We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canavial I & II Apartments
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family are just back from a two week stay at Canavial, and I would like to endorse the previous positive reviews.
On our arrival, we were given a map of the location and we were shown absolutely any place locally that we might wish to go to. The owner also brought us to the apartment which was across the road in Canavial II. He then showed us all the room had to offer, including the air conditioning which was very welcome during our second week. The room had three beds, a large flat screen TV, Air con, fridge, two cooking rings, and en suite bathroom.
The place was spotless, was cleaned daily by the friendly, and hard working house keeping staff, towels were changed every second day, and bed linen changed once a week.

Grass was cut during our stay and the pool was cleaned twice also. The pool was literally outside our apartment, and was very welcome in the hot weather. The apartments also had sun lounger cushions for each guest, and also small parasols if you wanted them for the beach.

WIFI worked well throughout, and was a God - send for our teenage son.

The owers were on hand at all times, and this place is very well run. Any queries were dealt with promptly, and with no fuss. Guests at the apartments varied - from us, who stayed two weeks, to those who stayed just one or two nights. As soon as guests left, the apartments were immediately cleaned, and ready for the new arrivals. It must be very popular, as I can only recall one of the apartments being vacant overnight. The location is very quiet, and perfect for a relaxing holiday. It is close to Praia De Porto de Mos beach which is about 10 minutes walk away. It is down a steep hill, which is fine going down, but a fair climb coming back up. Certainly not a walk for older people! However, I noticed a public bus stop at the beach for which a bus ran every hour, and could drop people at a bus stop about 5 minutes from the apartments.

Porto de Mos beach was superb. There are two restaurants on it, Antonio's and Campimar, and both are fine.

The apartments are about 20/25 minutes walk from the centre of Lagos, but a taxi can be ordered from reception. The cost of a daytime taxi was €5, and at night time it was closer to €6.

A number of shops were close by. We went the the Super Rotunda shop (at the roundabout!) which was about 10 minutes walk away. The owner will show you the location of the shops on the map. Lidl and Intermarché supermarkets were also in the town, but a good distance away when walking (as we found out!!)

Car hire could be useful but not essential.

The apartments were great value, and like previous posters, I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. It is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. Just go there and enjoy it!!

Room Tip: Canavial II Apartment No. 1 has a side window, which gives extra light to the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crimson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    59
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
102
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came to Lagos intending on staying only a couple of days, then decided to stay 2 weeks. We got a room in one of the apartments (#3) it had 4 rooms, a shared bathroom which was nice and a shared kitchen with fridge. The pool area was so nice with the grass and lots of birds flying around. It's in a perfect location for exploring the coastline and going to Lagos' famous beaches! There is and Intermarche' supermarket 15 minutes walk away and the centre of town where the party action is, is a longer walk maybe 20 minutes.

The guys at Canavial let us use their bikes for nearly the whole time. Stay here if you want to save some bucks but still lap in the luxury of having your own pool, we loved it!

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room by the pool! I really liked apartment 3, was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler_deallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My friends and I stayed there for 5 nights and wish it could have been longer! We were made immediately welcome (despite arriving an hour late and at night). We stayed there based on other reviews, and it did not disappoint. The apartments are extremely clean and obviously well cared for. Staff went out of there way to be available, helpful and just generally kind. Great location, and directions given to anywhere you want to go (best beaches ever!). Overall, lovely environment for all types of people/holidays and couldn't have been better. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amboise, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have stayed at an Apartment in Canavial 1 for the past 6 years .We would highly recommend this Family run accommodation .The Owners and Staff ensure that your needs are catered for . The rooms are clean and comfortable and they were entirely suited to our standards (high). We always hire a car but the Beach is close by and the supermarket is in reach .We are returning in September and we have invited our daughter to share this wonderful holiday at Canavial 1.We can not thank the owners and staff enough we always go home after enjoying yet another lagos holiday in their care .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here one night, I booked it last minute on route to lagos and the room was ready when I arrived.

The lady on reception was very friendly, helpful, and went as far as showing us around the apartment. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the items you could ever need.

- Quiet
- Very clean
- Lovely clean pool
- Close to nearby beaches

Very recommendable for visiting Lagos

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rictchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This review is long over due, and we apologize for not getting to it sooner. We were in Lagos in September/October of 2013. Based on reviews (which we always do) we decided to stay here.

We booked 4 nights originally at a terrific price since it was off season. We had walked quite a ways to get to the place. The staff from the get go went above and beyond. We were showed our room, where staff member took us themselves. We had a large bed, private bathroom, kitchenette which was fully equipped, and air conditioning. The building we stayed in was nice, the room was private, and the pool was extremely well kept. We were given a map, directions to local places, grocery stores, etc. Also shown where the beach was. a 10 minute walk, a heck of a hike, but sooo worth it! They also provided snorkeling equipment, beach paddle games, and umbrellas free of charge! The had free wifi which worked great, which is a big thing for us!

Whenever we left the room, no matter what time of day, housekeeping would come in and clean up. We didn't ask one time, and the housekeeper went above and beyond to make it fresh each day. After 4 days, seeing how good, we asked to extend our stay. They let us have the same room and same rate. We ended up staying for 3 weeks here! We asked where we could do our laundry, and they let us do it there! Free of charge! One night, we wanted to order a pizza, and not speaking Portuguese, the staff member that day ordered for us! With being patient and kind the whole while.

As I mentioned, the beach is a hike, but amazingly worth it. To the private one below. The more public one isn't much farther. Both are great. But we fell in love here. And used an umbrella, which was much appreciated from here. Go to the beach!

Location is fantastic. The beach was our favorite part. However, we walked a lot, to the store, and the night we went out, which is 30 minutes. Sure, the decor maybe not be an Aloft, but this is Portugal, and the room is nicely decorated and comfortable.

If you are looking for a great deal all around, just book Canavial Apartments. Out of our 5 months of traveling Europe, this was our favorite hotel. Phenomenal customer service, in a awesome location. We really never wanted to leave! On the day of our departure, we asked to get a taxi to the bus stop. Instead, Paolo gave us a ride to the bus stop, since it was the end of his shift, free of charge. The nicest staff, clean rooms, our experience was just 5 star. I would highly recommend this place for your stay. And you can bet we will be staying here when we return.

Thank you so much Canavial Apartments!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Misti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from Portugal after staying at the Canavial Apartments for the forth time. They are ideally situated for either the beach, supermarkets, bars and restaurants,bus stops and if your feeling energetic a 30 minute walk into town. The Canavial is a family run business with the most friendliest staff. The rooms are not 5 star luxury but ARE very good value for money. We shall defiantly be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quinta dos Caracois
Quinta dos Caracois
#24 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lagosmar Hotel
Lagosmar Hotel
#18 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canavial I & II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canavial I & II Apartments

Property: Canavial I & II Apartments
Address: Canavial Street | Lote A 11 & 24, Estrada do Porto de Mos – Urb. Canavial, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canavial I & II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The complex is formed by two small blocks of studios situated in a quiet area, close to the sea. Canavial I & II Apartments offers guests two swimming pools for adults and a sun terrace. Sun loungers and parasols are available at no extra charge. There is free wireless Internet access and free parking and a large terrace next to the gardens. Hotel location description The small studio complex is situated in a prime location 600 m away from Porto de Mos beach and close to the other beaches, such as Dona Ana beach (1.5 km) and the famous Ponta da Piedade (2 km). The picturesque historic centre of Lagos (2.5 km) can be easily reached by public transport (bus stop 300 m away), and is around 80 km to Faro Airport. Room description The “Studios 2 Adults” may comprise twin beds or a double bed, a cot or a camp bed (suitable for children aged 1-12) and private bathroom, hairdryer, a kitchenette, fridge, individually regulated air conditioning and safety box (extra charge). There are garden views from the balcony or terrace.”Studios 3 Adults” has capacity for 3 adults. All studios have Internet access, a bath or shower, a 2-ring cooker, microwave, kettle, toaster, tea/coffee maker, satellite and local TV. Comments from hotel The reception is open 9 am to 7 pm. Guests arriving outside these times should please advise the establishment of their estimated arrival time by calling (351) 919259132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canavial I & II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canavial Apartments Lagos
Canavial Apartments Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing