We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic building site”
Review of Magnolia Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Mar
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed 13 January 2009

The rooms are very very basic, had to request kit that appeared to be poached from other rooms. Bedding not changed frequently and ran out of toilet rolls on a regular basis. Staff were polite and friendly and helpful but you had to ask all the time.
Food was cold and not great from the restuarant so we only used it once in 2 weeks, other guest complained regularly on the food being cold !

And then their is the building site...........no longer a beach view !

Be prepared for Hills and Steps and cobled streets in Lagos - not for the physically impaired or those whom may struggle.

Lagos is pretty and the food and bars are great so not a complete disaster !

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott-Richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2008

4star never in this world has this hotel been 4 star we booked this hotel half board what a mistake! breakfast same every day evening meal choice of only two things one being fish sweat choice of two eg. jelly in small dish or water melon ate out most days so cost a fortune in meals and and taxi fares to get there as there is nothing round about hotel to walk to (nearest shop half hour walk) Arrived Sunday first time towels changed Wednesday sink had big crack in it .Building site next door so every thing covered in dust balcony never swept all week so reluctant to use lift not working told on arrival it would be back in use in 2 days but out all week so had to carry cases up and down to third floor pool bar open but nothing in it unless you wanted water or beer (no ice cream or chips but both advertised on the bar ) chap serving food in dining room in football type t shirt (red) and jeans hardly hygenic beach nice with good bar but approx 90 steps to get there so same to climb up on way back

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank usfourPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 nights at Magnolia Mar just recently and it wasn't quite up to our expectations. There is no way that it is a 4 star rating. We had a self-catering studio, the room was a big size, however the kitchenette had no pots or pans to cook with. I had to go to reception and ask for these. The bathroom, I don't feel was cleaned properly before our arrival and had a urine smell to it. We weren't provided with proper towels but instead short small towels, which later I found out were the wrong towels. Our room was meant to be cleaned twice in our stay and it got to the 3rd or 4th night and our room still hadn't been cleaned or towels changed, like they are supposed to be. I again had to go to reception and the lady looked in her book and our room was supposed to have been cleaned the day before, at this point our rubbish bin was getting pretty full and was told it would be cleaned the next day. By this stage we were coming to the end of our stay so wasn't much point but it was done the next day. I was also given fresh towels by the receptionist then and there, when I realised that we weren't given the correct towels, as we had normal-big size towels given to us! Also they claimed to have 'sea and land' views from every room...well our room looked right on to a massive construction site and every morning was woken to hammering and drilling, which of course was quite annoying. The positive was that it was only 200m to a nice beach and managed to find a spot that wasn't crowded with people. We also hired a car as it was getting too expensive to get a taxi to lagos town centre which ranged from 4-5 euro each way. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless you want to wear earplugs and not expecting too much..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

We were moved to theses apartments as the one we had booked was overbooked. The room was massive a 1 bed apartment that sleeps 5. Great Air Con Great kitchen facilities etc etc. The staff Mariaguida and Vitor were extremely helpful and there english was excellent. The only problem with this hotel is it was a taxi ride away from town witch got quite dear for a week.Overall a great holiday just wiushed the weather had been better.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank charlie25Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

We have just returned from a week at the magnolia mar on self catering basis.The hotel is not a 4 star hotel. The apartments are basic and all have single beds no double bedded rooms available. The apartment facilities are minimum ie utensils, pans,cups , plates etc room sleeps 3 so you receive 3 of everything if you are lucky.
The staff were helpfull but no tourist information in hotel in english. Apartment was clean, courtesy bus ran to Lagos at 10.00am from the hotel and return journey at 6.30pm monday to friday driver very prompt doesn't hang around if not waiting for courtesy bus.
Unable to use balcony fully due to dust,noise from new apartment development under construction within 50m directly opposite hotel.
We only used the restaurant in the evening on the day of arrival ,again not 4 star quality.
The hotel is 30 minutes walk to the centre of Lagos which is a very pleasant little town would recommend the hire of a car.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dkjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

My daughter and I had an interesting stay at this hotel. We were taken to this hotel as ours was "overbooked". A well positioned hotel just a stones throw from the beach and lovely sea views. The taxi into the centre of Lagos cost 4 euros and the town was very interesting with plenty of shops.
However, it is right next to an enormous building site and we felt that we had shared our holiday with the crane drivers. they started at exactly 8 in the morning and finished around 7 in the evening with a break early afternoon. We could not use our sizeable balcony as it was so noisy and dusty. We got the impression that although the hotel was good , it had been neglected rather ie. cracked hand basin, balcony needed repairs.
but on the whole, if you are able to ignore the noise then a well positioned hotel.
Good beach restaurants close by.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank BirminghamCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

4 stars hotel... yes, but in 2001 :) now it is far away from 4 stars level. Rooms with lot of space, AC worked very well (in my room), small kitchen with fridge. Bathroom also should be renewed... Balkony (huge) with small table and chairs... construction site on the opposite side covered all with yellow dust. Breakfast the same for all 14 days... Beach (beautiful) ca. 300 m from hotel, with two restaurants. Empty only in the evening :) To the city center ca. 2 km. Credit cards were not accepted, so take cash with :) Internet acces in the lobby, swimming pool with bar.
Parking places in front of the hotel. Rooms very clean (3 x week), fresh towels twice a week. We have been there with 5 year old child, he was satisfyied with the pool... Service on a good level.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jacek67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
2.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#23 of 52 in Lagos
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.5 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#15 of 52 in Lagos
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#18 of 52 in Lagos
170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
Hotel Marina Sao Roque
#28 of 52 in Lagos
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#29 of 52 in Lagos
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Mar

Address: Praia do Porto de Mos | Beco das Piteiras, Lagos 8601-909, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments Magnolia Mar is located just 200 meters from Porto de Mos Beach. The studios and apartments have access to a garden, a tennis court and a playground. All apartments have a private entrance, seating area with sofa and TV, private bathroom, kitchen and balcony. Some units also have a washing machine. The kitchen has all the necessary utensils and equipment for guests to comfortably prepare your own meals. It features an outdoor area with barbecue facilities. Several local restaurants specializing in fish and seafood dishes are available within a 5 minute drive from the apartments. The property has a bar overlooking the beach, where guests can enjoy a drink and relax. The building also has an outdoor pool with a view of the Porto de Mos beach, a tennis court and table tennis equipment in the games room. Guests can rent a bike or a car through the front desk in order to better explore the surrounding area. The apartments Magnolia Mar, are a 3 minute drive from the center of Porto de Mos, which has many shops, cafes and restaurants available. These units, which accept pets, are an 8-minute drive from the center of Lagos. The property is a 7-minute drive from Lagos Tennis Club, where the Portuguese Open is held every year. Mos port is 10 minutes drive from several quality golf courses. Faro International Airport is 59 minutes drive away and the property offers a shuttle service, for an extra fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Magnolia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Mar Beach Hotel
Magnolia Mar Beach Club
Magnolia Mar Beach Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing