We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice & peacful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canavial I & II Apartments
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2009

loved it nice and quiet location but handy for local resteraunts we hired a car to travel round in but realy no need as taxis and buses cheap this was our first time in portugal but wont be last the apartments were kept spotless as was the pool area pool was cold but nice i would gladly rec to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandkids53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed at Canavial Apartments for a weeks holiday at the end of June and as our first trip to Portugal, couldnt have been happier with our choice. The apartments are a 15 minute walk from the centre of Lagos, but the walk is pleasant and there is a well stocked shop, and restaurant and bars nearer. Taxi's to and from the centre of Lagos seemed to be a fixed rate of 4 Euros and easy to get. The beach which is only a 5 minute walk down hill has a cafe/restaurant on the left and an excellent restaurant further up on the right where we had dinner a couple of nights as service and food was so good, and who wouldnt want to stare out to sea while eating! It was very hot, 30 degrees plus while we were there so the unheated pool wasnt a problem, cold for the first second, then lovely! The poolside was never overcrowded and although often other people around it wasnt noisy. Perfect to relax! Rooms are clean and have all you would expect, we had a really large balcony which you could see the sea on the horizon (perfect for a glass of shop brought wine while getting ready for the evening). I would recommend the rooms on the second floor as the outside space for rooms downstairs was overlooked by anyone around the pool. I would really recommend here if you dont mind a short walk into the centre and are looking to relax and plan your days as you wish. Theres no bar / reception / restaurant so you are left to get on with your holiday - just what we wanted. Only one pillow per bed and lack of toilet roll - hardly a big problem. You have to carry your own bags up a flight of stairs if you have a room on second floor.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

would recommend these appartments quiet and not a bad location 3rd year on the bounce and no regrets from myself or other users

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeker0fthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We were looking for a cheap holiday and after viewing numerous sites we decided to book trhough First Choice as part of a late deal at the Canavial Apartments. We didn't expect too much as we thought the holiday was an absolute bargain but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived as it was a clean and spacious room that opened out onto the pool area. The kitchenette had basic facilities but the fridge was a decent enough size to keep plenty of beer and other essentials in.

We were initially disappointed with the location as were our neighbours and resorted to following a couple down the road to find the beach! But you will eventually see some signs for the beach, the closest being about a 15 minute walk away. It does get windy there and you might find yourself with a face full of sand from time to time but other than that the beaches are nice, but let me warn you, don't be fooled by the pictures the sea is actually freezing, cos' its not the sea at all its the Atlantic Ocean! The supermarket was quite close. The main town centre was around a 20 minute walk but taxis are cheap, roughly 3.90 Euro. The town centre (which can be reached by walking through narrow streets which were quite pretty, just a bit slippery). . There are plenty of restaurants which are pretty muchv the same price as the UK. We would definately reccommended going to the the marina for dinner and the walk there is nice.

It's well worth buying a map from the rep at the welcome meeting, it'll cost 5 Euro but if like me you are useless at finding your way around then its a lifesaver, has all of the attractions and becahes clearly labelled. We booked one excursion, ZooMarine which was great! Its not just for kids as there were more adults than children on the bus there! ZooMarine is a water park/zoo, the dolphin show was amazing and there is a nice swimming pool on site too. Including transport, it cost around 30Euro each.

We would definately recommend the apartments, First Choice and Lagos in genreal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richjackson_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

I cannot rate Canavial apartments enough. If you're looking for a holiday away from the crowds where you can do your own thing, then this is ideal! The apartments (we stayed in Canavial I) are very clean (with a bath!), small kitchen-ette and twin beds. We were on the ground floor and had a two-step walk to the pool - excellent! Our block was very private and most days we had the pool area to ourselves. There is no 'reception' area, no pool snack bar, no music blasting out and certainly nothing to entertain the kids - this is not for a 'family' holiday. Neither is it appropriate for those with walking difficulties as everything is a good walk away - beach, shops and restaurants, unless of course you want to pay for buses and taxis. We didn't. The walks were an excellent way of settling dinner. Lagos is a wonderful walled town - a good 30 mins walk from the 'complex'. Very straightforward to find. Plenty of lovely little shops and fabulous restaurants. I can't recommend Canavial enough. Just one small tip - take plenty of toilet roll as our maid didn't supply us with any and seemed put out when I asked for some!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rache1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

being that there is only a few appartments it wasn't uncommon to have the pool area to yourself which allows for very peaceful sunbathing ... it is a lovely secluded pool area in a very quiet area, there is a building site next door (more appartments) but in our weeks stay there was little/NO noise.. main construction already done.. the rooms are spacious with air con and basic kitchen facilities, our room had a balcony with two loungers and a patio tabel and chairs. nearest beach 5mins walk away with bar and restaurant. meia preia beach approx half hour walk away.. there is a bus service if if walkings not your thing. there is no shortage of bars and restaurants and all the usual nik nak shops.... finding your way around is easy if you dont mind walking round the little narrow streets contained with in the historic old town wall how ever if you keep your eyes peeled you can find a free map guide which details it all !!!! ...............what else ??? ...beaches are clean.. sea is cold!!!.....mini markets10 mins walk from appartments, good selection and friendly staff .

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhhkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Canavial II: location - just over a mile walk from centre of Lagos, half of which is uphill as the estate on which it is located is on the cliffs that give the Algarve coves and beaches their charm. Alternatively, 4 Euros e/w by taxi. Nearest beach is Porto D'Mos, 5 mins walk away, straight downhill. Nearest shop and bar/restaurants about half a mile away. The area is completely residential. There's currently a lot of construction work in the area.

11 studio apartments on the ground floor of a large villa - small swimming pool (cold!), garden and lots of loungers although most guests go to the beaches.

Studios kept beautifully clean by Isabel. Linen change twice weekly. Kitchen area has 2 electric rings, microwave, toaster and fridge. And a working smoke (toast) detector! Pans provided are too large for a 2 bed apartment and there isn't really anything you can use in the microwave but coffee and cereal for breakfast is the extent of our holiday catering. There is a bottle opener!
Bathroom has a bath and a decent over-bath shower. Living area has a table and chairs, twin beds, a good sized wardrobe with plenty of hangers, drawer space and a TV - local programmes and CNN News. Be warned - the headboards on the beds have been fixed to the walls at some point but have been forced off by inconsiderate guests who move the beds; if you get one of these they rattle! Outside, each apartment has a table and chairs on the verandah.

What you get here is basic, clean, peaceful accommodation.

Canavial I is a separate villa across the road. It's larger with a bigger garden and pool but nothing else known about it.

This accommodation not suitable for: anyone with walking difficulties or who just doesn't like walking; anyone who wants night life because Lagos isn't really a lively place and anyone with young children because the pool isn't enclosed and there's nothing to keep them entertained.

It is suitable for anyone who wants a relaxing holiday and doesn't think that the town is too far to go for their evening meal, or to get a bus or train for a day out. We loved it and so did the lady in the next studio who was on her 4th visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sagacandidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#19 of 53 in Lagos
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,490 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#21 of 53 in Lagos
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canavial I & II Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canavial I & II Apartments

Address: Canavial Street | Lote A 11 & 24, Estrada do Porto de Mos – Urb. Canavial, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lagos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: £35 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canavial I & II Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The complex is formed by two small blocks of studios situated in a quiet area, close to the sea. Canavial I & II Apartments offers guests two swimming pools for adults and a sun terrace. Sun loungers and parasols are available at no extra charge. There is free wireless Internet access and free parking and a large terrace next to the gardens. Hotel location description The small studio complex is situated in a prime location 600 m away from Porto de Mos beach and close to the other beaches, such as Dona Ana beach (1.5 km) and the famous Ponta da Piedade (2 km). The picturesque historic centre of Lagos (2.5 km) can be easily reached by public transport (bus stop 300 m away), and is around 80 km to Faro Airport. Room description The “Studios 2 Adults” may comprise twin beds or a double bed, a cot or a camp bed (suitable for children aged 1-12) and private bathroom, hairdryer, a kitchenette, fridge, individually regulated air conditioning and safety box (extra charge). There are garden views from the balcony or terrace.”Studios 3 Adults” has capacity for 3 adults. All studios have Internet access, a bath or shower, a 2-ring cooker, microwave, kettle, toaster, tea/coffee maker, satellite and local TV. Comments from hotel The reception is open 9 am to 7 pm. Guests arriving outside these times should please advise the establishment of their estimated arrival time by calling (351) 919259132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canavial I & II Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canavial Apartments Lagos
Canavial Apartments Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing