa da Moura
Casa da Moura
#41 of 53 in Lagos
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Mar

Address: Praia do Porto de Mos | Beco das Piteiras, Lagos 8601-909, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £48 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments Magnolia Mar is located just 200 meters from Porto de Mos Beach. The studios and apartments have access to a garden, a tennis court and a playground. All apartments have a private entrance, seating area with sofa and TV, private bathroom, kitchen and balcony. Some units also have a washing machine. The kitchen has all the necessary utensils and equipment for guests to comfortably prepare your own meals. It features an outdoor area with barbecue facilities. Several local restaurants specializing in fish and seafood dishes are available within a 5 minute drive from the apartments. The property has a bar overlooking the beach, where guests can enjoy a drink and relax. The building also has an outdoor pool with a view of the Porto de Mos beach, a tennis court and table tennis equipment in the games room. Guests can rent a bike or a car through the front desk in order to better explore the surrounding area. The apartments Magnolia Mar, are a 3 minute drive from the center of Porto de Mos, which has many shops, cafes and restaurants available. These units, which accept pets, are an 8-minute drive from the center of Lagos. The property is a 7-minute drive from Lagos Tennis Club, where the Portuguese Open is held every year. Mos port is 10 minutes drive from several quality golf courses. Faro International Airport is 59 minutes drive away and the property offers a shuttle service, for an extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Magnolia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Mar Beach Hotel
Magnolia Mar Beach Club
Magnolia Mar Beach Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing